We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific little budget hotel”
Review of Posada Carmelita

Posada Carmelita
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Carmelita
Reviewed 2 April 2013

You simply cannot beat this hotel for location, price and attractiveness. For $40/night our family of three spent a very comfortable night in this colorful, cheerful place, where the staff were very obliging and friendly. They even have free wi-fi in the lobby. Nothing fancy here (we had to share a bathroom), but I imagine you would be hard pressed to find a better deal in town.
Tip: if you stay here, have the $4 breakfast at La Equinita down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We have been travelling 7 weeks through Mexico and Central America and Posada Carmelita has been my favourite place to stay.

It is so lovely, such pretty rooms and welcoming ambiance. We booked ahead and stayed in the sunny large room at the top of the stairs. Two large comfortable beds, a wall of windows, a table, two chairs, a large wardrobe and a tv. Unfortunately the wi fi signal wouldn’t reach into the room.

The rooftop terrace was beautiful, with plants, benches and a gorgeous view of San Cristobal. On this level there is also a very large sunny enclosed room with tables and chairs, which I called the library. I often sat there to use my computer when I needed the internet.

San Cristobal can get very cold at night. Our room was well heated by the sun during the day, but overnight it gradually cooled off and would be a bit chilly by the morning. A nice hot shower helped with that and there was no problem with enough hot water. The bathroom floor was raised up, so the floor was not cold. There were also 3 or 4 blankets for each bed if you wanted that many.

My son was with us in San Cristobal and he had a separate room next door to our bigger one. His room had one pillow top large bed, very comfy. I loved his cozy room as well. The window in this room faced onto the hallway, which was a wall of windows. So it got plenty of sunlight, but stayed warm even in the early mornings. There was also one smaller window to the outside.

If you are lucky, you may meet Carmelita, such a very sweet lady! Her posada is amazingly good value, write her for rates and reservations and she will reply promptly. Thank you Carmelita and family for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for the sunny large room if there are two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Very clean and friendly place to stay, cheap too! Rooms basic but comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here. As others have said, the location is perfect for exploring the city, everything being within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

For the full review, visit our site TheVacationAdvisors

Wow. This place was simply amazing. We loved everything about this posada. This place had charm, character, architecture, warmth, friendly staff, beautiful views, beautiful decor and everything else that we wanted. You won't hear us say this too often, but this place was perfect and probably one of the best values we've come across in the world. It's a shame that we didn't come here first when we arrived in San Cristóbal de las Casas because we would have loved to say here as long as we could. Sure we had the best room at the place at 350 pesos per night, but all the rooms provided equal character and charm. The views in the other rooms might not be as spectacular, but you can always get those on their rooftop patio that has amazing panoramic views of San Cristóbal de las Casas. One way or another, at this price, this is the best value in town.

We were lucky enough to obtain the corner room for our stay and it had phenomenal views of San Cristóbal de las Casas. The large room was beautifully decorated and had large windows on two-sides of the room. There was also an additional window in the shower area of the bathroom. Even though there wasn't a heater in the room, the room stayed at a comfortable temperature at night when the outside temperature dropped close to freezing. The blankets provided in the room were warm and comfortable which also helped. There was a good supply of hot water 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This made showering with the window open in the cool mornings a joy! The rooms also had a television set, but we didn't even turn it on.

Everything about this room felt homey and comfortable. It's a place where we wish we could have stayed MUCH longer. There aren't enough good things we could say to really describe how amazing this place was, so we'll just let the pictures do the talking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great place to stay. Very clean, comfortable and friendly and very central. Lovely rooms

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

LOVED staying here. I stayed one night in a different hotel, then Posada Carmelita before heading to the jungle. When I came back to San Crist I could have stayed anywhere else but I wanted to come back here. Extremely friendly staff, excellent value and great basic rooms. The first night I stayed here I had a room with two beds and a shared bathroom. The last 3 nights I stayed I got a room with a double bed, television and en suite bathroom.

The hotel is just a few blocks to the central market and within walking distance of the heart of San Cristobal.

I definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicolasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

An attractive foyer with fresh flowers was a welcome introduction to this small, comfortable posada in a convenient & historical part of the city. Rooms were clean & spacious, with reliable wireless & hot water available at all times. Unlimited purified drinking water was also supplied. The view from the rooftop patio was exceptional & a wonderful place to view the sunset or sunrise, as well as to simply relax in the hammock. Staff are attentive & the owner made herself available to organise a taxi when leaving, no matter what the time! Excellent value & highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MexicoWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
220 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
101 reviews
0 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Carmelita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Carmelita

Address: San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing