We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Captain's Cove

Captain's Cove
Ranked #61 of 982 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant owned by Royal Resorts Group , which specializes is the fresh fish and seafood in addition to a wide variety of choices for all tastes. We have a privileged view of the Nichupte Lagoon and every afternoon we can watch the awesome sunset of the Mexican Caribbean with the crocodiles who visit us each evening.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Dining in Cancun is expensive and doesn't often include good service (why are all the servers males?), but this place is the exception. Nice view, very good food (fresh seafood), and attentive but not overbearing service.

Even the price was reasonable given the setting. Without even asking, we received a 10% discount as guests of a nearby resort.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdManFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,196
    653
    256
    79
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great lagoon views”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had lunch on a Saturday afternoon, so it was pretty quiet. The entrance looks a bit hokey so I wasn't sure what to expect; it definitely beat whatever I was expecting! We sat outside overlooking the lagoon. Gorgeous views. The food was excellent, mid-high priced, but really, really tasty. The service was excellent. Wished we had gone sooner in the trip so we could have gone more than once!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_Christe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Reading, MA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best restaurant Cancun Hotel Zone”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have been traveling to Cancun since the 80's and very time I have been here I have dined at Captains Cove at least once. I have brought friends and family to dine there and there has never been a disappointing meal . The food is consistently good and the staff is friendly and accommodating.
Last night I had the blackened Hogfish on the recommendation of our waiter. It could not have been better
The restaurant has a lovely setting on the lagoon. If you dine early enough you can enjoy a beautiful Cancun sunset. Ask for an outside table on the water

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmann7643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Treasure of a Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Food is very well prepared; we have never, ever had a meal that we were disappointed with. The service is unbelievable with a wait staff that is very friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjaw288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, Good Service with Equally Good Food”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Friendly, good service with equally good food in a restaurant on the lagoon side of the Cancun tourist area. Food selection, quality and the "on the water" setting all deserve a 4-5 star rating. My wife and I enjoyed their Sunday brunch and later in the week, an evening diner, both were faultless. Highly recommend a visit if in the neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Captain's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing