We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dos Playas Beach House
Ranked #63 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here in mid April for 10 days. The hotel is in a good location right on the beach and away from the party centre of Cancun. The room was very spacious and had plenty of storage, the bathroom was good and had a big shower. A/C worked very well which was a huge relief. From what we could tell rooms are cleaned every other day and fresh towels where not always supplied which was slightly annoying but reception where very good and supplied us on the 2 days we asked.
The food is rather limited in choice and was often not very warm but it all tasted good and was cooked well. The hotel did some very nice outdoor theme meals away from the main restaurant every other night including Mexican, Italian and Thai which we highly recommend.
The real gem of the hotel is the service and atmosphere. All the staff are very friendly and could not of worked any harder in our opinion.

Room Tip: Mexico is a "tipping" culture so spend a few pasos on tips and your experience will be muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for 2 nights over the Easter holidays as a stop over before heading to Tulum.

First the good points:
Great beach
Large beds
Location close to Isla Mujeres ferry
Good variety of food in the restaurant
Nice pool
Decent A/C

Unfortunately they're outweighed by the bad:
Upon check in card machine didn't work (they blamed our cards which we knew were fine). We were asked to pay in full with cash instead but we didn't have enough on us so we were requested to leave full card details including PIN and security code so they could take the money overnight without us being there!
The peso price quoted when we booked wasn't available and we were charged $200 more and had to take all inclusive (which also wasn't mentioned when we booked)
The place needs some serious tlc, with peeling paint and the air of a 1980s holiday camp
Stained bed linen in room
Someone else's hair all over the shower walls, shower leaked all over the floor due to flimsy shower curtain that didn't reach floor, bathroom door didn't close due to door frame disintegrating.
Side table missing foot and was propped up with folded paper
To access the restaurant on the second night guests had to walk through a building site opposite our room with no lighting or information on how to get to the make shift dining area which resembled someone's back garden
No safety information in rooms or details of how to contact reception in case of an emergency

Sorry but it definitely isn't worth the money they charge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to publish your valuable reviews. Please, be advised that it is very common to experience such trouble with creadit cards when you travel outside your country. We suggest tourists to notify their bank about their trip in order to avoid these problems. At the hotel we can only charge credit cards in mexican currency, so we convert the rate from US dollars to Mexican Pesos. The problem is that your bank will apply a different exchange rate and you may get significant differences due to this. The best thing to do is pay online, directly in your currency, so you are safe from these variations on the final rate. Our property property meets the basic requirements of a three star hotel. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations. To contact the reception desk you just have to dial "0".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel a full week at the end of March,
Good location.
Nice quite beach.
Good variety of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner .
Nice pool and garden area.
Friendly staff
Daily housekeeping.
The only bad point is that there is a very busy road close by, and depending on where your apartment is, you might be facing this road where traffic pass non stop day and night. (Bring earplugs)
Not too much entertainment after 10pm, only 2 shows run by the hotel ,
Suitable for couples, family's and young crowds, although wasn't any kids when we went.

Room Tip: keep away from the apartments closest to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here for 10 nights at the end of January.
There were 4 of us. We enjoyed our holiday because:
We didn't go there for the hotel!
we did our homework
we knew what we were letting ourselves in for.
we didn't pay for, or expect fine cuisine.
we didn't pay for, or expect luxurious rooms.
we didn't pay for, or expect to be waited on hand and foot.
we are experienced travellers.
we tipped the maids daily and received clean linnen, towels etc everyday!
we bothered to learn some basic Spanish.

We are all scuba divers and theis hotel was picked as a cheap base, clean & secure, job done!
We were there for 10 nights and nome of us got upset stomachs!

The hotel needs to be loved by the owners. It needs some maintenence, paint and an overhaul.
There is plenty to moan about, but when you are out there, so just go with the flow and get on with your holiday. You'll be home before you know it, and there is plenty more to moan about there.

Breakfast could be served from 6:30 am, this way people on excursions gan start their day better.
We had no water one morning, not much fun if you have to go out on a coach unwashed.
We found the food was warmer is you went in an hour later.
We enjoyed the afternoon pizza facility, The sea was nice in January, the beach was small and there were not enough sun loungers. I liked the lizzards in the gardens. The small drinks became annoying, and you got more rum in your pinacolada if you put your pesos in the tip jar

Cancun Scuba Centre is on the beach beside the hotel. Juan Carlos will look after all your Scuba requirements. The Cancun reef diving is fantastic and the Cenote cave diving is awsome!

With Politeness, flexibility and Patience you should get your issues resolved.
We were firstly taken to 1014 "a room from hell" It was dark, dank, dingy and smelly. It had no balcony, view or natural light. this room should not be offered to customers! Fine for 20 yrs olds but unsuitable (insulting) for over 35's. Within 10 minutes we were placed in room 211.
The air condition unit was hanging off the wall, it hadn't worked for years, we opened the balcony door, and had fresh air. The t.v. had 80 non english channels! No English news - wierd with USA being so close. The wifi was overpriced.
It didn't ruin our holiday!
Cancun town is a 5 minute bus ride away for 50 pence each way.
I hope this helps.

Room Tip: Avoid the 100's block, the 200's were acceptable. Don't expect too much, be very flexib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunshinemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One of the original hotels in Cancun, in need of a little bit of tlc. Very clean rooms, and the staff were always very friendly and polite.
I would recommend this hotel for couples or even families to stay at as it is only a cheap short bus ride to Downtown area or the hotel zone. The food was always fresh and not once in the twelve days that we stayed did we have an upset stomach. It is only about 1/2 hour away from the airport so no long journey after the flight. 5 swimming pools on the hotel site. Less than a minutes walk to the beach so ideal if you prefer to go in the sea.
The pizza snack shack is open all day until 19.00 and the bar with other food is open from 10.30 to 17.00.
I would definately recommend going to this hotel if you are on a budget as it would meet all the requirements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
2  Thank Janet Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The service of this hotel was terrible, the chamber maids stolen from us numberous of times as well as from other guests at the hotel. Once complained the managment refused to believe us as they stated they had asked the maids who then refused to of taken this money (obviously). The food was also awful and the choice was limited, we lived on sweetcorn on bread. wi-fi never worked and was very restricted even when purchased. very poor entertainment however the entertainment staff were lovely! we were fined for cleaning up our own sick and also fined for urinating the bed even tho the person had a bladder infection, this was again explained. The hotel were not help when my travel money card had gone missing nor when my camera had been stolen. Never again would i stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojobooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Dos Playas Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

The comments on this review only intend to blame/punish the hotel for taking the necessary actions about overly intoxicated guests who urinated the bed and damaged the furniture in the room. Stating that the chambers maids stolen your belongings "a numberous times" is not only false, but it is a serious slander. CELUISMA takes very seriously the safety and integrity of its guests. At the same time they are asked to conduct themselves decently respecting others guests and taking care of the furniture in the property as your own. Any damages caused by the negligence of a guest may be penalized with an extra charge to offset the damage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a real good time in this small hotel. It is in a good location and close to the ferry to the Island nearby. Close to the beach and the pool was nice and clean and warm. Staff friendly, enjoyed the Pizza on a lunchtime, freshly made to order

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Flamingo Cancun Resort
Flamingo Cancun Resort
#77 of 177 in Cancun
3,086 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
0.7 mi away
Casa Maya Cancun
Casa Maya Cancun
#62 of 177 in Cancun
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
Holiday Inn Cancun Arenas
#101 of 177 in Cancun
929 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#49 of 177 in Cancun
2,225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#70 of 177 in Cancun
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Playas Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Playas Beach House

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 6.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dos Playas Hotel Cancun)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £40 - £1,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dos Playas Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dos Playas a 3 stars hotel is ideal for its convenient location in the famous hotel zone of Cancun. It is situated directly on the beach, next to the pier for traveling to Isla Mujeres, and in front of an Aquatic Club. It is located only 5 minutes from world class dining, many restaurants and the heart of the hotel zone and nightclubs. Dos Playas hotel features lush gardens and breezy palms for ultimate relaxation on a beachside getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dos Playas Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing