We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Has seen better days”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Decent location, though in a graffiti neighborhood. Rooms are confining. Cleanliness is questionable. We stayed in a room over the parking area which was very noisy with loading and unloading of suitcases. Courtyard is graceless and falling apart. There is Internet but only rift at the front desk. Very annoying as they advertise Internet in the rooms.

Room Tip: Try for one away from the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolvgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Arriving after dark (never the best time) we were initially concerned but quickly settled in and realized how lucky we were to land there. It is true the staff doesn't speak much English. It is central mexico, not Cancun! There isn't much English spoken anywhere in San Cristobal, what a pleasant challenge that is. Whenever we had a question the desk clerk would use the translator on his computer and we had fun communicating that way. We spent four wonderful days wandering all over town, and even though it was quite chilly there in November, our room was always comfortable. It is a perfect location, near to everything downtown has to offer.
On our final day we had car trouble and that's when we were overwhelmed by the kind help of the staff. The desk clerk made calls to the rental company for us, Enrique (a waiter) spent most of the day helping us, finding a mechanic and translating for us. We would have been totally stranded without their continued assistance. How lucky we were to be there!

Room Tip: The back section is warmer because of the covered courtyard. We were quite happy on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel was recommended b y dear friends... Initially, we were concerned that it would be noisy !! It was not and it is very close to all atttractions , right across from theb Mercado de Artesanias and down the street from the multiple attractions of this great town.

Clean and pleasant, only problem is their restaurant which is good, but nothing great....We would come back here . Very few staff member speak english but they will try very hard to help in any way they can.....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyneml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo in October 2011 for 4 nights, and although I thought it was a very charming place - structure of an old building, pretty colors - I was rather disappointed with the services. All hotel staff were very nice and polite, but most of them didn't speak English and there wasn't any help available for those who do not speak Spanish (such as me). The room had (confusing, I must say) card explaining the hotel's towel program (place the card if you want your towels washed), but it was not being practiced, as it didn't matter what I did with the card - every day ALL of the towels were changed. There wasn't any "Do Not Disturb" card available. What I found most disappointing was that the cleaning staff seem to have touched and moved my personal items (I would come back at night and notice things tidied up and in places different from where they had been). Again, it would have been much easier if I spoke Spanish and were able to communicate to the hotel staff about these things. I hope that they'd invest in some employee training, both in basic language skills and about proper understanding of some of the "environmental" practices that the hotel claims to be implementing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayako E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We decided to stay there after calling four or five other B&B or hotels that were fully booked - Our stay was on Nov 1 - 3: right on All Souls' and All Saints' Day.

All in all, a fair alternative, but I'd advise you to check the other opportunities first. And book more than 2 days in advance!

The staff are young and friendly; they do their best to manage this three-star hotel.

Location is OK, along the main street in the town's center, across the nice Santo Domingo Church. However, there are other hotels closer to the bus station.

Our room was poorly sound-proofed, on our first morning our rest was disturbed by irritatingly loud guests.

Compared to the rest of the region, San Cristobal is a pretty cold town due to its altitude of almost 2200 meters. The hotel has a nice patio, but the sunlight doesn't manage to warm up the room.

The shower was very cold too. Strange, because the sink water was hot. And the shower had a plastic smell, probably due to a new plastic shower curtain?

Our room had enough space and cubboards for putting your stuff, but not enough for a lazy chair; only a small dark-wooden desk. So we couldn't really sit comfortably reading a book, unless on the bed.

We paid 584 pesos for a two-person bed room per night.
Breakfast is not included in the price; the hotel has a small restaurant. Its internet computers are more expensive than others in town.
Visa credit cards accepted.

  • Liked — reception & cleanliness
  • Disliked — cold shower
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank woete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Palace SCLC Hotel & Brewery
Palace SCLC Hotel & Brewery
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Santuario del Alba
Hotel & Spa Santuario del Alba
#45 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#56 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#38 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#41 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mision Colonial
Hotel Mision Colonial
#32 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo

Property: Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo
Address: Avenida General Utrilla # 35, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing