We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try it! You won't regret it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mardel

Mardel
Reserve with OpenTable
Mardel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 178 Restaurants in Veracruz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The combination of quality and experience offered at El Gaucho Restaurant and a unique view of the Bay of Veracruz combine to create Mardel. The restaurant offers seafood specialties, argentinean grill and internationally influenced dishes with local and traditional roots.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Try it! You won't regret it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth the visit. The food is very good. A little bit more expensive than others but its worth it. This ain't a Palapa restaurant. I went on a Friday night and what blew my mind was 3 guys playing Jazz. OMG you'll be amazed of how great they play. They play there only Fridays. Saturdays I think is some kind of trio. You should ask depending on the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    37
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent rib eye for a sports bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Worth visiting if you are only interested on a perfectly cooked and flavorful stake, while watching a soccer match, because everything else on the place including service and ambience goes from regular to poor.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Queica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good steak; everything else sub-par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Mardel is a newish restaurant located right on the sea. The window tables afford pleasant views of the sea. The decor is a mish-mash, as if the restaurant cannot decide for 19th-century elegance or 20th-century kitsch, and from the number of televisions turned to sports you might think it a sports bar. No one was at the door to greet us. I ordered a lemonade which I had to send back three times, first because it lacked both lemon and sugar, second becuse it was made with sparkling rather than still water, and third because it was tepid and had only two small pieces of ice floating at the top. I ordered a steak and my friend ordered ravioli. My steak was accompanied by a salad that a greasy spoon would be ashamed to serve--large chunks of lettuce, shredded onions and one lonely wedge of tomato with an uninteresting oil and vinegar dressing. My order arrived ten minutes before my friend's--inexcusable in a restaurant with pretensions to elegance. My steak was excellent--perfectly cooked, tender, and flavorful. My friend's ravioli when it finally arrived was doughy and relatively flavorless. After the meal, we finally had to go find the waiter to ask him to bring the bill. He was watching a football game. This restaurant is too high-priced to accept thjis kind of sloppiness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillVincent74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Food- Best Rib Eye we've ever had. It was so soft and juicy we were absolutely impressed. Salmon: It was excellent, larger-than-usual portion, juicy and flavorful too. Lasagna: It was good, but compared to the previous 2 dishes there was no point of comparison.

Ambiance: Restaurant sits on the sea, so you get during the day one of the most beautiful views in the city. During the night it's really cozy and elegant.

Prices: Very reasonable. A fraction of what we paid at el cacharrito for much better food and service.

Drinks: On Friday evenings they have some wines on special. For $20 USD we had a fantastic bottle of Mexican wine, also the best Mexican wine we have tasted (and we attend wine tastings several times a year)

Service: Perfect, friendly and helpful without being overwhelming.

Tip: On Friday nights they have live music which was also great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

The ribeye was the best I ever had! Great service from Victor, our host. Wonderful view. We have been there three times now and have enjoyed each visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank apperceive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mardel also viewed

 
Veracruz, Veracruz
Veracruz, Veracruz
 

Been to Mardel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing