We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice folks, perfect location.”
Review of Hotel Mi Casita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mi Casita
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice folks, perfect location.”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We rented the top-floor 'suite' and I'd recommend this room even if you don't need the extra bed. The private balcony is worth the extra few pesos. Cool older place with lots of great antiques in the rooms. The cathedral, ATM, awesome pozole restaurant, the market and ALL the silver shops are only a few hundred yards from the hotel. Relaxed B & B vibe and the woman who runs the place speaks english very well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    68
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Three of us stayed at the Hotel Mi Casita and enjoyed a lovely sojourn. We traveled from Mexico City to find that the tasteful decoration and good facilities added to our appreciation of the wonderful Santa Prisca Parish Church, built in the 18th century, only a short walk away.

The balcony afforded a wonderful view for us when the hills demanded we rest a bit. With an adult son with us we appreciated the

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shep38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This review is quite overdue, but nevertheless worth sharing.
A taxi driver took us from the bus station to this hotel, and although I am quite sceptic for this kind of suggestions; it turned out to be a good one.
Our room was situated at the top of the hotel, so we had a lovely view over Taxco. The room was clean and romantic, the price just right and (for mexican standards) a quite healthy breakfast.
I highly recomend this hotel, except if you have trouble climbing stairs an steep streets.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just returned from a six night stay at Mi Casita and couldn't wait to write a reveiw. I loved this charming hotel and hope to stay there again. Once a private residence, the rooms feel homey and comfortable with unique furnishings and decor that has obviously been collected over the years. Just around the corner from the zocolo, the location was ideal. Having researched other hotels prior to our visit, I was so glad we chose Mi Casita as it has the best location in town. The hotel is clean, secure and has a great view of the church and city. it feels like you are staying in a private residence. The staff was wonderful as well. They were always around so we felt safe and were there to help us with our every need. The manager, Lucy, really made our stay memorable. She went above and beyond to help us with travel arrangements, recommend sites to see and tell us wonderful stories about her childhood here at the house and in Taxco. I truly hope to be able to go and visit her, Mi Casita and Taxco again. If you stay here you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: There are various sized rooms, if you have a family there are two rooms that would be perfect and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMeeOhMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife visited Taxco for just two days. We search around few hotels and this one was the one that automatically catch our eye. The staff was very nice they allow us to see every single room they had avalibe before renting it. Very nice location the main cathedral is visible from the balcony which is located at the entrance of the room we stay in. The whole hotel just looks nicely decorated in a rustic like charm. Our room was in number 2 for two people. The room was very clean, comfy bed for two but would love to see 4 pillows instead of 3, we had a cable tv that worked as well a fan which is a huge plus for the hot city. The shower was very nice with very good water pressure as well clean towels. The breakfast that was included in the price is pretty good, we had tea or coffee choices, orange juice, still hot and toasted pastry bread with butter and or marmalade. The hotel alone as well the location of it will make us consider to visit Taxco once again for our vacations. I think one of the great hotels in Texco if not one of the best especially for its price.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Krzysztof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is in a great location unfortunately we had a bad experience, my husbands IPod was stolen. I confronted the person who cleaned the room-he denied it of coarse. Called management and gave me the runaround. Disappointed and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed in Mi Casita in the end of December 2011 for 3 nights and I can say only good things about this hotel. There are different rooms with some excellent views and balconies, also for 2 nights we moved to a lovely apartment with it's own kitchen and quiet bedroom. Traffic noise can be problem in some of the rooms (general problem in Taxco), but most of the rooms are quiet and lovely. Owner of the hotel is a wonderful Lady, who speaks good English and who helped us with hotel bookings and information about travelling in Mexico. Also there is sweet souvenir shop with handicraft from different parts of Mexico.

Room Tip: room nr 3 is with great view and there you can get a good sleep, also apartment nr 12 if you would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taxco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montetaxco
Hotel Montetaxco
#2 of 24 in Taxco
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#1 of 24 in Taxco
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agua Escondida
Hotel Agua Escondida
#6 of 24 in Taxco
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Prisca
Santa Prisca
#7 of 24 in Taxco
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Pueblo Lindo
0.1 mi away
Posada de San Javier
Posada de San Javier
#10 of 24 in Taxco
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mi Casita

Property: Hotel Mi Casita
Address: Calle Altos de Redondo 1 | Colonia Centro, Taxco 40200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mi Casita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mi Casita, is the former house of Mexican fashion designer Tachi Castillo. Facing the 'Casa Borda', the family house turned hotel / Bed and Breakfast is located above the Centro Joyero, where the 'Taller de Los Castillo' once stood, in the heart of the historic downtown of Taxco, the world famous 'Silver City'. As featured in 'Condé Nast Traveler - Room with a View', Hotel Mi Casita offers breath-taking views of the church of Santa Prisca from every room. All rooms are individually decorated in Mexican-style, featuring flat screen TV, private bathroom, free WI-FI, and complimentary continental breakfast. We at Hotel Mi Casita, want to share the charm of a real Mexican home with our visitors. Hotel Mi Casita - Su Casa en Taxco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mi Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing