We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at the Inn (had a confirmed reservation and printed email)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No room at the Inn (had a confirmed reservation and printed email)”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked 3 weeks before travelling. When we arrived at 9.00 at night with our three kids (as we had said we would) we were told there was no room for us. We received some limited help in finding an alternative hotel, which earns them 1* as it worked out fine for us in the end.

But seriously, be careful if you plan on staying here, as you might get an unwelcome surprise.

Room Tip: Get a confirmed reservation somewhere else :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluetoffee316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    48
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
45
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I suppose there are people who really love Cancun, and probably stay at one of the beach resorts. That is great for what it is, but I have to say generally I am not a big fan of Cancun.

What I liked about los Girasoles was that it was central (only five blocks or so from the main ADO station), but when you are there or on the streets nearby, it doesn't feel like you are in Disneyland Mexico.

It's a comfortable place, with nice, airy rooms, and a number of fun local restaurants and bars nearby (leaving aside the one with donkey saddles for barstools). Very affordable - I think it was 400 pesos a night when I was there, in April 2012.

Beware of all the Cancun cab drivers though - I think most of the ones I had tried to rip me off - "no, not the forty pesos that we agreed on for this (five block) ride, forty dollars!"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed for one night coming back from Holbox. Room was functional - everything worked. And it was clean. Staff was very friendly, helpful and put up with my spanish. Mattress was average.
We were there Sunday so most of the restaurants were closed on restaurant row - ave Yaxchilan. However, La Parrilla had a buffet. It was comforting see a whole bunch of locals.

The place is a modest, safe and quiet property. They serve no breakfast. However, there's a very nice diner-type place within 2 minutes walking distance.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

When you're two or more persons, travelling Yucatan on a budget, and need a hotel after flying into (or before flying out of) Cancún, Los Girasoles is a great option. It's 400 pesos for a clean, spacious double room with fan, airconditioning, a good bed and a warm shower. The Calle Pina is a quiet street in downtown Cancún, almost no traffic. It's a ten minute walk from the ADO bus station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My boyfriend and I chose a Cancun city hotel since we arrived late the first night and planned to visit Isla Mujeres the next day before journeying on in the Riviera Maya. The hotel was basic, but very clean and safe. Lots of great local restaurants and bars in walking distance, and easy to catch a taxi nearby. For $30 USD a night, this place far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Must email for a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_Travel917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Ideal for us as a last night before flying out of Cancun. Very clean and well appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff and very good value. Located in a quiet backstreet, but only a few minutes walk from restaurants, bars, shopping etc. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BILLINGS
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

It is walking distance from the bus station, especially when you walk through the big park. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, TV, air conditioning and internet. For the 400p a night for two people, it was a good deal. Our room did have a slight musty smell, but we just opened the windows, turned the fan on and it was fine. It is on a very quiet little street for being right downtown. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: second floor room, so that you can open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 175 in Cancun
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#102 of 175 in Cancun
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#91 of 175 in Cancun
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#100 of 175 in Cancun
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rivemar
Rivemar
#124 of 175 in Cancun
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#115 of 175 in Cancun
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Girasoles Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Property: Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
Address: Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel los Girasoles Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Girasoles propietors and staff, give you a warm wellcome to Cancun, the Mexican Caribean's Paradise. We put at your service our great small hotel that offers you the ideal balance between the comfort and convenient location at a truly affordable price. We count with 17 rooms, where you can enjoy in a friendly environment of Comfort in the facilities and high standars of cleaniness, located in downtown zone in a very safe area, multiple services to facilitate your stay and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel los Girasoles Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing