We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“+ &-”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mi Casita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casita
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“+ &-”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location unfortunately we had a bad experience, my husbands IPod was stolen. I confronted the person who cleaned the room-he denied it of coarse. Called management and gave me the runaround. Disappointed and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    67
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in Mi Casita in the end of December 2011 for 3 nights and I can say only good things about this hotel. There are different rooms with some excellent views and balconies, also for 2 nights we moved to a lovely apartment with it's own kitchen and quiet bedroom. Traffic noise can be problem in some of the rooms (general problem in Taxco), but most of the rooms are quiet and lovely. Owner of the hotel is a wonderful Lady, who speaks good English and who helped us with hotel bookings and information about travelling in Mexico. Also there is sweet souvenir shop with handicraft from different parts of Mexico.

Room Tip: room nr 3 is with great view and there you can get a good sleep, also apartment nr 12 if you would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very nice small hotel, our room was well decorated. Location in the center of Taxco is very convenient. Staff is friendly. There is a small boutique in the reception.
The bathroom could be in a better condition (shower was not running very well).
Breakfast may be a little light for those who like a big continental breakfast.
Price is fair.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjiFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is very clean, well maintained, well-located and reasonably attractive. It's a bit quirky and quite quaint too. For me, if there was a problem, it was the expectation of something exceptional (Lonely Planet even call this hotel a 'gem' and give it 'Our Pick' status in their Mid-range category). The rooms are nice enough but quite small and nothing incredible by Mexican standards, and the picturesque views of the town from balcony outside the lower level rooms(where we stayed - which is actually the first floor) first overlook a large, flat, grey, undecorated roof dotted with air conditioning units and crossed with cables. There are two higher floors, and the higher you go the more of the town and the less of the roof you'll see. We understood the rooms were very individually decorated, but they didn't seem to be. Not distinctively so anyway. Spiral staircase access to the top floors is admittedly super-quaint, and probably leads to a better overall exerience of the hotel too. Balcony flowers and furniture are pleasant. The staff are cooperative enough when prompted, though they're unlikely to strike up a conversation with you. Breakfast - good coffee, juice and a single (admittedly very, very tasty) sweet bread bun - is at a communal table in the reception area. Felt a bid odd when the staff had finished serving and sat down on the sofa right next to us to talk amongst themselves. 'Mi casita' of course means 'my little house' and we felt a bit like we were, indeed, in their house. Overall, in our experience at least, there's absolutely nothing to complain about at Mi Casita, but nothing to rave about either. I've stayed in many more memorable places in Mexico. While in Taxco we wandered into the cool, patio courtyard of one of our other potential accommodation choices to see how it compared and both immediately concluded we wished we had booked there instead. It just somehow seemed more genuinely welcoming.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonquiere, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Cosy, clean, friendly staff, the rooms give onto a sunny and green terrace. We paid the same price or more in many other hotels during our vacation but we think this was the best value for our money. This one was definitely love at first sight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbelle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Nice place, they gave us one of the best rooms on the top floor, with 3 big beds and a nice vieuw over the beautiful city of Taxco. Breakfast was included but they actually didn't have a proper space for that, there was one table for 6 so we had to join others and if there were more than 6 at the same time they had a problem. Anyway I always think included breakfast is not the best, I like to have a choice. A lot of noise is coming from the street from the ever present Volkswagen beatles, the only cars that can handle the small climbing streets apparently, so if you have a problem with that, try something else. Other than that, I enjoyed our stay here very much. Wifi available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We ended up staying here for two of three nights we spent in Taxco.

The hotel was OK, but having to be buzzed both in and out by unseen staff, seemed odd. Our room was on the top level, up a tiny spiral staircase. It wasn't easy to get up and down with our backpacks, but it did mean that we had our own private balcony with a beautiful view (most places have views in Taxco). We didn't use it much because of the rain (it wasn't covered) and because the seating wasn't comfortable.

The room itself was small and smelled musty. It also wasn't very clean. Although it was handy to find the used map in our room, I really didn't have a use for the old comb.

The staff wasn't what you'd call friendly or welcoming. For a smallish B&B, that was disappointing.

Whatever you do, don't expect a real 'breakfast'. Coffee with a sweet bun and orange juice (only for some guests it seemed), wasn't what I'd consider satisfying.

For our last night we moved to Hotel Los Arcos, which we both preferred.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayleePaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada de San Javier
Posada de San Javier
#10 of 24 in Taxco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emilia
Hotel Emilia
#12 of 24 in Taxco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casita

Property: Hotel Mi Casita
Address: Calle Altos de Redondo 1 | Colonia Centro, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mi Casita, is the former house of Mexican fashion designer Tachi Castillo. Facing the 'Casa Borda', the family house turned hotel / Bed and Breakfast is located above the Centro Joyero, where the 'Taller de Los Castillo' once stood, in the heart of the historic downtown of Taxco, the world famous 'Silver City'. As featured in 'Condé Nast Traveler - Room with a View', Hotel Mi Casita offers breath-taking views of the church of Santa Prisca from every room. All rooms are individually decorated in Mexican-style, featuring flat screen TV, private bathroom, free WI-FI, and complimentary continental breakfast. We at Hotel Mi Casita, want to share the charm of a real Mexican home with our visitors. Hotel Mi Casita - Su Casa en Taxco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mi Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing