We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden spot in the Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavelands Ecolodges
Ranked #138 of 833 Yucatan Peninsula B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights and absolutely loved it. Amenities are basic. Rooms are original and cozy. Don was a great host and a unique character. Morning coffee with Don was entertaining. His dogs were friendly. Loved being surrounded by nature. We would absolutely stay here again next time we come to the area.

The cenote across the street is nice for a swim (simple and cheap).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutcharbordaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Pros:
- Away from the tourist masses
- Walking distance to the local town, which is also non-touristy, has an ATM, tiendas, restaurants
- Hospitable host, Don gave us the impression he truly cared about enjoying our stay, he even gave us a ride into town when we left! He also told us everything we needed to know about the area and how to get there (we were on foot).
- Cool digs, we got to stay in a freakin' teepee!
- Dogs: two nice dogs that alert you of approaching strangers, makes the grounds feel safer as crime does exist in Mexico...
- Hammocks in caves, a cenote to swim in, a teepee, hammocks not in caves

Cons:
- This is not a 5 star resort. Amenities are basic but get the job done, could use an extra fan for the hot evenings.
- You're in the jungle, there are bugs.

Do you want to stay here? If you're adventurous, and don't mind simple accommodation, this place is awesome. If you like hotels and AC, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

at cavelands in the jungle,in deepest mexico,
the pace of life here can seem very very slow
the days are baking hot, humid quiet and long
the nights are very dark but alive with natures song

in my hammock drinking juice, too and fro i gently swing
listening and looking for all the birds that sing
so many birds and butterflys, so colourful and bright
shimmering and shining in the dappled sun light

surrounded by trees so tall, of the most lushious green
and the most stunning beach that my eyes have ever seen
crystal clear cenotes,with fish that suck your feet
the perfect place to take a dip and escape the intense heat

so much here to see,there are caves to explore
or simply admire the paradise garden thats outside your front door
finding caterpillers and spiders of amazing greens and blue
scorpions,snakes and lizards,and tiny owls too

as well as all the creatures we we also made some friends
some kind wonderful people who made us laugh no end
and our host a guy named renzo, his nationality is dutch
a hard working man who we thank so very much

dispite all my bites,and my burnded peeling face
i have to say i love this well amazing place
at cavelands in the jungle, you will never be alone
and i for one will miss my cabana jungle home

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Decided to stop at Don Renzo's after a short trip backpacking through the Yukatan, as we had yet to see Akumal.
After exiting the highway, we drove through the small town of Chemuyil (small) before finding the place. Just keep going down the road you get off on until it gets bumpy, hang a right, go 50 yards and you can't miss it!

We were greeted by Renzo's dogs (don't worry if Lola jumps through the gate, she only wants to kiss you) and were then quickly greeted by Renzo and shown the place.
I was obviously extremely enticed by the tipi. The thing was huge! 2 very confortable beds, a small table and sofa inside on some astroturf. Renzo was a great host and even showed me a fridge when I mentioned I'd love to keep my beers cold.
When I saw a Mexican 30-minute rainshower on the horizon, I closed up the roof and was quickly met by Renz to make sure it was good to go. The town of Chemuyil is awesome. You'll see a few other tourists (probably from the not-to-far megaresort bahia principe) but there are no little trinket shops etc.

If you're expecting a place where your bags are quickly whisked away by an attentive bellhop (as a previous negative reviewer referenced), the Cavelands may not be for you. But if you are looking for affordable lodging in a great location that feels remote, come to Renzo's!
The tipi is situated a couple hundred yards behind the cabanas and entrance so it felt like we really had the place to ourselves. The small cenote feels amazing and the hammock overlooking it could not be more picturesque. The cave is also super cool. Bathroom facilities were clean. Wish I had more time. 5/5

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyZuesCristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Don Renzo's place. This is the ideal plage to disconnect from the tourist world.
Don Renzo's is helpfull (even when you loose your key of your room at midnight..) and very friendly. He will make you feel at home.
Don't expect to be in a massive 5-stars hotel; but you feel spend 5-stars stay in the jungle in a "cabaña", close to a wonderful beach.
You will get ether a private bathroom, either a common one but very clean.

We spent 3 nights there... and I already miss the hammock ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here, but alas only for one night because our trip was running out. Our cabana was great - big and well designed, with good screens and nets. Going to sleep hearing the jungle was fantastic. The bathrooms and showers were lovely and clean, and yes, fantastic hot shower (unexpected). Renzo was very helpful and very interesting, his dogs are lovely too.
It feels good to be out of the tourist run between Playa and Tulum!
Go!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RaMa1London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent 4 nights camping with our van next to the tepee, it's a very nice place, the bathrooms were very clean. it was very quiet, only with the birds of the jungle, and a cenote just next to us, perfect to relax! we were very happy to find a quiet place in this very touristic region. renzo was very nice with us, and helpful to know what to do around. i recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yucatan Peninsula hotels
177.7 mi away
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa
126.3 mi away
Cabanas Ecoturisticas El Chital
Cabanas Ecoturisticas El Chital
#123 of 837 in Quintana Roo
39 reviews
143.1 mi away
Hacienda Tepich Casa Vargas
Hacienda Tepich Casa Vargas
#49 of 192 in Yucatan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.4 mi away
Residence La Coccinella
Residence La Coccinella
#413 of 837 in Quintana Roo
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Los Pianos
Casa De Los Pianos
#103 of 192 in Yucatan
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pueblo Maya
#526 of 837 in Quintana Roo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavelands Ecolodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavelands Ecolodges

Address: Predio El Venado,MZA,50,Lote 6 Frac.Chemuyil Tulum Q.roo | Chemuyil, 77760, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Yucatan Peninsula
Price Range: £29 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavelands is a small hotel in the jungle with 4 maya style cabanas There are 3 cabanas with a double bed and shared toilets and showers and is like a suite with one double bed and two singles. Its located near a small mayan village ,cenotes and a natural beach nearby (1 mile).Its away from the mass tourist places ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cavelands Ecolodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavelands Ecolodges Mexico/Yucatan Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing