We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Montetaxco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montetaxco
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent 3 days at this gorgeous hotel and we love it. The prices for low season are very good $1350 pesos per night. It includes an excellent breakfast with chilaquiles or eggs.

The rooms are very clean and they have been modernize. The only complain was that the TV had problems with the quality of the images. I mean the TVs are brand new LCDs but the cable connection was having problems. But it was not such a problem because we just watched television while getting ready to get out and enjoy Taxco. I tried the SPA and it was good a little bit expensive in my opinion but good.

The only real complain is that we had to pay for the TELEFERICO even though we were guest at the hotel, I believe if you are staying at the hotel they could waiver the teleferico fee.

Apart from that everything was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you so much for your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had such a great experience with us.
For us, it is really important all the opinions in order to improve every day. Thanks for spending part of your time writing this comment.
Indeed, we had a problem with all the TV's. The Cable Company is working on fix the problem. Also we want to let you know, that know we are having new promotions with the cable car included.

Thank you so much for your comment and we hope to see you soon.
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

When Mexican hotels want to give great service they are hard to beat. Montetaxco does. I would rate it up there with the Pamilla in Cabo. Location,view,comfort,staff it has it all. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Anyone who complains about the buffet needs to stay where they come from. Its Mexican. Great mexican,hand made tortillas. Cool nights needed their heated pool. Just right. Well maintained. Its not new. Taxco is colonial. Thank god Holiday Inn hasant put a box in this town. Going back in August.

Room Tip: All rooms have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you so much for your comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had such a great experience with us and that you enjoyed our mexican food. For us, it is really important all the opinions in order to improve every day. Thanks for spending part of your time writing this comment and recommend us.
We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have come to Taxco on an average of once a year or so for the past 20 years and this as our first time to stay at the Monte Taxco. We usually go up on Saturdays, particularly if we have friends or family who are with us for their first trip to Taxco, because Monte Taxco does a big regional Mexican buffet and a little fireworks display (if you have seen it once you have seen it, but it is fun to watch the boys running around lighting things by hand and thinking about what OSHA would say). The best rate I have found always seemed a little high even for Taxco (which seems to be higher priced than most of Mexico). But we were going for our silver wedding anniversary and I thought it was fitting we be in the silver capital of the world and that at least a part of the trip be different than our normal trips to Taxco. So I searched and found Cancun Steve (http://www.cancunsteve.com/) who got us a rate well below anything I had ever found.
If you have never traveled in Mexico it is hard to get across the differences in accommodations there and in the United States. Monte Taxco Resort is a beautiful place. It is build on the crest of Monte Taxco and has a nine hole golf course, teliferico (cable car), horse rental, and at one time was probably a world class resort. It is still a very nice hotel. Rooms are about average as far as size. The bed was VERY hard (my wife insisted we were sleeping on the box springs and somewhere else in the hotel was our mattress). But the balcony was FANTASTIC. From what I could tell every room has a breathtaking view of the city of Taxco. I know ours did. And in the morning the fog had descended on the city and as you looked across with the clouds below you words cannot describe what you see and feel.
The hotel is isolated, and therefore pretty much self contained. There are restaurants, silver shops, gift shops, convenience stores. You name it, it is up on the hill. But there is a price for convenience. For about $3 you can take a taxi into town. The trip down the hill is NOT for the feint at heart. And driving in Taxco is an experience (you are better to let the professionals do it). The streets are stone, they are narrow and have grades over 40 degrees in many places, as well as people parked on both sides. You can take the teleferico down the mountain and take the collective (public transportation) to the Zocolo for about 50 cents.
The food at the restaurants is pricey, but good. And room service is at pretty much the menu price plus 15% tip added (we usually tipped on top of that). The staff is friendly. Some speak English, but are reluctant to do it. We noticed many of the older staff we have met over the years were not around this trip and some of the younger waiters in the restaurant seemed less gracious and pleased to be serving. They were not as proactive in caring for guests as their older counter parts, but when asked would accommodate.
The place is usually packed on weekends as tours come through with tourist from all over Mexico and the world. By Sunday night most were gone and early in the week the place was almost empty. I do not know if that holds true year round.
I think everyone who comes to Taxco should make it to the Monte Taxco at least once if they are in Taxco. We found it a very congenial place to stay and are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billybob76511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion about your visit to Montetaxco.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had such a great experience with us.
For us, it is really important all the opinions in order to improve every day.
We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you are expecting a 5 star luxury resort then think again. This place would be that if it was brand new but Taxco is a mountain mining town in the middle of nowhere. That's the appeal. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but old and thats ok. The food was nothing to write home about but it was tasty and filling and after a day walking the hilly streets of the town it fills a you up and it's quite tasty. The staff are very helpful and if you treat them well they will use there contacts around town to get you the best deals on silver goods which is after all why you are here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler-Tim-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion about your visit to Montetaxco.
For us, it is really important all the opinions in order to improve every day.
Now we are remodeling the hotel and changing the old furniture in order to have a nicer place for all our customers.
We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have been to Taxco many times but never stayed over for the night,so this time I decide to try the best rated hotel and was not disapointed.
This hotel is famous for being located at the top of a small mountain (or a large hill, whatever you want to call it,) so the main attraction here are the breathtaking views of Taxco and the aerial tram. Many locals and tourist alike come to this hotel just for the tram fly or to eat at one of the restaurants with magnificents views of the town.
It has a nice outdor swimming pool and some restaurants and bars. The food and drinks are a bit expensive, but being far from everything it seems like a good choice getting a reservation with lunch or dinner included. Most of the satff is very professional and friendly.
Rooms are clean and some of them with balconies to enjoy the view. Forniture and bathrooms could use a renovation.
If you want to go to downtown, you can take a 50 pesos taxi. Another way is to take the aerial tram down and then walk 30 minutes trought steep stone streets, is a nice way to experience Taxco.
Since is my first stay in Taxco I can not make comparisons with other hotels, but only downsides were that rooms are a bit noisy with people walking down the aisle and that they ran out of pool towels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-L-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion about your visit to Montetaxco.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had such a great experience with us.
For us, it is really important all the opinions in order to improve every day.
Now, we are remodelling and changing old furniture.
We hope to see you again soon.
Greetings to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

It was an exciting trip to Taxco, we spent a complete week in the hotel, fortunately in that time was the essay of the Miss Universe context, so we have the opportunity to watch them in their activities. From the hotel you have a beautiful seeing of the city, becuase it is located at the top of the mountain. They have a funicular to transport guests from the hotel to the parking lot... you have a sensation of flying.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelangelof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion about your stay in Montetaxco.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations and you spent such a great time.
For us it is important to know every comment of all our guests.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is located a the top of the hill which is why it has a magnificent view of Taxco. Love the place. Spent one night but the pool looked so great and the restaurant food was very good. Our package included dinner, breakfast and the funicular ride and it was a great deal. Walked around town through all the silver stores but the best deals were in the market.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you very much for your opinion about your stay in Montetaxco.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations and you spent such a great time.
For us it is important to know every comment of all our guests.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#5 of 24 in Taxco
324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Pueblo Lindo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
0.8 mi away
Posada de la Mision
Posada de la Mision
#18 of 24 in Taxco
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#4 of 24 in Taxco
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montetaxco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montetaxco

Address: Calle Alfredo Checa Curi s/n | Lomas de Taxco, Taxco 40210, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Montetaxco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montetaxco is a hotel inspired by the stunning natural and colonial scenarios of Taxco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Montetaxco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing