We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, friendly helpful hosts”
Review of Le Gite del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Gite del Sol
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Value, friendly helpful hosts”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We stayed 6 nights at the Le Gite del sol and had a wonderful stay. We found the hosts friendly, helpful and approachable. They speak English, Spanish and French. I strongly recommend this hotel for all travellers (not just budget travellers).

The positives include:
1. Inexpensive but (most importantly) clean. The rooms are located on 2 floors around a central courtyard. The housekeeping is in everyday to clean and they did a great job.
2. Full breaklast (cooked to order) is included in the price for the room. We usually had the eggs and ham, toast and coffee but there are other options including fruit plate with yogurt and granola. With how little I paid for the room, I couldn't believe that a full breakfast was included and it was delicious way to start the day. The homemade jam is very good as well.
3. Free wi-fi and use of a computer (if you don't have a laptop or smartphone)
4. Can book tours (and at slightly cheaper prices than at travel agencies). Pick up at the hotel. We went to San Juan Chamula and Canyon Sunidero.
5. Allow use of their kitchen and refrigerator so can prepare your own meals (or just to cut up fruit that was purchased at the market)
6. Safe and secure site.
7. Hot water 24 hours
8. Quiet in the evenings (other than the usual car/street noise).

Although the positives outnumber the negatives, it would only be proper if I presented the other side as well:
1. Towels and sheets are worn and will need to be replaced soon. The beds are soft but adequete. One of our pillows was lumpy ( I did not ask to have the pillow replaced but if I did, I'm sure they would have done so).
2. At least a 10 minute walk to the zocalo/main square. We usually walked along the pedestrian walkway (Real de Guadalupe) and it was very pleasant with all the shops and restaurants. However, some people might want to be "closer to the action".
3. No TV (I'm not sure if this is a negative or positive?)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    125
    44
    20
    19
See reviews for
24
182
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We spent 3 nights here in Feb 2010 and it was a great experience. As others have mentioned, the couple who run it are wonderful. They serve a great breakfast and arrange trips to surrounding villages (Chimula & Zinacantan) and Palenque. The town is beautiful and very tourist friendly. Everything (including the bus station) is walkable if you are traveling with a backpack. If you are taking the overnight bus from Oaxaca, be prepared for a bumpy ride. The road twists and turns for the first couple of hours. (You might need gravol or a sleeping pill.) San Cristobal has great craft markets, pretty buildings, good restaurants and the gite del sol. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Lake, B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a 3-day stay at Le gite Del Sol on the strong recommendation of a fellow traveller whom we met on the coast. We are grateful to her for the recommendation and to Denis & Andrianna and their staff for their warm welcome and generous hospitality. Our room was very clean, we felt it was completely secure, and we felt very safe here. The full breakfast (included in the very reasonable price) was delicious and served with smiles each morning. The roof top terrace was enjoyable. The bed was comfortable and the hot water was consistent. Everything was great! We highly recommend this B&B to anyone spending a few days in San Cristobal. Gracias!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

The couple that own this place are very pleasant and always looking to make your stay more comfortable! The rooms are very clean as well as the common areas. You can use the kitchen to make your own meals (lunch and dinner). Breakfasts (generous) are included in the price of the room and you have 4 choices and bottomless cup of coffee or tea. There are two buildings for this hotel and both places are equally well maintained. The owners speak english, french and spanish. You also get to use one of the two computers for internet access. We had a room with private bathroom, wich was cleaned daily but the shared bathrooms are very well maintained also...There is staff continuously on site to keep things very tidy. We were there for four nights and have nothing bad to say about this place! The reason we put a "4" in the "rooms" section instead of a "5" is just because if you are a light sleeper, you will want to ask for a room in the center (instead of on the street) of the secondary complex. The rooms in the main building are all quiet!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_grrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2010

For me, it was the perfect place.The owner are very nice people. They speak spanish, english and French. The place is very clean, there is a very nice kitchen well equiped to cook your food and the breakfeast is included and it was very good.

Even if it looks a little bit far from the center, it's just not. You can walk easly to any place in the city.

There is a terrace on the roof with a wonderfull view of the city.

They have laundry service. It cost me $10 pesos for having my cloth wash, dry and delivered to my room.

The owner will help you if you want to plan an excursion, and you will be pick-up at the hostel.

I recommand the place to anyone who will like to stay in the beautifull city of San Cristobal the Las Casa.

Jacques , Québec, Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaco65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We absolutely recommend "Le gite del sol"!

Even if it is a bit further away from the city center, it is worth to stay there. The hostel has two buildings (just a few meters away from each other), each of them has a nice kitchen and the main has a sunny patio where you can have breakfast (which is recommendable, too).

After our experience the price is a good deal. The rooms are clean, some have their own bathroom. The bathrooms are clean, too. The breakfast is included and very good.

The owners are the moste friendly ones we met on our 4 weeks trip in Mexico. And they helped with everything. The offer all the tours offered in the city center (like Canon del Sumidero, horseriding to Chamula,...), but a little bit cheaper.

To say it in ohter words: Stay there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meckes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

My experience at Le Gite del Sol was poor at best. The website and lonely planet fail to mention that the gite has two properties, the main building where the courtyard is located and down the road in what seems to be a converted garage. The 'garage' rooms are cold, damp and are reminiscent of jail cells. Each door has a metal latch, which makes an incredible noice every time someone enters or leave their room. I don't mind more basic conditions when travelling, but this property was even below my standards. Shared bathrooms were not super clean and I barely slept during my stay there due to noise (and cold). With so many other budget options in San Cristobal, I wouuld recommend that folks look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#58 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#33 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#25 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite del Sol

Property: Le Gite del Sol
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 82 | San Cristobal de Las Casas, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Gite del Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi! We are a friendly young Canadian-Mexican couple owners of the hotel LE GITE DEL SOL located at only 5 minutes walking from downtown. Our hotel benefit of a reading place, roof-terrace with panoramic view of the city, clean and comfortable rooms with private bathroom. Some of our facilities include are: choice of complete delicious breakfast, free Internet and guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Gite del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing