We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean & pleasant”
Review of Le Gite del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Gite del Sol
Quebec,
1 review
“Nice, clean & pleasant”
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Very nice place. The staff was friendly and efficient. The owners are very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    123
    43
    20
    19
See reviews for
24
180
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

WE spent 4 nights in this hotel/hostel and were impressed by the friendly hosts. It is really great value for budget travellers, simple but clean with a great breakfast included. Certainly the best value for money fror this type of accommodation we have encountered so far in Mexico and Guatemala. Its about a 5 minute walk from the town square and safe to walk around at night.WE would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soph106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Denis and Adriana are a beautiful couple who spend countless hours helping others plan their travel experience. I was in town to study Spanish so didn't require much but I loved the breakfast and the staff is very friendly. I arrived very late at night due to flight problems but they had held my room for me, thank goodness.
The only complaint I have which has nothing to do with them, is that the hotel is located on a very loud corner with traffic noise all night long. But this is a common occurrence in Mexico so what can you do?

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Great place, very clean, near to downtown, good breakfast, free internet, clean sheets and warm blankets provided for San Cristobal's cold nights, hot water, laudry service, very friendly staff, helpful owners. Go there!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouPic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Arrived late in the evening and was lucky to get a room there. I enjoyed the stay there, nice people, good price. Some minutes to walk to the city center. Would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanglooseZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My girlfriend and I were met by the Canadian owner at the bus station and given the hotels pamphlet. After walking around the town later went and stayed at the hotel. We then met the Canadian owner's wife (who seemed nice at first) and she explained the the breakfast is included and the trips the hotel offers (they actually organize these through one of the many small travel companies in the town, and then up the price to make a commision). The trips looked good but we decided to walk around the town first before making the decision. We found the prices of the exact same trip (2 Waterfalls and Palenque) was cheaper if you book with one of the many companies in the town (almost every second shop).
Upon returning to the hotel we said we had booked with another company. We were then told in a nasty manner by the Mexican owner that even though they would be up early making breakfast for at least 7 other other people that they could not make it for us because we had not booked with there more expensive trip. I politely asked if it would be possible to make it for us as well since we had paid for it and they would be up already (would not have asked if it was for only us). I was then yelled at as she said breakfast was not included in the price but only a courtesy. The owner became so irrate that she had to be calmed down by her husband. The husband did agree to make us the simple breakfast (much to the chagrin of his wife) This made for a very akward stay, as the owner would no longer speak to us. I have stayed in a lot of hostel and hotels in Mexico and Central America and have never been treated with such disrespect.
Great town though!

  • Disliked — Treated badly
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank PatrickMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DecChiapas, Manager at Le Gite del Sol, responded to this review, 22 February 2009
Concerning review from Patrick MK. written on
Feb. 15, 2009.


Hi! Le Gite Del Sol is where we put first priority to ours customers with kindness and respect, therefore succeed having good reviews and good reputation, it was very annoying to find out that kind of over reaction about us and wish to assure all our guest that never we have interest at yelling for whatever misunderstanding that happen.
For this reason, at every guest that arrive at Le Gite, we explain them all about our service like we did with Mr Patrick.
It is sure that we offer as a courtesy a complete breakfast to every guest from 8AM to 10AM and that also we as a complement if our guest take our organize tour to the archaeological site of Palenque that leave at 6:30am we kindly make them a breakfast at 6AM, and that even if they decide to take a tour with other operator, as en exception and goodwill, if we have guest that take hearly tour with us then they can join the group.
wishing to comment that at our best knowledge, there is no other lodging or tours operator in San Cristobal who will offer this service.
We want to assure our guest that all tours with transport starting from Le Gite have competitive price, therefore if our guest find a cheaper price with a tour operator we will equal it at there benefit.

Sincerly, Adriana and Denis.
Le Gite Del Sol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We stayed here for three nights while exploring the surrounding area. It was a great price for such a great location and considering it included a very hearty breakfast.

Rooms with bathrooms are a little awkward. The bathroom is an oversized shower stall with not much privacy from the rest of the room. We recommend you get a room using shared bathrooms (which are clean).

The Wifi worked great and was nice to have. We would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — breakfast and location
  • Disliked — washroom in room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChadSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#33 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite del Sol

Property: Le Gite del Sol
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 82 | San Cristobal de Las Casas, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are a friendly young Canadian-Mexican couple owners of the hotel LE GITE DEL SOL located at only 5 minutes walking from downtown. Our hotel benefit of a reading place, roof-terrace with panoramic view of the city, clean and comfortable rooms with private bathroom. Some of our facilities include are: choice of complete delicious breakfast, free Internet and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Gite del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing