We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #66 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just come back from the dos playas was on a birthday trip with a gang off lads!!!
the playas is ok but needs upgradeing
its is cheap and cheerfull and if your ok lay in the sun all day with a beer then your be happy
the pool is good and its just off the beach
the food is ok
but there is a mad rush at first
the drink's are poor and very very hard to get drunk on!! lol
there is little night life at the hotel and the bars shut @2230
the bars in cancun hotel zone are crap
uk price's and all they will do is try to sell you shoots { £3 ago} photos and bottles off drink!
if you pay for the a/i in one off the clubs like frogs bongs its £35 each for all you can drink but its so wateried down don't bother!!!

Room Tip: some off the rooms need updateing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

After an 11 hour flight the last thing you want is rude reception staff and that's what we got. We were all inclusive and they didn't tell us where the food was being held as it turned out they do an outside grill on a Tuesday night so spent the night walking round the grounds looking for this place. The part of the hotel we stayed in was facing out to the sea so was a nice view from our balcony. Hotel was clean, rooms got cleaned every day and were a fairly decent size. The all inclusive package was good in a way that in the day they have unlimited drinks (which are given out in small plastic cups) also you can get unlimited pizzas which they cook in front of you which is really good. The views at the back of the hotel and beach was really nice.
As it was our first time visiting Mexico we were a bit lost and was approached by a guy called Angel who works the entertainment side of dos playas and was brilliant. Out of everyone there he made us feel very welcome and was very approachable if we needed anything, A genuine nice guy.
The downside for this hotel is the food, absolutely awful. Similar food in the buffet every day and majority is cold or undercooked. If you want broccoli for breakfast, dinner and tea this is the place for you!
The management team was really bad, seems like cause you don't understand them, they don't want to help you.
All I can say is if you do decide to go make sure you speak to the entertainment team (Angel & Elliot) as they are so helpful and can speak fluent English.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Price location beach all good. very poorly managed people waiting in other hotels because this one is overbooked, the bungalows at the back of the garden need to be demolished they are horrible, the rooms you see on there website are elusive - after two weeks I have no idea where they are. we had to wait 4 days in another hotel before they could fit us in and lost half a days holiday waiting for there taxi, in the end we gave in and got out own.
Once we finally got a room the place is fine, its got two nice beaches that are sheltered by a small island, the other beaches have red flags flying daily not so here.
Grounds gardens all old but fine and 5 pools. Staff - a couple of miserable old boys but mostly fine - the odd tip will of course get you better service.
We have never been anywhere as disorganised before the front desk seemed to be constantly queued up with complaining guests' the poor staff being let down badly by the ilusive management.
Could be great - a real shame.

Room Tip: avoid the bungalows at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from this so called hotel.
When we arrived we was told the hotel had no rooms as over booking had taken place.
we waited around 2 hours to be taken to another hotel. Next day we had to pay our own taxi for a lift back to have no rooms ready for us.
My mother has a wheel chair and we were offered a room with no water of electric.
As we declined we were given a 2nd floor room with no hand rails and slippery stairs.
Many problems with Miguel the so called manager made most people in reception cry who just wanted a clean room to rest after long flight from Europe.
Lots of Russian at this hotel.
This was my 3rd visit to Cancun but the hotel ruined this trip.
Please don't make the mistake we did booking this dos house.
Food was all cold and well under cooked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanwoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Please, be advised that all of our rooms have electrical power and water, otherwise we would not be allowed to receive guests in our property. We guarentee first floor for guests on wheelchairs as the property has not elevators. We have to receive the reservation with some anticipation to block a suitable room with an easy access. Our hotel will keep guests safe from harm in case of overbooking in an equal or superior category hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Girlfriend left with bumps and rash.. worst experience ...zero star hotel needs demolition nice grounds....overbooked us and sent to partner hotel both same quality ..of 9 nights we could only stay in room twice ..booked and stayed in different hotels so much nicer..with a cost obviously

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gigityo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

When visiting the Caribbean you are exposed to many differents insects (mosquitos, spiders, etc) that you cannot find elsewhere. We constantly fumigate the public areas and rooms to minimize issues with insects but once you are out of the hotel we advise to buy insect repellent to avoid circumstances as you describe. As you mention, you can find better lodgin options at a higher cost.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel, as I cannot call it a resort, was the worst place I have experienced in my travels. The room we were given first was terrible, and just outside the door they were jackhammering the tennis court daily. Our second room was better after complaining and waiting two days. Upon arrival after a red eye flight at 8am we were told that if we wanted food or drink we would have to pay as our all inclusive did not start until 3pm!!! I have never heard of this in my life!! Most of the staff was less than friendly, the majority of the guests were from russia and apparently the hotel catered to them, english speaking guests were not served before 10;30 at the bar but that did not apply to the russian speaking guests. Coffee cups, cereal bowls and even cutlery were often unavailable at meal times. The one night that dinner was served at a location other than the one resteraunt, was apparently a secret because we were not informed of this and by chance had a waiter come past the resteraunt, thankfully he stopped and told our party and the other people standing at the doors waiting for the resteraunt to open and led us to where the dinner was being served. Many guests during our week there arrived to find the hotel over booked and no room available for them. Most of the front desk staff were not friendly or helpful at all. As the title says, I will never stay at this location again. A huge dissappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Based in your review, it seems that DOS PLAYAS did not meet your expectations. Indeed, the check-in time is at 3:00 PM. We allowed an earlier check-in, free, as an added value, to make you feel comfortable. That means you can use the facilities of the hotel, however, all food and beverage consumption to be made until that time must be paid. This policy applies worldwide within the hotel industry. Moreover, CELUISMA, is proud to host international tourism from different countries, providing the same service to all of them, with equity and quality. To say that our guests are treated differently because of their nationality is, has no basis and represents a serious charge agaisnt our property. There is a Thai restaurant available for all guests upon reservation. Sometimes it is used for private events which are restricted for guests. Your comments about our overbooking will not be considered for obvious reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Like the other reviewers I was a bit sceptical about staying here due to the bad reviews but there was no reason to worry. As we were a party of seven we had three rooms all of which we're clean and tidy with the maid cleaning the rooms daily. I stayed in 2607 this room was nice with a view of the tennis courts and overlooking the Riu hotel. There is a small balcony which is ok. As this room is near the main road traffic could be heard especially in the mornings. The AC is also noisy. But this is still a good place to stay especially if you use it as a base to explore. It's near the ferry to Isla mujeres, a bungee jump, bus stops which are right outside, near a oxxo shop for drinks and snacks and is far enough to not be part if all the noise of the bars and clubs. The beach is nice with a number of activities taking place such as bingo and volleyball during the day. Food is plentiful with a good choice. The cakes are the best. Pizza, burgers and hotdogs are served throughout the day and drinks are served I from two bars. As with all of cancun the drinks are watered down and taste cheap so it is worth going to the local oxxo when your missing your usual drink.

Hotel is very good for families, friends, couples etc. I would not recommend if you have a visual impairment or require wheel chair access as there are many steps which are not well lit and uneven. There are ramps which can be used but accessibility is not the best in my view.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room ask to move and the staff are helpful in arranging this for you. Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 177 in Cancun
2,968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#63 of 177 in Cancun
1,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#107 of 177 in Cancun
905 reviews
2.0 mi away
NYX Hotel Cancun
NYX Hotel Cancun
#54 of 177 in Cancun
2,429 reviews
4.8 mi away
All Ritmo Cancun Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Address: Blvd kukulcan km 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 72160, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £27 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing