We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah...my love hate relationship with Westin timeshares”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #11 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ah...my love hate relationship with Westin timeshares”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Each year, my family and I try to utilize our timeshare. This year we decided on the Westin Lagunamar.

LOVE:
The facility is beautiful and immaculate. There are workers wiping, sweeping and cleaning all the time. The pools were never that crowded and the beach was glorious. I have never seen such clear blue water and the white sandy beach was never hot on your feet. Just amazing.

Our best meals were from the Duna Sports Bar. The waiters from the bar also cover the beach but they do a good job getting to you while your beer is still cold and your food is warm. Gulliermo was great.

The Heavenly Spa was just that. Very, very relaxing.

Mid-week tidy up - Always great to get fresh towels.

Laundry - full sized laundry detergent meant that we would come home with a suitcase of clean clothes.

Wi-Fi - It was great and we could have multiple devices on at the same time.

HATE:
Our "concierge" Maggie was nothing but a salesperson in concierge clothing. Once it was clear we didn't want to devote 90 minutes of our 4 day vacation to hearing "what was new," I felt like we didn't get a good concierge treatment. Why can't one owner come to a presentation without their spouse. Clearly it is because it is not about information but about selling another timeshare.

When we asked her about a jungle cruise that we had hear of from our airport transfer driver, she said she had "never of heard of that" but yet sent us to a restaurant (fair food in the mall across the street) which was situated directly across from the jungle cruise. (Note: there are crocodiles in the bay and there was boats that take you around there.). She gives the word concierge a bad name.

Oceano Restaurant - On our first night there, we decided to eat in. Thank goodness as owners we get 20% off the restaurants or the meal would have been painful. My son had fajitas that had some tendon or something in it that was not recognizable as meat. I had marinated short ribs which I realized were not the short ribs that I was accustomed to in the states. They were actually short ribs that were tough and with very little flavor. I know they have theme nights so maybe those are better.

Electronics/Entertainment - I loved that there were DVDs to rent but most of the titles were Blu-Ray and only some of the units have BluRay. Once we rented our standard DVD, the player would not work. A nice gentleman came quickly, only to find that not only was the DVD player not plugged in to the electricity but it was not connected to the TV. I guess no one had tried to watch a DVD.

The Bose unit is good if you bring audio wires. Ours had a malfunctioning AUX jack so we weren't about to use it. There are no real radio stations (English or Spanish) that come in clearly. I called the front desk four (4) times and no one came to replace or fix the unit during our stay.

All in all, the property is amazing. Enjoy the beach and make plans to eat out.

Room Tip: We were in 1445 and it was great with an amazing view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reyesvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We welcome and appreciate every piece of feedback we receive . We hope you have the opportunity to return to the resort and experience the enhancements on those areas you mentioned. Warm regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,487
    1,168
    296
    114
    73
See reviews for
2,163
1,985
86
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,747)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

In fairness we went at the height of the season: my sons spring break: the place was packed and the wear on the staff and the facilities showed.

We often vacation at Westins- they are perfect for mid-priced family travel. This one is full of timeshare owners and the typical Westin experience seems compromised. Highlights include the perfect beach and the central location with easy shopping/food access. The lowlights were in crowd control: few lounge chairs, debris in the pool (every day I got a plastic cup on my foot or a straw wrapper in my hair). And the staff 'sticks to the rules' more than focuses on the customer experience. Trying to tailor the menu or drinks was often met with confusion or reluctance.

The check in process was maddening. We arrived early-- about 10am-- so I fully understood we would need to wait. She was very friendly and said 'let me see what we can do for you, here is a pager we will call you as soon as I get something'. Then I sat around with that pager until 4:30-- no room. Never mind that check in was at 4:00. I would have just appreciated a forthright answer at the start so I could have planned my afternoon better.

The room itself is nice and good sized. We were unfortunately on the ground floor, which is my least favorite option, so our personal patio felt too public and busy to enjoy, but higher floors likely provide a better experience.

Maybe the low season helps overcome these issues....

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AdornoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. The service you received is certainly not indicative of what we want to provide to each of our valuable guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back so you may experience our true and renewing Westin service. Please contact the Executive Office directly (lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com) for any further assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The resort was great and the ocean was pristine. We saw turtles laying eggs early one morning. All the rooms are ocean view except if they are blocked by palm trees. Most of the rooms are recently renovated and very nice. The pools were perfect and our kids loved the water slide. The lifeguards do a great job and are very attentive on the beach and at the pools. We had a 1 bedroom suite that had a kitchen which is very important to us. because we cook a lot of our own meals. (There was no oven in the kitchen...) They had a bunch of very nice gas grills throughout the resort and they loaned out the tools. It made cooking great meals easy. When we got there they gave us a discount coupon for $32 for a round trip taxi ride with an hour of waiting for Super Mercado (Walmart operated grocery). So, we stocked up on second day there. The grocery has similar prices as groceries in Atlanta and good quality meat and produce. The hotel district has very expensive groceries and limited selection. So, stock up!
The restaurants at the hotel aren't cheap, but they seemed on par for what I would expect from a hotel and the food was very good. The all you can eat Brazillian inspired steak night was awesome and we went twice. The breakfast buffets are exceptional too and they custom make omelets and other goodies. The kids eat free on all the buffets.
There is a small market at the hotel so you can stock supplement any groceries you need or missed. If you eat gluten free, it is very easy there. They have a whole section in the market and the menu's have gluten free menu items marked. The menu is misleading though, because for some reason there are plenty of gluten free items not marked gluten free. The cooks and waiters were familiar with gluten and had no problem answering questions.
The only negative was that housekeeping seemed to have no set schedule, so we always ended up in the room when they stopped by and all they really seemed to do was swap some towels and make the bed.
The hotel is located across the street from a big mall and many things are easily accessible in the hotel district. Two great stops near there are the Museo de Maya right down the street and the La Parrilla in the mall.
We stayed using Starwood points from our AMEX, so I can't comment on the price/value of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. All the rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments, we are glad to know that you saw some tutlle as a part of your great experience at The Westin Lagunamar, he appreciate every comment from our valued guest and we want to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our home away from home! Love the Westin Lagunamar and all the wonderful staff and ammenities. Service is excellent especially from Jorge at the swim up bar. He is such a wonderful person as well as excellent server and also Claudia our consierge. Can't wait to return in March

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Huésped,
Muchas gracias por elegir The Westin Lagunamar para hospedarse en sus vacaciones, su opinión es muy importante para nosotros y la retroalimentación que nuestros huéspedes nos dan es muy valiosa,
La esperamos muy pronto para otra experiencia renovadora con nosotros,
Saludos Cordiales,
The Westin Lagunamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We Really Loved This Hotel Is An Amazing place With great Arquitecture , excellent For Trips With childrens mine Were happier than Ever , is Incredible Th Great Work And kindest People That Works In This Hotel, I love All them

Room Tip: All Has Kitchen And the View of Higher Is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this really nice review, it is a pleasure for us to make a special event like yours an unforgettable and a life time experience! We are glad to read that you really enjoyed it. We are looking forward to welcome you back near future,
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The view is amazing. The beach was wonderful and convenient. The pool had great service with the towels and bar. The temperature of the pool was excellent. I also loved the foot showers and showers outside to rinse the sand when heading back to your rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf the entire staff that collaborates in our resort, we would like to thank you for posting this amazing review. Thank you for your loyalty.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great view! Great staff! I have nothing but a great experience and stay here. We arrived at 2:00 and they offered us our room even though check in was at 4:00. The location is perfect... Right in front of La Isla Mall. If your looking for excellent authentic Mexican cheap eats, go to Fish Fratinga, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The pool and ocean is incredible. Rent a boogie board for 150 pesos and ride the waves at the beach. I will definitely come back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It makes us so happy to know that you will visit us again soon! Thank you for taking the time to post this kind comments and we are delighted to read the experience you encountered was totally WESTIN LAGUNAMAR.
See you soon!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa is located on the white sandy beaches of Cancun, Mexico. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults in as much as 1,140 square feet. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing