We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to bus station, pretty cheap”
Review of Suites Gaby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites Gaby Hotel
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were basic but nice, with a big TV and comfortable bed. It's also about 1km from the ADO bus station, with convenience stores and the like located within walking distance. The wifi cut out once for about an hour, but that was about my only complaint. For the price, this place can't be beat in the city and I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here only one night with a group of 12. As we were leaving, taking the hotel shuttle to the airport, the manager ran out and told us that we had stolen some kind of candle holder from the bathroom and that we would have to pay $100.00 to replace it. We didn't even know what he was talking about. We said we did not take it and even asked to see the list of items and their prices so we could verify the $100.00, but they had nothing. Because the shuttle we were taking was the hotel's , the manager told us that he would not let the driver drive us to the airport unless we paid the ludacris $100 fee for a candle holder he claimed was stolen. We were already late for our flight so we paid out of necessity. We stayed here for the value, but ended up short because of shady management.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. And if you do, take pictures of everything in the room upon checking in and again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Not a bad place to stay for a couple nights or so. In downtown and Walmart is within walking distance. Great location if you are planning to use the ADO bus terminal. Clean rooms, friendly staff and small local Mexican restaurants are right around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Among the best hotels we stayed at in Mexico. Great value. We paid around 30 us dollars for a clean, large room. Many resturants within 10 minutes walk. Safe area. Free working wifi.
Perfect if you just stay a couple of nights in Cancun.

Room Tip: No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Suites Gaby is a no frills hotel. The rooms are immaculate, very clean...that's because there is nothing in them. You get two beds, a TV, and nightstand. There are no amenities...so bring your own soap, shampoo, washcloth, etc. We stayed here for a layover and it was perfect. Walking distance to Wal-Mart, convenience and souvenir shops. There is no elevator, so be prepared to drag your luggage up a flight of stairs. I would definitely stay here again on a layover.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hwndrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

location was perfect, stone' s throw away from convenience stores, the arts and souvenirs market, central plaza. receptionist Veronica was very knowledgable and helpful in planning our day trips to the beach and mayan sites, giving us directions to catch local buses which was so easy! rooms were clean with towels and cable tv. the safe in our room didnt work but staff were honest, reliable. very affordable too since we got it during a sale. the only con is there were no windows but that is a tiny quibble all things considered. stay away from hotel zone and try flan and homemade fries by the streets downtown cancun. a small local restaurant near the hotel had super enchiladas too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirdfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Pro
- clean room
- comfortable new bed
- very affordable
- free in-room safe
- across street from Mercado 28 (food and flea market)
- 10 minute walking distance from Walmart
- friendly, nice and honest staff with one exception (see below)

Con
- free unreliable WIFI
- no hairdryer
- no iron
- they count towels when you check out
The receptionist ruined our experience with the hotel. Her words and promises were always inconsistent. One example, she'd say the driver is at home so there is no bus service. But when we were waiting outside for taxi, the driver approached us with transportation with one price. When we went back to her desk to take care of payment, she'd ask for more money. And it wasn't even a language barrier - she spoke English very well... I would rate 2 out of 5 but we enjoyed all the other aspects of the hotel so... Also the cleaning staff is VERY honest. Grandma dropped a diamond ring on the floor the night before and forgot about it. When we returned from our day trip, it was placed on the nightstand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thisisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#87 of 177 in Cancun
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
1.3 mi away
Terracaribe Hotel
Terracaribe Hotel
#107 of 177 in Cancun
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#106 of 177 in Cancun
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 177 in Cancun
443 reviews
1.9 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#51 of 177 in Cancun
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Gaby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Gaby Hotel

Address: Av. Sunyaxche Lote 46 y 47 | Mza 2 Supermanzana 25, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: £21 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites Gaby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Gaby has a privileged location in downtown Cancun, a few minutes walking from the bus station, to the airport, to Playa del Carmen and beach area, a few steps from the main handicraft market in Cancun "Mercado 28", malls, restaurants and bars, their facilities meet comfort for people who want to vacation but also for people traveling on business; rooms have access to free wi-fi, work desk, flat screen TV with digital box for cable channels, air conditioning, electronic safe with lap top capacity, German design windows against noise and electronic locks, Suites Gaby has a restaurant "The Turtle" where we served delicious Mexican breakfasts, free covered parking, free internet is available in public areas, valet parking and 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Suites Gaby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing