We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved Our Vacation, Treated Us Royally, Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
239 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Saved Our Vacation, Treated Us Royally, Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were not planning on staying here, but after a disastrous check in experience at the JW Marriott, we moved here at the last minute. Outstanding experience. Wonderful staff; always smiling and helpful without being intrusive. We were given a recently renovated room (7009), with ocean view; very nice. Food was excellent all the way around. Great breakfast buffet. Had dinner on the beach in a cabana; wonder experience, as was a quiet spaghetti room service dinner.

Coffee and cookies are upfront for you early risers.

Spa is wonderful. Pool is perfect as is the beach. There are ample pool chairs for the number of guests and the staff runs to help you set up the chairs and umbrellas. You are within walking distance of two small convenience stores.

To my knowledge there are no rooms that face the lagoon (contrary to other reviews here); you are either ocean view or oceanfront. Balconies are nice.

Bottom line: we are planning on returning in 2015.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. We stayed here right after the opening in 1985, and they are now...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,067
    412
    135
    61
    37
See reviews for
695
1,157
76
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great, high quality hotel for Cancun. Great service on the beach.

The property and the rooms feel a bit dated. But everything is well maintained.

They are stingy with the coffee pods for the Nespresso machine in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I just came back from 3 nights at the Cancun Ritz Carlton. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport in the middle of a lot of hotels. Room was very nice with a view of the ocean and over the smaller pool of the property. Bathroom was also very nice. Service here is generally outstanding although it took a while each day to have my room cleaned and there was a strange odor in the bathroom that management was never able to figure out how to eliminate. I was told it had something to do with under the tiles and the floor below. I thought management would have made an adjustment on my bill but they did not. Internet service generally worked very well and the staff was generally very helpful and nice (particularly at the pool and beach. Beach is beautiful and the food was generally very good.
During the stay the hotel and I think the whole area had an infestation of black horse type flies in advance of a rain storm. Thousands of these flies descended on the property. A small complaint could be that the hotel did not do a very good job of cleaning up these flies which were everywhere. I imagine it caught them off guard. Notwithstanding the few issues noted above this is a beautiful property and if I were in Cancun again I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredSiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights, primarily as a base for visiting Chichen Itza.

We have stayed in many Ritz Carlton hotels for leisure, mainly in cities. The location of this hotel was very different as it is a resort hotel.
As usual when staying in a Ritz Carlton we chose to stay in a Club floor room, with the inclusive lounge, refreshments and 4-5 food servings per day.

We had some difficulties here :-

1. We chose an ‘Ocean Front’ room, expecting it to be just that – a room fronting onto the beach/sea. What we actually got was an ocean view looking towards the sea, but with the pool/grounds between us and the sea, and without the panoramic view the literature promised. After much discussion the hotel agreed that their descriptions were misleading.

2. As has been suggested by others the hotel is, in our opinion, VERY dated. It has the feel of something from the 1980’s. We had severe problems with things like drainage in the bedroom (our bathroom flooded several times) and cold showers.

3. The vast majority of guests are from the US and therefore during US holiday times the hotel is very full. We made the mistake of visiting during Thanksgiving and the Club lounge was chaotic and really unpleasant much of the time, with hoards of young families charging around morning, noon & night. The club lounge food & drink offer however is up to usual Ritz Carlton standard, so non US holiday periods could be just fine.

So – in many ways we were very disappointed in the hotel, particularly as we had chosen to upgrade to the Club option. However …

The various managers with spoke with, and the staff were nice decent people who tried very hard to correct the wrongs and to compensate us for the disappointments. In our opinion some of the problems are not of their making – they are good people trying to do the best with what they have.

The location, beach and facilities are pretty good but expect to pay significant sums for some of the facilities e.g. cabanas. The food in the restaurants we found to be fairly good, however the price may be very excessive for some.

So – in the end we had an ‘OK’ stay. However our advice to travellers who are used to usual Ritz Carlton , is do your research before finally deciding this hotel is for you. It is very possible to have a good stay at this hotel, but as has been seen by the variety of reviews here the scope for disappointment is also great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmacOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora R, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you would have hoped. We apologize for the problems encountered with the view of the room and drainage in the bedroom, please know that we will work hard to improve our current plumbing and drainage system to ensure it is always up to Ritz-Carlton standards.

Additionally, I appreciate your positive comments regarding our hotel location, beach and staff. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were here for a convention and did not have high expectations, but we were so pampered! We loved everything about this property ! The rooms are lovely and the is beach is readily accessible. The food is really good, from lunch at the pool to a very fancy tasting dinner! We had an unexpected afternoon of rain and the staff opened up the bar for us! The spa is 5star and the service impeccable! The staff cannot be beat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora R, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at our resort, specially the service at the Spa and the pampering or our Ladies and Gentleman. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

If you are staying at the RITZ, obviously it is pricey and I would not talk about it. The service here is just out of the World. Drinks and food are served on the beach until 5.30PM. Have some budget for reserving a table at the Casitas , one of the best things ($125 for just reserving it). Free Wifi in the lobby lounge which works out in the pool area as well. The lobby lounge has good food (try lobster tacos).. LUV the breakfast menu. Overall it is a great experience. Make sure to sometimes take a walk outside the Ritz on the main road apart from walking on the beach. I love the morning walks . CHEERS !!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Legacykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a perfect getaway for a mother/daughter 5 day trip. The Ritz Carlton in Cancun was just what we expected...a luxury hotel on a beautiful beach in Cancun. The facilities were very nice and clean, and exactly in keeping with the style and decor of the Ritz Carlton brand. The hotel service was OUTSTANDING, from the front desk staff, to bellmen, maids, wait staff, pool and beach service..it didn't end. Everyone knew our names and were very solicitous. The food in all the restaurants was also excellent and in fact two of the restaurants (the club grill and fantino) are among the best for fine dining in Cancun. Another fun dining experience in which we partook was at The Culinary Center where we were a group of 10 who took a Tuscan dinner cooking lesson in the gorgeous Viking clad kitchen where we got to cook and eat (and drink) our dinner under the direction of the wonderful engaging chef. A not to miss experience! Overall this is a great hotel for luxury and service in Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.5 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 175 in Cancun
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Address: Retorno del Rey #36 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, our Cancun hotel resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing