We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay in a lovely indigenous town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Casa Morada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas Casa Morada
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in a lovely indigenous town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

If you want a spacious, attractive, modern, and comfortable hotel near the center of town, but enough of a little walk to be away from the noise, Villa Casa Morada is the place. The staff are helpful with any request from where to buy something to scheduling a guide for the small nearby villages. We stayed a week and felt grateful for our small suite and kitchen. This was exactly the kind of place to use as a base for exploring San Cristobal and surrounding towns.
We came "home" each day to a relaxing and beautiful set of rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
51
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Don't be discouraged by the poor curb appeal of this hotel. Once you pass through the front door you will be pleasantly surprised. We paid about $20 more per night here than other accommodations in Mexico ( a treat after the overnight bus trip from Oaxaca ) and it was well worth it. The room had kitchen facilities, a fireplace with wood and was very well appointed. The location is a little out of the way but everything is close in Cristobal so that's not much of an issue.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmotab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

I have visited San Cristobal many times but decided this time to try one of the apartments available at this property. They have several price ranges but I rented one on the lower end of the scale. Nice, basic local rustic furnishings and all very well maintained. This is not for anyone wanting to be in the center--its in a historic neighborhood and a long walk from the center.
The staff was outstanding. I had only one problem and that was that the place had an off smell when I arrived--as if it had been closed up for awhile. But once I told management, the staff came three times that night and quickly took care of the problem and kept in constant touch. Very professional , helpful staff.
I highly recommend --if the location is good for you.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at Casa Morada for 9 nights and felt like family by the time we left. Everyone, from Roberto, Hector and Pablo at the front desk and Pati, who cleaned our room and took care of laundry, were so wonderful to us, helpful and sweet at all times. We had a full kitchen, with a stove, microwave, refrigerator, a 5 gallon container of drinking water and silverware, a coffee maker, etc. so we ate breakfast in the room most mornings, and really appreciated that we had use of this kitchen for our snacks and etc.

There was a beautiful fireplace in the room, and although we needed help making the fire each night, someone would come in and set it up for us and we had beautiful blazing fires each night. Also, we left for two days to go to the jungle and we asked Hector, who was on duty when we left, so have our room warm for us when we returned the next night. We come back to find Roberto on duty and he had built and started a gorgeous blazing fire in our room to welcome us back! We also had a lot of TV channels and tried to practice our Spanish by finding movies in English with Spanish subtitles.

The location was very convenient, a quick walk to the outdoor market, the zocalo, etc. We highly recommend the place and enjoyed our stay immensely. If there is one improvement, it would be a better shower head, although we had plenty of hot water. But the room was very spacious, with a living area, a dining area, the bedroom, and bathroom, with lots of closests and drawers, and a lovely courtyard in back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

we stayed in Villas Casa Morada for three nights and enjoyed every moment
they have 8 big apartments which gives you a very good atmosphere
nice.clean. & comfortable

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michalv_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We discovered Villa Casa Morada thanks to Pierre, owner of a french restaurant in San Cristobal. We had been going around and were not finding a hotel that met our requirements. We enjoyed our stay there. We could walk into town and it was nice and quiet to sleep. Having a parking space was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amancay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Great place to stay with excellent service from the staff (who spoke English)

The hotel is not in the centre of the town however the centre is easily walkable down the narrow cobbled streets. Even better at dusk, there is a very atmospheric feel to the area.

The internet connection was fast (if this is important; it was for me).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Cristobal de las Casas.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwhite2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Casa Morada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Casa Morada

Property: Villas Casa Morada
Address: Av. Diego Dugelay 45, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Family Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Casa Morada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Casa Morada is a small boutique hotel with 10 rooms, 8 of them suites with one or two bedrooms located in the historic center of San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas, Mexico. All Suites do have an equipped kitchen, dining and living room with fire place. Free WIFI access. Villas Casa Morada is an ideal place for an extended stay in the Highlands of Chiapas in order to discover the ancient Mayan Culture or even learn Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Casa Morada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Casa Morada Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas
Hotel Casa Morada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing