We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy gem”
Review of Villas Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Casa Morada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

San Cristobal can get chilly. This home style hotel offers thick quality linen, hot showers, fire places and room service from the generous restaurant below. Rooms have large couches, Chiapas coffee in room and kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payitforward12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

I recently stayed at Villas Casa Morada for four nights and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting San Cristobal de las Casas. My taxi driver had a little trouble finding it but all the locals we stopped to ask directions of were very helpful and we got there eventually.

The room I stayed in (#3) was more like an apartment than a hotel room. It has a separate bedroom with a little balcony overlooking the garden at the back, a kitchenette with a four seat dining table and a lounge area with a setee, armchair and an open fireplace. There's no air conditioning but they do have a heater in the bedroom which, along with the open fire, is more than enough to keep the place warm, even in the middle of winter.

The hotel is in a quiet residential area however only about 10 minutes walk to Real de Guadalupe which is one of the city's main restaurant and bar strips. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night – shrimp tacos in a sea of sauce and a plate of cold meat and cheeses. Not great but OK for a hotel restaurant. The staff are very helpful and friendly, and overall excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kst01231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

probably the best hotel to stay in San Cristobal.
great service, clean room ,beautiful style ........we cannot ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitelis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This review is long overdue, since we had such a lovely and unforgettable four days at Villas Casa Morada; four days I may add, that passed far too quickly for us. We were looking for a romantic place to stay and our wishes were fulfilled in every way.

This small colonial hotel is located in the quiet outskirts of the wonderful highland town of San Cristobal de las Casas, but is well within walking distance of many attractions and good restaurants. The suites are located around a charming well-tended interior garden in a semi-rural neighbourhood. As residents of large cities, we were quite entertained by the neighbourhood rooster and learned that roosters not only crow at dawn. This lead to much laughter and a few ‘chicken in the pot’ jokes.

We reserved the two-story villa containing two bedrooms with a nice balcony facing the garden, full kitchen and most importantly an open fireplace. In retrospect this was probably too large for two people, but we enjoyed rattling around in the large space nonetheless and I hasten to add, that we were given the option of a smaller suite upon arrival.

The bedrooms especially were absolutely charming, romantic and very cosy. The bedspreads, pillows, curtains and decorations were of woven Mayan textiles and were very attractive. The framed textiles on the walls added to the general ambiance, as did the painted fireplace. It did get a bit nippy in the evenings during our stay hence the addition of a space heater and the before mentioned fireplace were a welcome addition to a romantic evening and to ward off the chill, as were the cosy blankets. The many small touches, which added to our comfort and attention to detail, are what made our stay memorable.

The staff was very courteous, friendly and kept us well supplied with the all-important firewood. The apartment was kept very nice and clean during our stay.

We only ate at Villas Casa Morada once, on the morning of our departure. We had omelets with corn fungus, which was delicious. If we had known how tasty it was we would have had breakfast at the hotel every morning.

Our only regret is not being able to stay longer than four days as there is so much to see and experience in San Cristobal de las Casas and the surrounding Mayan villages such as San Juan Chamula. I can highly recommend a stay at Villas Casa Morada, as a visit to Chiapas is like stepping into a different magical world and memories of this trip will always put a smile on my face…

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Second_Self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I recently visited Casa Moradas apartments on Tapachula again and was very disappointed in the total experience.
I first stayed in Apt. 3 for the first part of the visit and found it to be very poorly maintained. The worst problem was the bathroom where most everything was covered with mold. The cheap plastic shower curtain was impossible to keep free of mold. That was just the worst of the problems. First the front door was very difficult to open but nothing done to repair. Kitchen table chairs in very poor conditon with holes in all of them. Two lamps in the living room, both with broken shades. Just several of the many problems.
The biggest disappointmen was the staff. I found them to be very arrogant. I contacted them about the lack of hot water--they told me it was probably because I was late taking a shower and since all apartments were full, maybe no hot water. I told them I tried at 5AM and no hot water. They finally had a plumber check and big problems with the heater. They also told me my poor cable tv signal was normal. The cable people finally came and found big problems in the entire neighborhood.
And, you need to watch the charges. They tried to charge me extra because the month had 31 days. I told them their rates said monthly and last I new, a month was 28 to 31 days.
A big disappointment. My advice, avoid these apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed in San Cristobal for 4 nights at the hotel. It's AMAZING!
The whole ambiance was romantic!
The rooms are beautiful and very very welcoming! There's a kitchen in the room with everything you need for a nice stay. There's a wonderful fire place (1 batch of wood is free). There is a computer in the lobby and free WIFI in the rooms.
The staff was so helpful and nice.
It's a bit expensive but I truly believe it's worth it if you are on a trip which you spare no expenses :)
The only problem is the hotel's location. It's a 10 minutes walk to the center of San Cristobal which is very nice to walk in the morning. Coming back after a night out is not so convenient. I recommend taking a taxi (which is cheap in San Cristobal).

Room Tip: If you're on your honeymoon, let them know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyal_She
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We really liked this hotel. It is in an interesting building that has been sensitively converted into hotel use. It was full of nice bits of furntiure and artwok and was relaxing and comfortable. the rooms were very clean and the staff, particularly Hector, were deightful. It was in a quiet area within a pleasant and easy walk to town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#4 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#3 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Lum
Casa Lum
#5 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Casa Morada

Address: Av. Diego Dugelay 45, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £61 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Casa Morada is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms, 8 of them suites with one or two bedrooms located in the historic center of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico. All Suites do have an equipped kitchen, dining and living room with fire place. Free WIFI access. Villas Casa Morada is an ideal place for an extended stay in the Highlands of Chiapas in order to discover the ancient Mayan Culture or even learn Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Casa Morada Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Hotel Casa Morada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing