We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price. Needs renovation.”
Review of Mar Y Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Y Tierra
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here on a diving trip to Veracruz. As others have mentioned, Veracruz is a commercial port and not a tourist destination, and the beach is not very nice. On the other hand, it's great for diving and the weather is lovely. The hotel has a wonderful location, right on the seafront and within walking distance of the town centre. Our rooms were clean, but really need sprucing up. The greeny-yellow color scheme did not help much. We were unlucky and got a room with no view, and it felt pretty stuffy especially at night (I'm not a A.C. fan and like to have the window open, but there was a really loud sound from a generator/pump outside). We had a continental breakfast included, which was basically coffee, a little fruit, and hard pastries. The rooftop pool is really nice and as it stays open late, we were able to go up for a swim in the evening when the water was delicious. That was great. Service was fine, if a little abrupt in the restaurant for breakfast. All in all, for the price I think you get value for money. With a little modernisation of the rooms and improvement of breakfast (nicer pastries!) I would give this 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibber16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

stayed here many time over several years and last time was my very last time. The place gets no attention and is falling apart. Need tlc. Even asking for the more expensive newer section, room was not nice and the whole hotel is not good any longer...time for a change

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

During my stay at this hotel there was a youth soccer league also staying there. This was not good. The kids were very loud, running around the hallway, jumping off of the hot tub into the pool, etc. We had an inside room. It was extremely small with one window in the bathroom facing other bathrooms. It was located near the malecon, but quite the walk away from the beach where you would want to lounge. The pool was nice on the rooftop. This hotel is a decent place to sleep

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_K-of_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

This hotel is located near Malecon in Veracruz.

The lobby looks "nice", the restaurant is nice decorated and they cook well.

The room is one of the worst I have ever stayed. The bed totally unconfortable, when you enter the bathroom you have this unpleasant sensation of saying "is this clean enough so I can take a bath here?".

I can't say you to think twice if you want to pass a night at this hotel, I only can tell you "Forget about it".

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tecouag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2007

I stayed here after a LONG drive from Colorado to Veracruz in our Subaru. We had a shoestring budget and I went with my husband and our friend Yukiko, a college friend from Shikoku Japan. I did not go in 2003 I went in 2000 but could not find that year. Anyway, she (Yukiko) did not speak any Spanish, and we translated for her. Since we were on a tight budget we had to stay at an inexpensive hotel with good parking. This was it.

It was basic but clean and had a little balcony that let in the sea air. We knew Veracruz is not a tourist destination. It is mostly the Mexican navy's important port and the gulf waters are warm but murky and can't compare in any way with the Caribbean's sparkling turquoise beaches like in Cancun, or in Culebra, Fajardo Puerto Rico for example. What is super attractive about Veracruz are its people!! If you speak Spanish, they are warm, open, funny, hard working, social and just beautiful! I love the jarochos with all my heart.

I did not hang around this hotel room all day. I was sightseeing. But the owners were Spaniards who were extremely friendly and so were the staff. Yukiko loved the fresh flowers and the ice cream parlors near the malecon. The marimba bands and the dancing on Tuesdays or Thursdays were a hit. May I also say finding excellent seafood dishes were a breeze and the jarochos always serve the meals with either white little loaves of bread or tortillas. I liked the cheap, clean rooms and the friendly locals. Remember to visit the naval museum and speak to the Museum guides in Spanish about Mexican Naval history. Veracruz is not a tourist mecca. It is really about the Mexicans themselves. I liked the Agustin Lara museum too. The plaza is pretty. The people of this city are SOOOO simpatico! Los quiero de gratis.

  • Stayed: January 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lavidadeoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2004

The low price wasn't worth the stay. Yucky mattress with pillows stuffed with foam chunks. Nice location though too bad Gulf water's heavily polluted. Had slow, poor service in hotel's restaurant the time I went. Pool on roof seemed nice. Look around for other hotels unless you don't mind what I considered a "travel motel".

6  Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank alejandro e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baluarte
Hotel Baluarte
#10 of 76 in Veracruz
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Oriente
Hotel & Suites Oriente
#35 of 76 in Veracruz
69 reviews
127.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Veracruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 76 in Veracruz
854 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Veracruz
Hotel Playa Veracruz
#65 of 76 in Veracruz
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#18 of 76 in Veracruz
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Y Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Y Tierra

Address: Cap de Fragata Pedro Sainz de Baranda s/n | Fracc Faros, Veracruz 91709, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range: £20 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mar Y Tierra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Y Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar y Tierra Veracruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing