We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated local house, without sacrificing modern convenience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Sol y Luna is a very enchanting place in many ways, and we will definitely stay here again when we come back to San Cristobal de las Casas.

Cisco and Dani, the hosts, care about many details so that every guest in their house has a great stay. They take a lot of trouble to accommodate your needs.

We stayed 4 nights in a room with en-suite bathroom. The room is exquisitely decorated, exuding an artistic ambience. When we first stepped in our room, it felt like we were in a gallery. Add to this, the room is well equipped for the convenience of the guests. The bathroom is very spacious and has totally modern shower, washbasin and toilet. You get hot water all the time, and the water pressure is very good, which is rare in the old part of any Mexican town. The room has an electric blanket, which is very convenient for chilly nights of San Cristobal.

We also loved its location. It is located within easy walking distance to the center of San Cristobal de las Casas and its major attractions. Despite its central location, the house is in a quiet street, far from noise. Also the breakfast is delicious and beautifully presented.

What we most loved were their beautiful children. They are sooooo lovely and they made our stay very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humble_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Well - I had a lovely stay in Luna - the room with such a comfortable bed - and - I always say that the one thing wrong with Mexico are the PILLOWS - but - merci - here they are perfect !!!!
I loved the bathroom - hot water all day - that is unusual - Cisco knows SO much about the area - where to eat in San Cristobal - this is SO useful + where to go .My first time to the carnival in San Juan Chamula - I will NEVER forget ! Dani is a dream lady - with 3 children she still manages an exquisite breakfast - pancakes , freshest fruits out of this world - freshest juices - it is all true !!!
Their place is 2 minutes walk from one of the most amazing markets in the world - and believe me I have seen a few - take the time to wander slowly through - it is ali baba - all the way . Also 2 minutes is the church of Santo Domingo with a museum - and outside - a wonderful market full of all the most amazing gifts you need to take home- all on your doorstep !!! ALSO this place is situated up high above the town and the air is much sweeter.
Lovely courtyard and garden to relax in - just go there - quick as you can .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Sol y Luna is a fine place but what really makes it tops is the hospitality, contacts and local information that Cisco (from Los Angeles) and Danni (Honduras) offer their guests. I arrived solo with few specific plans other than to go to Carnaval in Chamula. Cisco told me about another great Carnaval in Coita and later hooked me up with an American guide who spoke the local Mayan dialect in Chamula. Sol y Luna is Cisco and Danni's home and they have two nice rooms. You get a sense of how a middle class family lives in Mexico. They have three small children and you do need to like kids because they are an integral part of your stay. This last week has been one of the most interesting I have spent in Mexico during 40 years of travel there and much of the credit goes to the hospitality I experienced at Sol y Luna.

Room Tip: My room has a private bath right next door and very close. That made the room a little cheaper but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Sol y Luna B&B in late January 2014. Cisco and Dany are wonderful hosts. Cisco gave us many great suggestions about what to see and do during our 6 days in San Cristobal. Our room was very comfortable with a warming electric blanket on the bed and the breakfasts were healthy and absolutely delicious. Sol y Luna B&B combines much privacy when is needed with the charm of been within a family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We loved our four night stay with Cisco and Dany. Sol y Luna gives you a chance to feel what life is like as a local. The streets of San Cristobal are charming but narrow and walled off. You might wonder what lies within.

Staying here and you will find out. If, like us, you arrive at night after a long bus ride, you will be relieved to enter the wooden doorway and enter a lovely open courtyard. You might even look up and admire the clarity of the moon.

The rooms are chilly but you might not notice because of the abundance of art, books, the charm of the design and the inviting bed. But take a moment and turn on the electric blanket!

Showers are an adventure. Be patient and you will be rewarded with plenty of hot water for a glorious soak. Soft fluffy towels are provided daily when they clean your room and make your bed.

Breakfast by the lovely and saint-like Dany will be either Huevos Mexicanos, ripe and oh so tasty cantelope with homemade granola, thick yogurt and the local coffee or Cisco's delightful hot cereal blend. The last morning I ate too much but couldn't help myself.

When you see everything in the morning you'll be enchanted with the way the home is arranged. Plants everywhere, art displayed alongside local textiles... this is clearly the home of a happy family with an artistic temperament.

And all along you get Cisco - a character out of a Tom Robbins novel, to be sure. Full of energy, Pan's laughter, local information and a zest for life that is fun and sets you on a positive path each morning. Genuine interest in his guests, genuine desire for everyone to be happy, worth the stay in of himself.

And you simply MUST go see he orchids.

We miss this place already.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay at Sol Y Luna. The room had wifi and an electric blanket, and a complimentary breakfast is included. Our host Cisco gave us lots of helpful information for our trip through Chiapas, and we enjoyed hanging out with his wife, their young children, and the cats. Sol Y Luna is a great homestay experience and a fun introduction to San Cristobal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marinajavor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I wrote to Sol y Luna at 7:30 in the morning to see if by any chance i could find a place that was a bit better suited for my time in San Cristobal than the place that i had originally chosen. I was happily surprised to get a response within 5 minutes and was checking in soon after. Super great!

The property is lovingly maintained, full of personal art pieces and fun design touches. The patio is full of sun and a great place to hang out in the morning after breakfast, relaxing in the warm before attacking the market, ruins or just wandering the beautiful streets of San Cristobal. The internet WiFi is really fast and always on and available in our room to the farthest corner.

Our room was lovely, with electric blankets and a fantastic en suite bath with endless hot water. Nice let me tell you after a long day tromping around ruins. I was visiting with my 12 year old son, and he appreciated the large TV with cable that was in the room, since we weren't really going out at night hitting the bars, which i can tell you there are plenty of.

The Sol y Luna was on a very quiet street about 5 or 6 blocks from the largest textile market in San Cristobal, the Mercado Santo Domingo. We slept like logs.

I will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#24 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
332 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#34 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#58 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
225 reviews
2 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#10 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Tonala # 27 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £36 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol y Luna is an ideal location for couples, families or an individual wanting quiet, privacy and a feeling of living in their own home. We are located, on a quite side street, in one of the original barrios of San Cristobal close to the centro, an easy 7 minute walk, to the mercado 3 minutes and to Sto. Domingo church 3 minutes. The B&B is beautifully decorated, with lush orchid filled gardens to relax and for children to play and a free full breakfast is our specialty. We offer, SOL, with two beds, a queen and a twin, ideal for a family, with an elegant en suite full bathroom. The home is elegantly and beautifully decorated with art from Mexico and the owners travels around the world. The B&B can help you with all travel related needs, from where to have your clothes washed to exploring hidden treasures in San Cristobal or in one of the nearby indigenous communities, to Maya ruins further away. You will remember your time fondly at Sol y Luna and want to return. Cisco can help you arrange or guide you on tours that explore the hidden side, the magical calles, the little visited areas of Chiapas. His 20 years in Chiapas have given him a vast knowledge of this magical land. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing