We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for lechero” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Cafe La Parroquia

Gran Cafe La Parroquia
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Veracruz
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mashhad, Khorasan, Iran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place for lechero”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

You can find the best Lechero (Mexican traditional coffee drink) in town in this cafe. It's great how the high skilled waiters pour the milk into the coffee cup from half a meter high without splashing even one droplet. The atmosphere is very nice and the big hall is most of the time full of people. Sometimes, if lucky, you can watch Veracruzean dance and music with traditional costumes. You also have the chance to take photos with the dancer. The food is normal but not the best but the lechero is worth going to this place every day. The place is sometimes very crowded and you might be forgotten by the waiters. If you want your milk to be added to the coffee, you should tap your spoon on the glass. If you are still unheard, try it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamshid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    467
    284
    98
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get the coffee, skip the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an institution in Veracruz. They have been her since 1808. I have been married to a Mexican from Veracruz for 20 years and this is always a spot we hit when visiting. The coffee is very good, and it is a huge tradition. It has gotten very expensive by Mexican standards, and the food has become mediocre at best.
I would sill recommend stopping in for a coffee at the location on the Malecon. This is Veracurz tradition. Skip the over priced flavorless food and eat somewhere else. I will say the Guayanbana milkshake was to die for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travloften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

People friendly and a wonderful place; love how they serve the coffee then someone comes with the milk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Love the coffee here... It was so rich and dreamy. I wish I could drink more than one, but if I did I would probably get too shaky.
Services was nice, they pour the coffee and then a guy comes and adds the steaming milk in the glass. It is very fun to watch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have the coffee only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

It's a place where I guess you have to go check it off your list. Coffee is good. Ambience is so-so. DO NOT order food. Mediocre and very overpriced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SloKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Cafe La Parroquia also viewed

 
Veracruz, Veracruz
Veracruz, Veracruz
 
Veracruz, Veracruz
 

Been to Gran Cafe La Parroquia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing