We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a real good time in this small hotel. It is in a good location and close to the ferry to the Island nearby. Close to the beach and the pool was nice and clean and warm. Staff friendly, enjoyed the Pizza on a lunchtime, freshly made to order

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    400
    270
    155
    200
See reviews for
340
425
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

First off, I read a lot of "not so great" reviews before our trip but, I don't really care whether the resort needs updating (which is does) and whether the food was "average" (which it was). The price is cheap and you're not there to be in your room very much. HOWEVER... I have personally never slept on a rock with springs before, awakened everyday by the loudest screeching birds I have ever heard or had construction going on in my building at 3 am, 4 am, 5 am, etc. Pipes banging, sawing, hammering, electrical, you name it! Day 3: house keeping finally shows(no towels, kleenex, need T.P. and stole my personalized travel ashtray( for outside). We are the only Americans. Everyone else is either hairy wearing a speedo or fat in a thong bikini, rude, no smiling or being friendly or having any fun and European. Day 4: 1st and only night with any entertainment. Brought our own cups so we didn't have to bug the bartenders (who were great! but slow) every 5 minutes until management wouldn't let me use it after I made a joke about the half liter of Diet Coke fitting in my mug to the bartender. SERIOUSLY!? Wow! Now...We really liked the location, the beach was great, the staff was mostly great, breakfast was fine. Weather was great, beautiful. Most food, entertainment, smiling having fun, enjoying yourself was done elsewhere. So, if you would like to spend all of your time and money elsewhere and enjoy not getting and sleep or sleeping on a rock with springs, and be surrounded by a lot of really rude, unfriendly foreigners than this is the place for you.

Room Tip: ocean view was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPetzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We appreciate your comments, however we must clarify that our property had no construction going on while your staying and we would never allow working on the AM while our guests are resting. About the birds, well, we have a diverse fauna in the Caribbean and we can not stop Mother Nature. Regarding drinking beverages not purchased on site, in public areas, we must reiterate that are not allowed. However, the guests can eat or drink what they want in their room. We allow tourists from all over the world and we respect their appearance, education and customs as long as they do not harm the rest of the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cancun hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just come back from the dos playas was on a birthday trip with a gang off lads!!!
the playas is ok but needs upgradeing
its is cheap and cheerfull and if your ok lay in the sun all day with a beer then your be happy
the pool is good and its just off the beach
the food is ok
but there is a mad rush at first
the drink's are poor and very very hard to get drunk on!! lol
there is little night life at the hotel and the bars shut @2230
the bars in cancun hotel zone are crap
uk price's and all they will do is try to sell you shoots { £3 ago} photos and bottles off drink!
if you pay for the a/i in one off the clubs like frogs bongs its £35 each for all you can drink but its so wateried down don't bother!!!

Room Tip: some off the rooms need updateing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

After an 11 hour flight the last thing you want is rude reception staff and that's what we got. We were all inclusive and they didn't tell us where the food was being held as it turned out they do an outside grill on a Tuesday night so spent the night walking round the grounds looking for this place. The part of the hotel we stayed in was facing out to the sea so was a nice view from our balcony. Hotel was clean, rooms got cleaned every day and were a fairly decent size. The all inclusive package was good in a way that in the day they have unlimited drinks (which are given out in small plastic cups) also you can get unlimited pizzas which they cook in front of you which is really good. The views at the back of the hotel and beach was really nice.
As it was our first time visiting Mexico we were a bit lost and was approached by a guy called Angel who works the entertainment side of dos playas and was brilliant. Out of everyone there he made us feel very welcome and was very approachable if we needed anything, A genuine nice guy.
The downside for this hotel is the food, absolutely awful. Similar food in the buffet every day and majority is cold or undercooked. If you want broccoli for breakfast, dinner and tea this is the place for you!
The management team was really bad, seems like cause you don't understand them, they don't want to help you.
All I can say is if you do decide to go make sure you speak to the entertainment team (Angel & Elliot) as they are so helpful and can speak fluent English.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Price location beach all good. very poorly managed people waiting in other hotels because this one is overbooked, the bungalows at the back of the garden need to be demolished they are horrible, the rooms you see on there website are elusive - after two weeks I have no idea where they are. we had to wait 4 days in another hotel before they could fit us in and lost half a days holiday waiting for there taxi, in the end we gave in and got out own.
Once we finally got a room the place is fine, its got two nice beaches that are sheltered by a small island, the other beaches have red flags flying daily not so here.
Grounds gardens all old but fine and 5 pools. Staff - a couple of miserable old boys but mostly fine - the odd tip will of course get you better service.
We have never been anywhere as disorganised before the front desk seemed to be constantly queued up with complaining guests' the poor staff being let down badly by the ilusive management.
Could be great - a real shame.

Room Tip: avoid the bungalows at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from this so called hotel.
When we arrived we was told the hotel had no rooms as over booking had taken place.
we waited around 2 hours to be taken to another hotel. Next day we had to pay our own taxi for a lift back to have no rooms ready for us.
My mother has a wheel chair and we were offered a room with no water of electric.
As we declined we were given a 2nd floor room with no hand rails and slippery stairs.
Many problems with Miguel the so called manager made most people in reception cry who just wanted a clean room to rest after long flight from Europe.
Lots of Russian at this hotel.
This was my 3rd visit to Cancun but the hotel ruined this trip.
Please don't make the mistake we did booking this dos house.
Food was all cold and well under cooked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanwoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Please, be advised that all of our rooms have electrical power and water, otherwise we would not be allowed to receive guests in our property. We guarentee first floor for guests on wheelchairs as the property has not elevators. We have to receive the reservation with some anticipation to block a suitable room with an easy access. Our hotel will keep guests safe from harm in case of overbooking in an equal or superior category hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Girlfriend left with bumps and rash.. worst experience ...zero star hotel needs demolition nice grounds....overbooked us and sent to partner hotel both same quality ..of 9 nights we could only stay in room twice ..booked and stayed in different hotels so much nicer..with a cost obviously

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigityo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
When visiting the Caribbean you are exposed to many differents insects (mosquitos, spiders, etc) that you cannot find elsewhere. We constantly fumigate the public areas and rooms to minimize issues with insects but once you are out of the hotel we advise to buy insect repellent to avoid circumstances as you describe. As you mention, you can find better lodgin options at a higher cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#74 of 175 in Cancun
2,854 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#99 of 175 in Cancun
877 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#67 of 175 in Cancun
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
1.7 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#69 of 175 in Cancun
4,845 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Hotel & Suites Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Property: Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Address: Blvd kukulcan km 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 72160, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing