We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
Nearby Hotels
US$506
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$800
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun(Cancun)
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$451
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$508
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$604
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,181)
Filter reviews
3,182 results
Traveller rating
2,434
470
155
70
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,434
470
155
70
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub levelculinary centerclub grillechef rorycafe mexicanoocean frontlobby loungefitness centerfour seasonsper daycold towelsbreakfast buffet ismy pleasureluxury hotelbeach serviceoceanfront roombeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
1,556 - 1,561 of 3,182 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second stay at The Ritz in Cancun and it was amazing, as was last time! This time we brought friends and they were pleased as well.....and we had really talked it up to them! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family including 2 kids (16 and 12) just returned from a glorious week in Cancun at the Ritz. It was a bit of a last minute decision, although the hotel was near capacity we were able to get 2 ocean front rooms right next to each other. The hotel is not all inclusive but we were able to get some nice incentives such as 5th night free, $100 resort credit per room and complimentary buffet breakfast each morning.

We did not have a renovated room (I think floors 7,8 and 9 renovated, and they are working their way down the floors). However, our rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and luxury touches. After having recently returned from Capella Pedregal in Cabo which is amazing, I hope that Ritz renovates with an elegant hacienda look (like Capella) while keeping their signature luxe. Anyone considering Cabo should take a serious look at Capella Pedregal.

Like the other reviewers mention, service is exceptional. We were greeted with by name with a smile from just about every employee. It was no issue at all to find excellent beach or pool seating, and there was always someone to greet you with towels and set up your chairs and beach umbrella. Service beach and poolside was quick and friendly, and beach vendors are at a minimum. The hotel is family friendly and there were quite a few people with children. It was not, however, intrusive, loud or out of control. The Ritz is simply a hotel that successfully caters to families and couples.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful with many choices and kept very fresh. It was a very nice way to start each morning with our family, and as usual the service was warm and inviting. Special thanks to Joel and Rudy ...two servers who were particularly wonderful.

We spent most days at the beach and pool...wave runners, parasailing and the likes are just a minute's walk down the beach. Nice that these activities are very close, but not directly on the stretch of beach in front of the Ritz. We also spent a morning snorkeling at nearby Puerto Morelos, which the hotel helped to set up. Another activity that we would add next time is Zip Lining at Selvatica.

The dining options at the Ritz for dinner are very expensive, so we ate at nearby restaurants. There are very many within a short cab or walk. Our kids also enjoyed La Isla mall (again, a short cab or walk away) which has some nice dining options, shopping and the like. One of our fave mall shops is Ah Cacao chocolate cafe which we originally discovered in Playa del Carmen a few years ago. Our only mistake this trip was going to the Plaza Forum (close to downtown) for dinner one night. This area has the "party/spring break" vibe and was generally loud and seedy. Fine for lots of people, but we were glad to return to our sanctuary at the Ritz.

It was a fabulous trip and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a great view of the ocean. You can probably save a few dollars doing ocean view vs ocean front. We wanted pure view... Ours were ocean front on the 3rd floor which offered a full, unemcumbered view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank texasgal4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There are so many other hotels that are cheaper, in better locations and with better service. This 5 star hotel does not offer complimentary wifi in your bedroom which is a shocker since most hotels do nowadays. The service was nothing exceptional and we didn't see that there is anything special about this place at all. I have stayed at 4-star hotels that has better food, service and facilities. So it didn't really live up to expectations. Nevertheless, it's clearly not a bad hotel, but I'd say you can get better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nora R, Executive offices at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you would have hoped. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service and facilities for our guests and learning that your overall visit did not meet your expectations is disappointing.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from The Ritz-Carlton Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went with the whole family on a 5 night work incentive trip here. The service is always first class at the Ritz and there are no complaints with that! The beach water is beautiful! The rooms could probably use some updating but were still clean and well taken care of. While we enjoyed our stay the city of Cancun was not somewhere I would have payed to take my family. Way too much like a Miami Beach or any other tourist beach town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackroo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

19th century elegance in Cancun is a bit unusual but this hotel experience was incredible. Service was superb, property is immaculate and we hated to leave. The restaurants are quite expensive but for $1 USD you can take the local bus to many less expensive dining options. I highly recommended the Ritz-Carlton Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jdforti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews