We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value/Price Ratio Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Media Luna
Portland, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Value/Price Ratio Ever!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

If price is your only concern, read no further. I cannot imagine finding a better value anywhere. The hotel provides clean, relatively comfortable lodging an easy walk from the city center. The owner is a friendly Italian lady who will go out of her way to make your stay pleasant. There are however, a few negatives. The beds are very hard, even by Mexican standards, maybe like beds in a federal penitentiary. The sheets are so worn you could read through them. The towels date from the Porfiriata and so no purpose other the to push the water from one place to another on your body. The rooms get quite cold at night and there is no heat, despite the blankets, you should bring warm pajamas. Just nitpicking now, but I didn't like the table in the central courtyard, just outside the rooms, because you could hear people talking there at odd hours.

That seems like a lot of complaints, but seriously for $30 a night, you will not do better anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    105
    38
    17
    11
See reviews for
42
133
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The posada is very nice, in a very colonial style! Rooms are confortable and clean, owners and personals are friendly and very kind, location is very close the city center but at the same time quite and silent. Moreover price/quality relationship is excellent!We strongly suggest this place!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

This great hotel is on a quiet side street but close to all the downtown activities. The pleasant Italian owners made me feel right at home, especially since I am traveling with a dog and Mexico is certainly not a dog friendly country when it comes to finding nice places to stay. They have a designated pet room in the sunny outside courtyard so other guests are not bothered . Bkfst can be ordered, as well as tours. Nice sitting areas in the courtyard and further inside the posada. Rooms nicely furnished, very homey and comfortable..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathygordon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

This hotel got great reviews on Tripadvisor which led us to stay here...it is indeed adequate (if basic) but for one major flaw - it had no heating...San Cristobal is freezing at night in winter and despite offers of more blankets the air around one is cold...sadly,most mid-range hotels do not provide heating and you may need to up the price a little...we had to move as a result of this problem as we weren't prepared to freeze...the owner, as per the reviews, Francesca, is very helpful and nice and assisted us with liaising with Aeromexico which lost our luggage for 48 hours...we are very grateful to her for this...the bedding and pillows could have been improved ...location is great within two blocks of centre...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and would have stayed longer had rooms been available. This is a great little place to park yourself and make a temporary home during your stay in San Cristobal. It's well-located, clean and well looked after with friendly, attentive staff and owners. My experience was hard to fault, especially given the price which is really incredibly good value. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywhitequetzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

I am not sure what people that say this place is overrated expect... it is 40 dollars a night, clean and in a great location. The service was really friendly, the beds comfortable and the shower was very hot. The rooms were impeccably clean. The only slightly weird thing was the paintings of naked men hanging over the beds!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

We arrived at the hotel and had to look hard to find any staff, when we did they were unaware of our reservation although that didn't really matter as we seemed to be the only people there. The security seemed to be very lax. The room was spartan and we could see right through the towels. Although water was provided downstairs we could not find any glasses. We FROZE that night even with an additional blanket.
This was definitely NOT in our opinion the good value for money described in previous reviews. We moved the next day and found many other hotels with similar rates or lower and better amenities. Restaurant did not seem to be open I guess with so few guests it wasn't really practical

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
#34 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#38 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#60 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Media Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Media Luna

Property: Hotel La Media Luna
Address: Calle Hermanos Dominguez No. 5, centro historico, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Media Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Media Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada La Media Luna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing