We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay and amazing Mexican buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Montetaxco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montetaxco
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay and amazing Mexican buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile


We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and which had great service. We had an incredible view of taxco from our hotel room. This is not a high end Mexican hotel, but a great value and probably one of the best hotels in taxco.

We especially like the Mexican breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant in which everything was homemade. Wonderful beans, salsa verde, and chiliquillas. The sweet breads were very delicious and fresh with an amazing variety. The juices fresh squeezed.

The hotel is in a gated community and we walked around safely and visited some small Mexican shops and the kids rode some ponies.

This hotel is 15 minutes out of town and a 50 peso taxi ride up a steep and bumpy ride.

We had some noisy neighbor and the noise seemed to travel through the walls, however after a call to the front desk, they quieted down.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1kman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    162
    62
    32
    22
See reviews for
163
175
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in Montetaxco as one of the most common and well known hotel in this town. The hotel looks old but in a good condition. The view is marvelous but I think the price is a little up for the hotel (Paid around $200 US per night). The rooms are ok and the food is barely average. The buffet is not that good. The service is average also. I think you could get something much better for this prices. The good thing is that they have a direct access to the lift that takes you to the town.

Room Tip: The panoramic rooms are a little more expensive... I'm uploading pictures of the balcony view. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Egremont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited the hotel during Semana Santa. Not necessarily a good idea unless you have kids. When we arrived we walked past the pool and almost could not see the water as there were that many people in the pool.
The rooms were very nice and views were simply INCREDIBLE !!!!
The food is very average and the service is TERRIBLE. Waiters seem to be more interested in talking with each other than helping the guests.
The breakfast buffet ws the one bright spot in the food.
The front desk is very nice and quite helpful.
The so called Gold Course was a joke !!!
All the grass was brown and I was told that they did not have a watering system. The so called putting surface was more like other courses fairway.
I guess if you never played golf this would be OK !!
Overall we had a pleasant experience especially when most people left on Sunday.
Oh my wife had a massage scheduled. When she went to the massage area the door was padlocked and although she had many keys no of them worked. They were extremely nice in trying to reschedule it. They even sent us a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest.

First of all, thank you very much for your comment about your stay in Montetaxco.We are really concerned about all comments in order to improve everyday.

About your comments we really want to tell you we are working on all the issues you've mentioned about the waiters in the Restaurant, the Golf Course and the Spa.
Your review is very important for us so that we can give better service to all our guests.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The placar was great, every room has a beautiful view of Taxco at a good location. To be able to go to the city you need to take a taxi that will cost around 50 pesos or a combination of cable car and taxi (85 pesos for the round trip on the cable car and 25 on the taxi)
I think this is a great place to spend a relax weekend with family, there a many activities for kids

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bargianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment. We are really glad you spent such a great time with us. We hope to see you soon and again thank you very much for your preference with Montetaxco.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We arrived by motorcycle. The road up from the highway was daunting for a fully loaded motorcycle, but we went up and down twice without incident. The room was OK, the view was terrific. I could get wifi in the room, but the desk staff said that it was only receivable near the lobby.
I had two of the best dinners I have ever had in Mexico at the restaurant at the hotel - very delicious and expertly presented by Tony Flores, waiter who has worked there for 33 years. Tony really made the stay so much better. It's uncommon to have wait staff present the menu and the meals as expertly as Tony did.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Bill.

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay in Montetaxco.
We are really glad you visit us and we really hope to have you back very soon.

We have informed to Mr Tony Flores about your congratulation.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed on March 12-13. When we checked in reception gave us a room on a floor of the hotel that was undergoing major construction. There was construction noise, dust, and loud music. There was dust all over the stairs, in the halls, and elevators - a total mess! Also, the room we were given was very outdated and musty. When we returned to the front desk, reception treated us poorly when we asked for a different room. We noticed that there were no cars in the parking lot and all the key cubby holes at reception were full. The hotel was clearly empty. We finally got a better room, but it took some arguing to get it done. After spending the day and evening in town we returned to the hotel at 10:30pm. The construction crew were still working and making noise and dust. We returned to our room and tried to order two piña coladas and two waters. We were told that room service closes at 10:00pm. Construction all night, service ends at 10:00!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We went to reception to ask for two waters. They sent us to to restaurant, which was still open, but was not serving food. The restaurant guy said we can get water from reception. We told him they sent us to him. He called them and sent us back. They told us there is no water, and we have to catch a taxi to town to buy water. There were three people working at reception, two doing nothing. After five minutes of negotiating, they finally agreed to get us water. WATER!! We had to negotiate for water!! The bell hop went to get the water and returned in less than a minute. Water was clearly readily available. The guy at reception rudely demanded 20 pesos for the water. I paid and he filled out a lengthily receipt which I had to sign. By that time I was so annoyed I pushed it back at him when slid it across the reception desk to me. There is a reason that this hotel is empty. The staff have no clue about customer service. If three reception workers can't manage a customer request for water, you have hit rock bottom in hotel customer service!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colandfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay in Hotel Montetaxco.
We are really sorry about all problems you had during your visit.
The reason why it was noisy during your stay was because we were working on remodelling certain guest rooms in order to offer an even better service, we are really sorry about that.
In our service, we include 2 free bottles of water per night paid, if you needed more you had to pay for those bottles like any other hotel.
Effectively we have room service until 10:00 pm, we are going to consider offering more hours of service. we are sorry for your stay and we hope we can compensate the bad experience.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Monte Taxco is a classic of taxco with its lift from the town up to the mountain. Food is not great and the rooms could be moderned up a bit. however for the rustic feel of Taxco this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montetaxco, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Mr. Jorge.

Thanks for your comment about your recent stay in Montetaxco. We are going to take in consideration all the suggestions in order to improve our service.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#5 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Cantera y Plata Hotel Boutique
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
0.8 mi away
Posada de la Mision
Posada de la Mision
#19 of 24 in Taxco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montetaxco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montetaxco

Property: Hotel Montetaxco
Address: Calle Alfredo Checa Curi s/n | Lomas de Taxco, Taxco 40210, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Montetaxco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montetaxco is a hotel inspired by the stunning natural and colonial scenarios of Taxco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Montetaxco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing