We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well..”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well..”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We could say a lot of things about this hotel. But my opinion is, that if you are staying 1-2 nights, it is good. Yeah, for the price you should have more facilities, but you are paying the view also, you know how it works. this hotel is romantinc, and i am not a romantic person. the view is spectacular. this could be one of the best hotels in Taxco. We liked it, it has its own magic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    17
    8
    21
See reviews for
14
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It’s one of the oldest hotels in Taxco; it is composed of several buildings perched on a mountain cliff, just in the centre of the town. The view from most rooms is absolutely breathtaking. The hotel has some reputation, since lots of famous people stayed here in the past. The hotel compares with a European 2 stars of modest quality; nonetheless, I have given to it the notation “average”, because in Taxco it is really in the average (see other Tripadvisor reviews).

Different room types are available: some, in the upper building, have wonderful views and even a large private balcony, others have not even a window. It is better not to book; walking-in allows one to choose an appropriate room and, if no appropriate room is available, allows instant walk-out.

Positive things: views are extraordinary; rooms are very large; there is no traffic noise (at a difference from most hotels in Taxco); there are no noisy pubs in the vicinity (at a difference from several hotels in Taxco); there is no internal “patio”, a place where unpredicted “fiestas” may take place or where crude guests can make a din until the wee hours, keeping all the hotel awake (a quite common occurrence in Taxco); the location is very central (200 metres from the Plazuela San Juan, the heart of the town); price is low (I paid 30 € per night, without breakfast); there is beautiful tropical vegetation throughout the hotel property and even on your balcony.

Negative things: infrastructure is old and rudimentary; reception is staffed by one person only, and is often closed; there is no telephone in the room; TV has only two channels in spanish; hot water is available only after 10 minutes flushing; bed sheets are too small and with some holes; there is no A/C and no fan (but the rooms in the upper floors are airy and fresh); the stairs are very steep and are outdoors; there are no individual safes boxes, therefore your valuable will be packed into an envelope and stored in the big safe of the hotel.

Neither positive nor negative: the furniture and the fixtures are sturdy and made of solid wood, like in the mountain lodges of the past; many guests wrote inside the cupboard and the drawers elaborate accounts of their stay; many of the authors were honeymooners, so their comments were mostly enthusiastic and, in some case, very private.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs in the upper building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Polo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

when we arrived and saw the limited facilities of the hotel we decided that the room was acceptable, (we had the towels changed for some new ones) the view fantastic and the ambiance (sans the comforts we are used to, i.e internet, phone, room service, etc) the balcony privacy and view made up for the other shortcomings. While the price was attractive, the value is not yet there until de remodeling is finished (2015?)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricRojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taxco hotels

Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We chose this hotel for it's location high up on a hill and also an older Mexican property. It is unfortunate that it is in ruins. The furniture in the sitting room or our suite is colonial and needs repair, the bed was okay but damp and smelly. It was a miracle to bathe as the shower head was broken and the taps on the sink did not work. If you like older Mexican hotels this is an interesting model with a great view of the city, but check the room carefully to make sure everything including the TV works...

Room Tip: Check room carefully before commiting to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LuizadelaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

From the outside the place look like abandon. what a pity cause it would have a great potential. Really old rooms not remodeled. The sheets and towels old and broken. The concierge is friendly but looks like he doesn't know why you are there
The only thing to save, the balcony with the wonderful view over taxco and the cathedral with the stars on top at night. Very romantic for a couple of students in a road trip...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I would probably not stay there even for free, you would have to pay me to stay there again.
The hotel is old, damp and smelly, I guess if you wanted to look for ghosts or travel back in time, this would make a great location.
The rooms were old, in need of repair, the shower didn't work properly and on top of that the toilet neither, no hot water, bugs and spiders (not heard of Raid Max, I'm afraid).
My wife laughed at me for paying in advanced, plus the fact that it is not cheap, it was $600 pesos, it is lunacy, you can get a much better hotel elsewhere.
The sad part is that the hotel has potential, it has grace and the location is just perfect, sad part is the owners net it go to a complete waist, too bad, still you feel somehow in the "Hotel California" from the "Eagles" song.
But why somebody in their proper mindset would stay here defies logic and any other possible explanation, it was a very bad experience, I think I can recommend this place only to people whom I not dislike but hate.

Room Tip: Yes don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pelu_juarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 617 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were looking for a place in the hills, and found this ruin, picked room 48, corner balcon hi up. We agreed no wifi, no telephone and no modern conveniences would be compensated by the excellent view, but holy vaca de Taxco santo, the water was icy, the shower head broke out of the wall, the doors wont shut .... Giant mosquitos navigating frivolously thru the room .... So, we evacuated and then the end of our vacation began....to spare you the details,just stay AWAAAAY!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cineasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real de San Diego
Hotel Real de San Diego
#13 of 24 in Taxco
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#20 of 24 in Taxco
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mi Casita
Hotel Mi Casita
#4 of 24 in Taxco
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#11 of 24 in Taxco
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada de San Javier
Posada de San Javier
#10 of 24 in Taxco
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Carlos J Nibbi no 5 y 7, Taxco 40230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Hotel Taxco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing