We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with all the amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #11 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with all the amenities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is my second stay at the Westin Lagunamar. The staff goes above and beyond. The rooms are big, clean and beautiful. The pool overlooks the beach. Everything at this hotel was perfect! Can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that we exceeded your expectations of a truly Westin Lagunamar Experience, we hope to welcome you back for a third time. Thank you for sharing this with other travelers. It will be a pleasure to host you soon.
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,439
    1,161
    293
    114
    72
See reviews for
2,139
1,958
85
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We are Starwood Owners and own at The Westin Lagunamar, this was our third visit to the resort and once again we were not disappointed. Our personal concierge Claudia, kept in contact with us prior to our arrival, ensuring that transport was arranged from the airport, which I would recommend people to book who are visitng Cancun. Whilst we were there she recommended places for us to visit and booked tables at restaurants we wished to eat at. Claudia is very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly, nothing is to much trouble for her.
The staff are friendly and want to ensure that your stay is enjoyable, customer service is at the forefront. The buffet breakfast is wonderful, and the service is good - I must mention specifically Henry and Armando, who made our visit enjoyable.

The pool staff are efficient, in particular Eduardo.

The resort has the shopping village, La Isla right opposite which has good shops and restaurants, we visited the Taco Grill on a few occasions where the food was resonably priced and service good

The facilities at the resort: you have the wonderful infinity pool, which has the main entertainment at which I feel is best suited for families and then you have the quieter pool, which we spent most of our time, great views overlooking the ocean. The sports bar on site serves drinks and food, which is reasonably priced and good value. The recently opened spa, which is certainly worth a visit. We had a couple of the full body massages and used the facilities (steam room, sauna etc) A place to relax and be pampered.

They have recently opened the Owners Lounge where you are able to get tea and coffee throughout the day, newspapers and loan of games and books. Whilst we were there Michelle looked after the lounge and she helped to make our stay enjoyable.

Whilst in Cancun you must visit the Isla Mujeres and hire a golf buggy for the day, to get to the island you will need to catch the ferry. Good restaurants are available throughout the island.

We enjoyed it so much we have already booked to go back again in February 2014, this time taking friends with us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your Fantastic review and for your loyalty to our beatiful resort,; always make us glad to hear the feedback from you and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it! We hope to welcome you back in a near future for antother Westin Lagunamar Experience!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The facility, the amenities, the staff, the customer service were all awesome! Very high marks for the concierge services. Toni, our personal concierge was amazing! She went above and beyond her duties to make sure our vacation was perfect. Prior to our stay, she contacted us to arrange our excellent transportation to and from the airport & hotel. During our phone conversation she asked if we had special requests or needs, which by the way, were far exceeded once we reached the property. Toni was extremely dedicated and very knowledgable of the best restaurants and the best excursions to go on. We are Starwood's Owners and have visited many of the resorts, but this is the first time we felt like royalty!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandoS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to say thank you for your nice review about our nice and friendly staff and for choosing The Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. You are 100% right, our location is unique . We let Toni know your nice comments and will recognize her . We hope to welcome you back in a near future for another amazing Westin Lagunamar Experience.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Westin Lagunamar. This was our first trip to Cancun and absolutely loved it! We were guests of our friends who are Starwood Owners and really can't say enough about The Lagunamar. The resort is beautiful and is in a great location with La Isla Mall being right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were greeted by Pedro our Personal Concierge upon our arrival who wanted to make sure all our needs were met. Our room looked out over the ocean and the infinity pool in the center of the resort which by the way is like no other. The rooms were very comfortable and the bed was great for sleeping. Also loved the fact there was a washer dryer in the unit which was helpful since we did not have maid service because of the length of our stay. The resort has 3 places to eat with varying hours. Oceano Restaurant which had a nice breakfast buffet and 3 themed nights for dinner. We went to the Mexican night which was very good. Our only real complaint was the dinner we had there one other night which was just fair at best. The filet was either overcooked, or undercooked and the sides where nothing to right home about. La Duna Sports Bar is great for snacks or a sandwich and La Viente at the pool had great sandwiches. We loved the Pool Bar and the excellent service that was provided by William, Jorge and Felipe. We love you guys! You made us feel special!! Overall our experience at Lagunamar was one to remember and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations. Your feedback and suggestions are so important.
We hope to welcome you back again for having an amazing Westin Lagunamar experience.
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

But you don't really come to Cancun for the friendliness. Spent 6 days at JW for work and 3 at Westin with friends after. The pool area here was much larger with a better layout for fun and simply hanging out. Our "hotel" room was small and unremarkable. Major pluses were the ceiling fan and washer/dryer. Friends suite was much larger, with a better layout. Location was good, with much shopping, activities and food across the street. Bus stop right in front was convenient. Staff here seemed to just come to work, while JW seemed to enjoy their jobs. Would I stay here again, absolutely. Depending on what you're looking for, there are options.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments, always make us glad to hear the feedback from our guests, in that way we can improve and provide you with a refreshing stay. We hope to welcome you back in a near future!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile


My husband and I, along with three of our guest just returned from a 7 day vacation at the Westin Lagunamar. We all agree that the customer service at this location far exceeded our expectations. Mario, our personal concierge was amazing! He went above and beyond his duties to make sure our vacation was perfect. Prior to our stay, he contacted us to arrange our flawless transportation to and from the airport & hotel (I would highly recommend each guest use this service). During our phone conversation he asked if we had special requests or needs, which by the way, were met or exceeded once we reached the property. He is extremely dedicated, Mario came in on his day off to personally meet us. On top of that, he is friendly, knowledgable and most importantly, sincere.
We are Starwood's Owners and have visited many of the resorts, but this is the first time we felt like royalty. The Westin St. John's could take some lessons from you!
The rooms are clean and all have a wonderful view of the ocean. We love having the kitchenette and washer/dryer in our room. The walls are solid, so you do not hear any noise from the rooms next to you.The infinity pool is amazing.
This hotel is right across the street from a mall with great shopping and quite a few resturants. You can catch a bus to the downtown area.
The highlight of my trip was releasing the newly hatched turtles. This was very educational.
I would like to give a special mention to the concierge Sebastian, great smile, and very friendly and helpful as well.
I do not want to leave out our great waiter Benito, he was wonderful and so happy to be employed by this establishment. The only regret we have is not taking the time to meet the property Manager. So, I will say to you a job well done! You have a well trained staff, from the concierges, maids, waiters, security... and the list goes on. Not an easy task for a establishment of this size. Thank you, we will be back!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sewsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank for such an amazing a beautiful review, we loved it. thank for your loyalty to our company. its really nice to know that we excedeed our guest expectatios; we try to go always for an extra mile in everything.
We will recognize Mario, Bentio and Sebastian and let them know your comments; they will be really happy.
We hope to welcome you back for a second Westin Lagunamar Experience.
Saludos from sunny Cancún
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our second trip to Cancun in a year. Last January we did an all inclusive to Live Aqua, which is right next door. This time we traded our time share and selected Westin Lagunamar. We made an excellent choice. If the rooms in LIve Aqua are rated a 5 star then the rooms in Westin Lagunamar are rated 9+. The villas have everything one needs to make yourself at home and just relax away from home. The grounds, pools, and beach are all beautiful!!!! Lots of room on the beach and the pools for just relaxing and having a wonderful time.
The place is so big that it did take us a couple days to fully explore the place and find our way around. The staff was wonderful and helpful, especially Omar and Raphael.
The Westin Lagunamar has the best location on the Hotel Zone!!! It is directly across from the mall which has lots of good shopping and restaurants. This made it nice as it gave us a wide variety of places to eat if we didn't want to cook in our villa. The market store was great as it had a wide variety of food items to purchase if one wants to just fix their own meals. With choice of the market in the resort, three restaurants at the resort, and many more eating establishments just across the street in the mall, one doesn't have to travel very far for anything to eat.
Happy Hour each day was great also. We took advantage of it daily by the pool. The activities by the pool was great also.
Once you get to the hotel I suggest you exchange US dollars for Mexican Pesos. It is much easier to purchase items while in Mexico. That way you don't have to worry about the exchange value. The hotel will allow you to exchange up to $200 per day. Although if you just stay at the hotel you don't need anything as you can charge EVERYTHING you purchase at the resort to your room. Then just pay one time at checkout. This was great!!!!
We will be back to Cancun and you can rest assured that we will choose the Westin Lagunamar again!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were in building two on second floor. Higher up gives a better view but it is all very nice from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We love your review, thank you for taking the time to write it. It´s really nice when we exceeded our guest expectations and make you find a home away from home. Your suggestions and comments will help more travelers to have an excellent time in our beatuifl property.
We will recoganize Omar and Rafael and let them know about your nice comments.
Come back really soon for another amazing Westin Lagunamar Experience.
Saludos from sunny Cancún
The Westin Lagunamar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing