We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chimney - Lovely Hotel”
Review of Villas Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Casa Morada
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chimney - Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

San Cristobal de Las Casas was new to us, so we took the advice from fellow travellers on TripAdvisor and booked Casa Morada, which was rated #2. We took a taxi from the bus terminal after arriving from Palenque. We had no idea where the hotel was, but our driver, who was very friendly and explained the taxi rates, got us there in little time. When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed by Hector Hernandez, who had booked our room for the night. Hector was very helpful in getting us orientated. The room/ apartment we stayed in was very attractive. It was cold at night, so having a fireplace was a real treat. Expect to hear turkey and rooster sounds in the morning. Casa Morada is a pleasant walk from the centre of town. There is a nice Italian pizzeria, El Punto (wood burning oven), on Comitan. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareliToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
53
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Oh yes! were the first words I uttered when I saw my cozy, colorful and comfortable junior suite at Casa Morada. There were modern amenities without losing the texture of San Cristobal: the painted tiles in the kitchen, framed textiles on the walls, hand-painted fireplace, lovely woodwork, etc.
An easy trek to the center of town --just out of the hubbub is good.
The people who worked at Casa Morada were all sweethearts too.
A+
Margo & Helen

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Las-Iguanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missoula, mt
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

wonderful option to stay in S.C. It's a bit away from the hustle and bustle but within easy walking distance to downtown. Staff is wonderfull, it's comfy and modern, and their inner courtyard is an island of tranquility for lots of R & R and studying your Spanish verbs and nouns. I highly recommned the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uffanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We had booked our stay on-line after reading about Villas Casa Morado in the Lonely Planet travel guide. Everything about the stay was great. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The daily maid service was thorough. The room, which they call a studio, was a generous size with a very serviceable kitchen and nice size sitting room, which opened into the garden. The neighborhood was quiet for Mexico. There was a rooster next door, but that never bothered us. It was a pleasant walk to the center of town; we never needed to take taxis. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amiga-de-Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Very friendly staff. Reasonably well equiped suite although simple settings. Quiet except for the hen singing from 4 am to 8am, but you get used to it. Location not central (10-15 min from the zocalo)

Helpful?
Thank Boris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Very friendly staff. Romantic chimnea. And a spacious room. I would stay again in this place when I return to San Cristobal.

  • Liked — the spacious suite
  • Disliked — mmmmm maybe the price.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Natozka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

All you need to enjoy your stay in San Cristobal. Helpfull staff.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gruerlokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Casa Morada

Property: Villas Casa Morada
Address: Av. Diego Dugelay 45, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Casa Morada is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms, 8 of them suites with one or two bedrooms located in the historic center of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico. All Suites do have an equipped kitchen, dining and living room with fire place. Free WIFI access. Villas Casa Morada is an ideal place for an extended stay in the Highlands of Chiapas in order to discover the ancient Mayan Culture or even learn Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Casa Morada Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Hotel Casa Morada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing