We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable experience”

EcoColors - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.99*
and up
Turtle Snorkeling Adventure from Cancun
Ranked #35 of 263 Outdoor Activities in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: EcoColors is a sustainable tour operator located in Cancun, Mexico. We offer a wide variety of itineraries of 1 or more days which incorporate outstanding natural places,wildlife, culture and adventure in the Riviera Maya and other parts of Mexico. Some tours are operated in other parts of Central America such as Belize, Guatemala and even in Cuba. To give you an example of our activities: swimming with whale sharks, snorkeling in the second largest coral reef in the world, learning about ecotourism and exploring the most famous archaeological sites of the area are some of the fantastic things you could enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Quick summary:
Bring a digital underwater camera. If you don’t have one, someone you know does. Just get it.
Bring biodegradable sun-screen. Lots.
Bring Dramamine.
Bring 20 bucks or so for a wet suit rental and a few dollars to tip with if you wish.
The trip was well worth it. More of an adventure than an excursion so have your bucket list handy. Best $250 spent ever.

We did this as a shore excursion from the Oasis of the Seas out of Cozumel, so try to keep that in mind while reading this. Your experience will probably differ depending on the circumstances.
After a quick ferry ride from the cruise boat to land, our tour guide met us immediately. I forget her name but I won’t forget her smile. She was upbeat and very knowledgeable and spoke several languages. Once our group was all there (10 minutes) all 6 of us got into a climate controlled van (the AC was as cold as you wanted it, just speak up) and we were off. We filled out some paperwork, basic stuff and learned about how to safely experience the whale sharks.
This is when the first critique I have comes into play. We were instructed that we were not to put on anymore sun-screen on unless it was biodegradable. The reasoning was, and this makes sense, most sun-screen contains oil and oil floats on water. The plankton that the sharks are after is at the surface so if everyone is wearing sunscreen, when they all jump in there is now a bunch of oil mixed in with the plankton and the sharks inadvertently swallow a bunch of oil. I didn't happen to be carrying my whale-shark-friendly-sunscreen with me so I was kinda screwed. More on that later.
Next is the second small chance for improvement: Our tour guide recommended taking a Dramamine to prevent sea sickness. I do not get sea sick or motion sickness but I wasn't taking any chances. The problem was no one had any in the van and none was provided so we had to pull into a convenience store and buy a package that contained 20 pills but only 6 of us needed. I feel that you shouldn't forbid normal sun-screen but not provide an alternative for, what $10? Same thing with the Dramamine. Just have some for the guests that are paying $250. And honestly to be fair, I probably wouldn’t have been that impressed if both the biodegradable sun-screen and Dramamine were provided free of charge but it just could have been so easily fixed; that’s the kind of thing that I would just include in the package.
At this point, we still have an hour of driving. I am not sure exac

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you for reviewing the whale shark tour. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the tour that much, and appreciate your other comments about the biodegradable sun-screen and Dramamine. We will take these tips with us and see whether we can make some changes.

Regards,

The EcoColors team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    44
    11
    7
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I and our teenage son did the snorkeling w/ Whale Sharks experience last week and it was truly unbelievable. You get amazingly close access to these ginormous creatures - the pictures don't really do it justice. You literally could reach out and touch them (except its illegal :). Snorkeling was in pairs with a guide and each pair went multiple times for a few minutes each. The guide did a fantastic job explaining what to expect and preparing everyone for what to do, because once you arrive where the sharks are, it is intense - you have to go-go-go and be ready to jump in the water. Trip included a brief stop at Isla Mujeres for a little swimming and a light lunch prepared on board ship. Best tip - our guide stopped at a convenience store on the way to the marina and recommended everyone take Dramamine, even those people who "never" get sea sick. Do this! Everyone on our trip followed the advice and was fine - but almost every other boat we saw had people leaning over the side puking :(. The boat ride out & back is long - expect at least 60-90 minutes out into the sea (you can't see the shore - you're 25+ miles out) and back, plus anywhere from 15-60 minutes to find where the sharks are. But trust me, once you find them, it was SO worth it! We are not experienced snorkelers or on-the-water people, but we thoroughly enjoyed it and did not feel it was beyond our skill level.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MRMRSPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Public Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our Whale Shark tour! We are very pleased to read that you, your husband and son consider this tour as such a great experience!

Kind regards,

The EcoColors team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
“Once in a life time experience with amazing people and whale sharks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Myself and my husband went on the whale shark swim we were both nervous as not confident swimmers and were new to snorkelling, however out guide synthia was amazing and put us both at ease straight away. Both herself and our captain Marcelo understood how nervous we were and was extremely patient and respectful. This trip has truly been one of the most amazing experiences of our life's! Thank you for the excellent guide and captain combination .other people have put there is a lot of travelling involved however, it's really worth it. The whole trip was very organised and when we first saw the whale sharks there was lots of boats and was a bit crowded so our captain wanted us to have a more personal experience and off we went on another adventure for our own personal whale sharks! He never gave up and he managed to find us 6 beautiful whale sharks just for our boat! I would recommend anyone to do this trip as the crew definitely make the whole trip amazing !!! The food also was lovely and my husband has not stopped mentioning the ceviche !!! Thank you synthia and Marcelo for a once in a life time trip!!! Ps iI've also learnt a new Motto!! Never ever give up! Thanks guys x

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmmaEdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Guest Relations Manager at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for reviewing EcoColors! We are very happy to read that you and your husband had so much fun, and that it has been a learning experience for you! We will pass the positive review on to Synthia and Marcelo as well, it is so rewarding to get such positive messages and we are sure they will be very happy with it! Thank you again.

Kind regards,

EcoColors team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Whale Shark snorkel with ecotravelmexico.com”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

After traveling by taxi and ferry from Occidental Grand Cozumel, we had to climb a hill, 6 blocks with our heavy cameras. A 50 minute van ride with instruction and shark biology revealed we could not wear sunscreen, and we had to wear wet suits or life vests. None of this info was provided ahead of time, even though I had booked the reservation by phone and email several weeks in advance. Forced to rent wetsuits which we had in our hotel room, we had brought skins along) the cost grew by another $30. Breakfast was a roll and a banana. Once on the boat, we were herded to the uncovered stern of a small boat, with no sunscreen, while the guide and crew were shaded. After a 2 hour boat ride, we got to snorkel with the whale sharks. That was the one and only good part of the day. One sandwich was provided with sodas and water on board.

The boat ladder bottom rung was level with the sea, and several of us had great difficulty getting back on the boat. Three women gave up and stayed in the boat. There are lots of other minuses, including the fact that I was left with the feeling that these gentle giants have to be feeling stressed and harassed. There were easily six to eight boats circling 2 sharks, taking turns dropping off a guide with 2 snorkelers, for 2 hours. Oh, couldn't use my camera since you had to jump in, if it was handed to you the shark had already passed.

Coming from Cozumel, it was a 13 hour tour, taxi at 5;30 am, final return time at 6:30 pm. Extra cost for 2 with ferry, taxi, wet suits, tips, and video, buying our own food, came to $300. We pre-paid $438, so the day ran $740, US dollars. Plus VERY red shortie sunburns which required massive amounts of aloe. I'm feeling robbed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancyand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhaleSharkDaddy, Owner at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
MIssPosted we are NOT EcotraveL Mexico !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, Nederland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Whale shark tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was an amazing tour! One of the best experiences in my life. Our guide Barna was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor! He is very passionate about his work and takes pride in what he does. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecocolors, Marketing Intern at EcoColors - Day Tours, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Beste Priscilla,

Hartelijk dank voor het beoordelen van de Walvishaai tour op onze Tripadvisor pagina! Fijn om te lezen dat u de Whale Shark tour zo leuk vond, ik zal Barna op de hoogte brengen van deze positieve beoordeling! Nogmaals bedankt!

Fijne avond nog,

Monica Vink
Intern Marketing & Promotion
EcoColors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EcoColors - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to EcoColors - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing