We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay in San Cristobal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gite del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Gite del Sol
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay in San Cristobal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The owner, his wife and mother in law are the friendliest people you can find! The rooms are cosy, clean and cool at night because of the thick walls, which assures you of a good night of sleep. A breakfast menu with several options is included. This is one of the best value-for-money hostels in Mexico so far! Also, tours and buses are organized by the owner without any charge. Thanks for a great time, Axel and Annelou

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Axel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    121
    43
    19
    19
See reviews for
24
178
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Simple rooms with shared bathrooms. You get what you pay for here. The rooms are some of the best priced in San Cristobal as they come with a great breakfast. But they are very basic (bed, desk, chair and 2 spare blankets). Both areas have kitchens and computers. Bathrooms need a update as they are pretty worn and rooms need mirrors (mirror available in common bathroom area). Hosts are fantastic! We booked everything through them and it was so easy. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna and Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This place is just perfect for what it is. It has a nice private courtyard where you can relax, eat your breakfast (nice breakfast btw) and fix some trips with the staff. The room we stayed could fit 4 but we got it as a double. The rooftop terrace is a nice thing too. I liked the location, not directly in the city centre but close by everything.
You can't really go wrong with this, recommended, especially for the price its good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
523 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a great place to stay while in San Christobal. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and the included breakfast is an added bonus. The coffee is outstanding also. The place is close to everything, shops, restaurants and things to see... The wifi is also top notch here. Do go in confidence if you're looking to save money and still enjoy your stay thoroughly. Hope this review was helpful!!!

Room Tip: They have all types of rooms, we chose one with a private bath ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montbrison, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Thank you for the both night, it was a pleasant house and very nice staff. The breakfast was also very good and everything clean. When we left the place to Guatemala, it was early and the owner gave us a breakfast bag, so friendly. Thank you for everything

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattcharlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The staff does not get any friendlier than here, even though they only speak spanish. The owners are wonderful also, being there each morning at breakfast. A substantial hot breakfast of eggs and meat or a fruit plate with good coffee. The rooms are spartan, but always clean. Wonderful small balcony in my room to sit at and enjoy the town. Nice kitchen to use anytime, with WI-fi that works well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maury s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My son, husband abd i stayed in the hostel for 4 nights. Loved it! We left very happy. The room was always clean. We had a private bathroom and curtains lol. Someone mention that in anotger comment. Just a block away from everything. Overall a great experience.
We will be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky-lorui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#60 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Media Luna
Hotel La Media Luna
#36 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite del Sol

Property: Le Gite del Sol
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 82 | San Cristobal de Las Casas, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are a friendly young Canadian-Mexican couple owners of the hotel LE GITE DEL SOL located at only 5 minutes walking from downtown. Our hotel benefit of a reading place, roof-terrace with panoramic view of the city, clean and comfortable rooms with private bathroom. Some of our facilities include are: choice of complete delicious breakfast, free Internet and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Le Gite del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing