We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not sleep for one night...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Media Luna
Enschede
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Did not sleep for one night...”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Most of the times Tripadvisor is right. But this time it's definitely wrong.

We arrived in this hotel early in the morning and were offered either waiting on our room or take another room. We choosed waiting. The room would be done around 9.30 but it wasn't. Luckily we could take some breakfast but instead of 3 pancakes we got 2. Strange...

At night, it was really horrible. First of all the overall accomodation is very noisy. We had to ask people in the hotel to put their voice down. Secondly, there is a disco nearby with very loud music until 6am. Third, it seems that there was some kind of party going in SCLC so that meant lots of firework and loud churches at 5.30 am! We could not sleep for one night here...

The owners are friendly though: they changed our rooms after complaining that our showers didn't work and we got a little discount for all the incovenience caused. However, staying at this hotel is a big big gamble. The owners told us that the disco wasn't allowed to make that kind a noise so late in the evening and it is a constant struggle with the local government.

But taken into account all the inconveniences ( disco nearby, loud church nearby, noisyness of overall establishment, not great beds, inability to speak english other than the owners, bad working showers ) this hotel is a big no-no.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    105
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
133
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The owner is really nice and the location is perfect, but the room was dark and smelled weird. (we stayed in a room with private bathroom). We stayed here for 2 nights And then we changed hotels. There is no luxury And that is not what we expected, but clean is a must. The bathroom stunk like old pie and that only got worse. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmart2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it absolutely did the job. It was pretty inexpensive, which was reflected in the quality of the towels etc. but it doesn't try to sell itself as a five star hotel! The reception staff were helpful and room basic but clean. The location is fantastic and it is very safe. The only thing that was a little difficult was the noise made by other guests - it wasn't a disaster, but banging doors etc. occurred all night! (The windows of the rooms open towards the central courtyard as it is a terraced building). If you think you might be kept awake then take earplugs (I did and it was fine)! Great value for money - maybe don't stay for a whole week but perfect for a couple of nights as a stop-gap.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachie2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Don't get the room for 4 behind the reception. We were told it was a bit dark because of a small window, we were NOT told the view was on the laundry room therefore NO PRIVACY at all! Having to close your curtain at all times is equivalent to not having a window. Shower curtain was torn (when opening the tiny window in BA to remove steam from shower, every passer-by could see you naked). Towels were ragged. Bedcovers were inconsistent and cheap.
The patio looks good and the location is good too. I wish we had had a room that looked like the photos ... Our second room (slightly better) didn't match the photos either - probably taken in the top selection. Overall all is very basic and travelers with a bit more budget (only 10% more) should pass. Breakfast needs to be ordered the night before and cost more than in the street nearby for the same thing. They actually woke us up at night to ask if we wanted breakfast the next day (2nd morning), that is NOT good service!
This place could be exactly like the photos. As it is, it does not deserve to be #2 in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: Don't get the room for 4 behind the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la_media_luna, Proprietario at Hotel La Media Luna, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Hi, I’m sorry you didn’t like your room, but I have much to say about your remarks:
1) Your reservation request arrived quite late, considering that it was for the highest season in the year (the holy week before Easter), and in my reply I informed you I had only 2 rooms available, of course not the best ones. Before reserving them, I also described the two rooms exactly: I never said the room behind the reception is dark for having a small window (that’s not true, it is as large as any other, more than 1 meter in width), but for opening on the shortest side and on a small covered area. Moreover, it is true we have our washing machine there, but it is not at all a laundry room; during the late morning an employee my pass by from time to time to put in and out towel and blankets, but any other work (including drying and doubling) is performed in a separate, closed, room. And, of course, that does not occur during the afternoon.
2) The shower curtain was intact before your arrival.
3) Towels and blankets were absolutely new: we bought a totally new stock less than a month before your stay. Of course they are not of the greatest quality, but 100% cotton blankets with a lot of threads are not found here and must be ordered from outside; we are a small, cheap hotel and can’t afford this, without rising up the price for the room, which is not my intention.
4) As to the breakfast: I don’t find prices are very high, or even higher than outside, considering the average is around 35-40 pesos and that the highest price (50 pesos) is for a fully cooked plate with beans, eggs, ham, cheese, peas, tomato sauce, and fried bananas. Anyway, no one woke you up at night for the breakfast. We would never do such a thing. At 8.30 or 9.00 pm, after speaking with your mother who actually had ordered breakfast, the employee at the reception just asked if all your family wanted it as well (just as the day before). I’m sorry this bothered you, it wasn’t meant to. We never insist or promote anything to sell, we were just in need to know for how many persons we should prepare breakfast the next day, as we already had many reservation and in case your family too was willing to have, we should call other people to help in the kitchen.

Just a final remark: you left a note at the reception before leaving, containing more or less the same remarks you put in your review. That induced a big quarrel between you and your family (quite annoying for the other guests), in which the staff wasn’t included at all. Your parents didn’t agree on what you were writing, and didn’t want you to write the note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Nice little hotel. Basic rooms. No air con, but chilly at night so not not necessary. Would be noisy if any other guests were staying there. Friendly and helpful staff. Meals in restaurant need to be prebooked. We didn't try out so can't comment on food quality. Good value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The location is nice, very close to center, restaurants, the staff is very nice (they can also help organize all sorts of trips in the area - we took the one to Agua Azul, Misol Ha and Palenque and it was very good and fair priced), but the rooms are rather basic, worn out towels and bed sheets, shower was quite loose and low pressure. All it needs are some minor investments.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmecherutza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Posada La Media Luna is a great place to stay in San Cristobal de Las Casas. The location is very convenient for walking. There are many good restaurants close by and interesting places to visit.
The rooms are pleasant and are very well cleaned every day. The shower is hot, but does not have a lot of water pressure. The hotel is very quiet at night.
The restaurant is open for breakfast but you have to make a reservation the evening before, so we did not eat there at all.
I would definitely stay there again because it is clean, quiet, affordable and in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susancj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
#32 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#31 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#61 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Media Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Media Luna

Property: Hotel La Media Luna
Address: Calle Hermanos Dominguez No. 5, centro historico, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Media Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Media Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Media Luna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing