We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, great location, efficient and friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Meson del Mar
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Veracruz
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Charming hotel, great location, efficient and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located a couple of blocks from the Zocalo, in the very center of town. The room was big, with colonial charm but all services . America and all the other staff in reception extremely friendly and helpful all the time. Thank you .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miguel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
23
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

I'm Mexican, and every time I read hotel reviews I try to filter those from people who were expecting a fancy Radisson in a small Mexican city. This time, I think I should have not filtered that much.

I chose this hotel because their website made it looks like a fabulous place, with cozy rustic rooms. And it was dirt cheap (350 pesos a night). I was planning on staying there one night on my own, and then a weekend with my parents and fiance a week later.

Let me be clear. The hotel is OK to spend the night. Is it clean? yes, I didn't find cockroaches or lizards. Did it feel good to be in the room? not really. The place was dark and smelled like it hadn't been ventilated in ages. The shower had a curtain bar hand made in a very poor fashion (a couple of rods with bolts looking really unstable), and the curtain itself had been cut out of a piece of plastic which we usually utilize to cover roofs (lona). My room was next to the road, at street level, and not only I could hear all the trucks at night, but the windows were really dirty and of course I couldn't open the curtains to let light in, since I would have become the local attraction to passer-bys.

Their telephone wasn't working (that I think was just bad luck) so I couldn't communicate with my family nor pay with card.

I was willing to give them another chance by maybe asking a room switch for my parents' visit until... I tried to shower the next morning. No hot water. Now, it is sometimes common practice in some hotels in Mexico to cut hot water on a certain schedule, but here, nobody warned me at all. It was really annoying to have to dress up and go out (telephone wasn't working, remember?) to discover an empty front desk. Only until I found the maintenance guy I got my hot water. I would have been embarrassed to make my parents go through this the week after.

I can't imagine having to go through this without speaking Spanish (at the front desk there was a 14 year-old kid in charge that morning).

Finally, when they say the have internet, don't expect it in your room. It's an old desktop in the second floor, good enough for email.

End of the story: I moved to Hawaii Hotel (where I'm writing this from), and even though I'm paying almost twice as much (600 pesos), I have a fabulous room with GREAT view, complimentary agua de horchata and internet in the room.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alemenchaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Meson del Mar. I've traveled through Mexico and stayed at a lot of economical hotels. At this price, I can't imagine anything better and I CAN imagine a whole lot worse. The rooms are much nicer and better-appointed than you would expect for this price. The staff in January of '10 was delightful. The location is great, just 3 blocks from the Plaza Principal and about the same to the Malecon. And even though the rooms facing Calle Zaragosa can be very noisy, the upstairs rooms have double-doors to the terrazas that quiet the room beautifully when closed. It's a great place.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

no critica. perfect service. nice and helpful staff. everything was perfect. nice and clean room. clean bath-room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hienMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Being the author's pick in a Lonely Planet guide made my colleagues and I select this hotel for a stay. The hotel looks quite nice, the rooms are clean and charming. But, as the hotel sits on a busy corner, I guess only a few rooms have adequate windows. We were not in those rooms and noise and fumes from the street came in unfiltered. In the room on the top floor, the airconditioning was crucial for survival, and the water was either cold in the morning, or boiling hot in the afternoon. We had to leave the hotel around 8 to go to our congress, but breakfast was only served from 9 / 9.30!!! We had breakfast once and it was ok. But as a result, we had to spend money every morning having our breakfast somewhere else, while it was included in our hotel price. No other guests appeared to be present in the hotel during our 6 nights stay (only 1 other room was indicated occupied on the pc for some days), leaving the staffmembers to entertain themselves (with very loud TV in the lobby at 6 in the morning some days). The mythical owner Arturo who seems to be one of the most appealing factors of this hotel, never showed up. Only 1 of the staffmembers speaks English well (Samantha, who was only there sporadically). All others do not understand even a word of basic English. Overall, the price of 350/450 was ok for the area compared to other hotels like Colonial, but as we would learn throughout the rest of our journey in Mexico, the Lonely Planet selection of hotels does not guarantee the best night's sleep...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fitzgerald027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

I was at the hotel during hurricane Stan. Under terrible circumstances the staff made sure I was safe, comfortable, and informed. The manager even personally moved my rental car to a safe place to avoid damage from the flooding and brought it back when it was safe to do so. My companion was ill for a couple of days, and the staff kept a steady stream of toast and tea for him without being asked and without charge. I casually mentioned he wasn't feeling well as I went out one day, and they took it from there. The rooms are comfortable and charming, the location excellent, but the service tops anything I've ever experienced. Over the years I've stayed in half a dozen hotels in Veracruz, ranging from a suite at the Emporio to a basic room at the Amparo. Meson de Mar is the only place I will ever stay again. I can't over emphasize how genuinely caring and attentive they were.

  • Liked — Superb personal service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fcocanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Hotel Meson del Mar is a charming boutique hotel in the "Centro Historico" of Veracruz. The building itself used to be a mansion of a Spanish countess, and prior to that, it was a "House of Correction" for women. It is beautifully renovated and furnished and has a little courtyard with a reception area and a restaurant that specializes in seafood. The rooms have double windows, and are quiet and very clean. Internet service offered free (two computers serve clients who do not have their own laptop with them). Breakfast menu has good selections including very good coffee.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Some of them speak English. I enjoy staying there for many reasons; among them are the good location, the comfortable rooms, the friendly atmosphere and the Very Competitive price that includes breakfast. I have been returning to this hotel for several years already.

  • Liked — comfort,location and price
  • Disliked — public areas are not air conditioned. Can be a problem in a hot day.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ploni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Veracruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Mar Y Tierra
Mar Y Tierra
#22 of 80 in Veracruz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emporio Veracruz
Emporio Veracruz
#1 of 80 in Veracruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Veracruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cordoba
Comfort Inn Cordoba
#9 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
Fiesta Americana Veracruz
#2 of 80 in Veracruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Veracruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson del Mar

Property: Hotel Meson del Mar
Address: Calle Esteban Morales No. 543, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meson del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing