We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, less than efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a beautiful hotel around the corner from the Zocalo and a few blocks from the Malecon. Check-in was painfully slow with one person working while three others did little to nothing. My room facing the pool on the main floor was too small for the two queen beds so I had difficultly accessing the closet. It also wasn't the cleanest of rooms and was very worn and in need of a face lift. The rooms on the second floor, however, are very spacious and comfortable. Check out was efficient. The internet is good but the hotel printer wasn't working.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the street are more spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Weerobbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to ensure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We feel sorry to learn about the unpleasant experience upon check in, and as the result of your comment, we have addressed these issues with our Front Desk Team. We also apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to the room size. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

We truly thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for your support to our hotel. I hope you will allow us an opportunity to better serve your needs in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

i thought this hotel was nice. the pool was refreshing. the air conditioning was a welcome comfort in the sweltering heat. some of the annoyances of holiday inn-mexico were apparent: have to ask for internet password and a safe lock, only one internet code per room... but it was a good stay. the building itself is historic too - the church next door has hernan cortez granddaughter buried there, apparently. and the holiday in itself was the first nunnery (?) in the country. pretty cool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Frank O. H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2012

i agree with the good things that have been said about the architecture and friendly staff. the location is great and the proximity to buses is also very good. my room was really small with two beds. one king would have been better. the gym really did only have three machines and i do not use a rower or a spinner. the pool attractive, clean, and refreshing. true, there are no washcothes, but plenty of hot water. most experienced travelers carry their own washclothes when visiting three star hotels abroad. i have plenty of bottled water to fill my coffee pot. i had a plumbing problem the second night, and by the time i got back from dinner, it was fixed. staff very knowledgeable about the city. no ants, no bugs, and at least for my room, no noise. read the good and the bad, and remember what you are paying and your great location. like most other reviewers, the charming ambience won me over--a welcome sight after a long day of traveing and a long day in a busy city

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here. This is NOT your typical Holiday Inn.....and that is a good thing. This HI is quite old and historic with old world charm such as hand painted tiles and high ceilings with wooden beams. The couryard was gorgeous and the small pool in the courtyard very refreshing and inviting. Its proximity to Veracruz's main plaza is another plus. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It is almost impossible for me to believe this is the same hotel that was trashed by the March 1 and 19, 2008 and the June 18, 2009 reviews (below). At any rate, my wife and i cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: I am not sure all rooms face the courtyard. If not, ask for such a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

It’s the most unusual Holiday Inn I’ve been to. It’s situated in old colonial building (17 or 18 century), near zocalo. Rooms are pretty big, with very high ceilings and stylized furniture. Breakfast was mostly Mexican (fried bananas, eggs, potatoes, etc). Free WI-FI (you’ve got to get password from reception) was very weak in the room, had to seat in the patio. Free parking. Staff was amazing…The only minor problem was mosquitoes in our room - we had to buy repellent. Overall, had a great stay, would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank doctor1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in March 2010. We had room 105, a gigantic room with 2 double beds, dresser, big TV w/remote, and enough room for a table and 4 chairs or 2 more beds. The floors were tile and the windows overlooked the HI private (free) parking lot. We had a pretty ceramic sink in the bathroom with blue flowers and the sink had hot water.

There are only two floors and all rooms open onto the central courtyard with pool and green space. There is an unmanned business center with large conference table and two free computers and one printer for guest use. I think they also had free Wi-Fi.

The receptionists and other staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is very good . . . almost across the street from the post office and customs house and 2 short blocks from the zocalo.

There are only 2 negatives . . . the lights in the room and bathroom room were so dim, we could hardly see and could not read. This once was a Franciscan monastery and the ceilings are very high . . . and the lights are too high up. We asked to change to a room with better lighting. They did give us a choice of another room, but it was just as dark and a little smaller. BTW, they are in the process of renovating, so hopefully the lighting problem will be addressed.

The other negative is the beds/pillows . . . they are rock hard. We had our own down pillows but we could not overcome the hard beds.

All in all, this is a nice hotel but a little overpriced . . . with taxes (but no breakfast), we paid about $72/nt. Would we stay here again? Probably not . . . we're budget travelers and think we can find something almost as good for about $25 less.

Sandy (in Denton)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.3 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 76 in Veracruz
894 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
0.1 mi away
Veracruz Centro Historico
Veracruz Centro Historico
#3 of 76 in Veracruz
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Diligencias
Gran Hotel Diligencias
#7 of 76 in Veracruz
309 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
#2 of 76 in Veracruz
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Inn Veracruz Malecon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico

Address: Calle Morelos 225 | Intre Juarez y Emparan, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range: £32 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN VERACRUZ-CENTRO HISTORICO, offers excelent services and facilities. Its unique location in the historical Center of Veracruz Port, 10 Km from World Trade Center. Only 3 minutes walking to the principal atraction in Down Town. Also we offer the following services and facilities:* 41 rooms, *4 Suites, * Medical Service * Restaurant 'La Estancia de Boca de Veracruz'* Business Center* Babysitter Service* * Air Conditioning* Safe-deposit box in the room * 2 conventions rooms * Free outdoor parking * TV Satellite Antenna * Laundry and dry cleaning serv. *Gym *Outdoor pool, Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Veracruz - Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Veracruz
Veracruz Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing