We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This company was great, but there are things to know about swimming with Whale Sharks!”

EcoColors - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.99*
and up
Turtle Snorkeling Adventure from Cancun
Ranked #35 of 263 Outdoor Activities in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EcoColors is a sustainable tour operator located in Cancun, Mexico. We offer a wide variety of itineraries of 1 or more days which incorporate outstanding natural places,wildlife, culture and adventure in the Riviera Maya and other parts of Mexico. Some tours are operated in other parts of Central America such as Belize, Guatemala and even in Cuba. To give you an example of our activities: swimming with whale sharks, snorkeling in the second largest coral reef in the world, learning about ecotourism and exploring the most famous archaeological sites of the area are some of the fantastic things you could enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This company was great, but there are things to know about swimming with Whale Sharks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I have wanted to swim with whale sharks for a while! We read lots of great reviews of EcoColors and decided to go with them. We don't think there's anything that they could have done better. The guide was perfectly bilingual, they picked us up from the hotel and took great care of us. Our issues are more with the experience itself - but again, none of this has to do with EcoColors. They are great!

They picked us up from our hotel, and 8 others from different hotels. Then we had about an hour long boat ride. MAKE SURE TO TAKE SOMETHING FOR MOTION SICKNESS! Once you arrive to the spot where there are whale sharks, there is a lot of wait time in the boat rocking in choppy water. A lot of people get sick.

We were one of the first boats to arrive to the spot where the whale sharks were, but shortly after, MANY other boats came for the same reason. It was very crowded and we also felt bad about all these boats and humans hovering around the animals. The guides would bring us in two at a time, and we had a few minutes to swim with the sharks. My husband and I went in three times. It was absolutely incredible to swim along these amazing animals. But, there was a lot of travel time for a short amount of whale shark time. Again - this would have been the case with any company.

After swimming with the whale sharks, we took the boat to Isla Mujeres and ate lunch on the boat. This is beautiful spot!

The staff was friendly and attentive. We have no complaints about them. But be prepared for a lot of travel time, and a short crowded experience swimming with whale sharks!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your honest feedback. Also thank you for your compliments about our organisation. We understand your point of view, but indeed and unfortunately we can´t shorten the travel time since the whale sharks are only in specific areas. We are very glad to hear that you had an incredible time while swimming with them.

We wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    44
    11
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Whale shark tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

An amazing tour. We could not believe that it was real, seeing so many sharks so close. Guide Synthia and Captain Margaro we're knowledgable, professional, and made the trip a lot of fun. Ask for them if you can. You must try this.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are so glad to hear that you are so satisfied about this trip. Indeed, the whale sharks are amazing. We will forward your compliments to our guide and captain. Thank you for your recommendation and we wish you a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whale Shark tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a fabulous trip. I have a few boxes to tick regarding things I want to experience during my life and before travelling to Cancun this year snorkelling with whale sharks off the coast of Mexico wasn't one of those experiences.
It is a MUST DO and I found the whole experience awe inspiring. It has to be one of the most exhilarating experiences I have known on a holiday and our guide, Elizabeth, was great. The organisation and the professionalism of the guides and boat crews make it a wonderful and safe experience and we saw loads of sharks and had 3 opportunities to jump into the water alongside these majestic creatures. And we were close!!! Great photos and even saw turtles and Manta rays on the way home.
People this was worth every penny and I'd do it again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Receiving this wonderful review is amazing for us. This indicates that we are actually fulfulling our goal of creating outstanding experiences with happy and satisfied clients. No one will ever take this experience away from you!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGV, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Swim with Sharks--YES! Must do!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We took a whale-shark tour with this group. It is once in a life time must do! They are such amazing creatures. The guides and boat captain are very experienced, made everyone feeling comfortable. The boat was clean and well kept. Since the activity is in open ocean, wearing a life-vest is mandatory. If you are a good swimmer and not feeling the vest, you can rent a 3mm shorty wet-suit from them for $15. Also, if you are prone to get sea-sick, be prepared for this tour. You are in open ocean and the boat gets very rough, plus it has to go in circles to stay in place.
The spot we went to, water was not the best--very murky, but it is their natural habitat. It was difficult to keep up with the shark and taking pictures at the same time. At the second jump, I ditched the camera to just enjoy these amazing creatures.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoSeeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Great to read that you are so amazed by this tour. Thank you for the comment about taking pictures while swimming with the whale shark. We can understand that it is hard to do this and for Ecocolors it´s important that you can focus on swimming with the biggest fish in the world, instead of struggling with making pictures. We are going to check if there is the possibility to offer a photo service to our clients.

Thanks again and we wish you a beautiful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Whale Shark Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was a blast! We thought the price was a little steep at first but it was totally worth it! We had a great guide (Barna) and a great boat crew. They were very professional and made sure we had an excellent trip. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing us your comment. All of us and Barna in special are happy to receive this compliment!

We hope to see you again. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EcoColors - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to EcoColors - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing