We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Hotel Zone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Ranked #67 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We checked into this resort for one night at the beginning of our vacation and three nights at the end. If you're expecting a typical Westin, this hotel may not meet your expectations -- it's a bit more shabby (sloppy painting, orange water came out the tap in the bathtub, outdated decor) but still a great place to stay -- the AC works well, there are plenty of pools and a great view of the ocean. (Even when hotels in Mexico say you can drink the tap water I still don't drink it just as a precaution). They give you bottled water, which I use for drinking and brushing my teeth.

Tip: Stay on the first floor. The rooms have gorgeous rounded ceilings painted blue.

Also, the Sunset bar has the best guacamole and ceviche we had the entire trip. The meal at the restaurant inside was disappointing, though.

If you've never been to the Cancun/Maya Riviera area I would only stay a night or two here. It's in a very touristy area and therefore feels safer than Playa Del Carmen bc so many people speak English, but you don't see the real Yuctan. Even though Isla Mujeres is touristy now it feels more authentic than the hotel zone, so does Playa Del Carmen.

Also, you can save money by taking the R1 or R2 buses around the Hotel Zone area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with a rounded ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Kate F

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in Westin Cancun!


We hope that when your plans bring you back to Cancun you will stay with us agian

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed 2 weeks in this great resort. Had a nice / large room with view on the lagoon and ocean. Pools are perhaps on the small site, but that is about the only remark I could make. Very good restaurants and nice bars. Super friendly and helpful staff, as well in the outlets as for the concierge staff, the room maids etc. Very very calm , though the hotel seemed to be well filled this does not show at the pools /.beach etc , just a top hotel to relax. Absolutely advisable place to stay !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Chris H

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay, we are pleased that you have a relax your stay!

We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurants and you our staff assisted you during your stay.

We hope when your plans bring you back to Cancun stay with us again!

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We only stayed one night here because we wanted to be close to the airport for an early flight. I had also heard there was good snorkeling near by so we came early. I booked a club room with points so I can't speak to the price-Free. the club room was great, a tremendous ocean view and spacious veranda and room. The cocktail hour in the evening and breakfast in the morning were great, especially because the food was quite pricey- $15 for a burger. We filled up on the little hot foods but still had to order room service later. Breakfast was very big and they have everything.

I liked the peace and quiet of the hotel. We easily found a palapa, I don't think the hotel was full. The best part is if you walk down the beach on the other side of the point, there is excellent snorkeling in front of club med. Water shoes would be great for the walk on the rocks, but I managed in flip flops. The snorkeling is very shallow and crystal clear. We saw a hug trunk fish and a French Angel, lots of fish and coral. We also tried to snorkel by the rocks at the end of the beach but it's very cloudy there and not nearly as good as the other side. However, we did see some barracuda and a stone fish fairly close to shore. On the second day, the lifeguard yelled at me for going past the buoys. There wasn't much to see over there, anyway. If you do snorkel, go to the other side of the point.

The cocktail hour drinks were really strong, and the staff was very friendly. They are working on tips, so they make you sign for everything free. I was surprised and thought she was going to charge for the drinks but she just wanted a tip, which I had already left on the table.

I liked the hotel. I prefer Playa del Carmen or Akumal, but if you are going to stay in Cancun, this is a good bet. If you want the scene, this may not be the hotel for you. It's quite far away from the center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sacoxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun!

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Westin Cancun! We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay in our Royal Beach Club.

We apologized for the misunderstood regarding the Royal Beach Club, we give our guests that stay in Royal Beach Club a check in zeros to sign to control the access to the Royal Beach.

We hope you give us again the opportunity to host you on your next visit in Cancun.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Cancun and could not have pick'd a nice place to stay. We booked at the Royal Beach Club part. Rooms are nice inside with the heavenly bed bonus. Staff are friendly and helpful. We have "Mariel" as our server who took care of us on days of our stay during 5-7pm happy hour. And the morning crew at breakfast all of them are attentive to our needs. Family sat on the same table everyday "Senor Chicharito" as they call me. We will be back again Westin.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank TonyBourdain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay in our Royal Beach Club!

Our guests well being is very important for us and we are happy to know that you sleep well in our Heavenly Bed.

We appreciate your comments regarding Mariel, she will receive a recognition from our Management for her excellent service.

We hope you will visit us again!

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A very nice resort overall. A slight downside for this resort is its location. It is one of the first resorts coming from the airport (good) but it is a bit of a long bus or taxi ride to the city area with all the restaurants and shops. The food options at the hotel are good, so if your goal is to stay put at the resort, this is a good choice.
The rooms are large, with tile floors - this makes for some echoes and hallway noise. The air conditioning is great - you can really cool off your room quite quickly (a great feature when you come in from the beach). The beach and pools are excellent, and the staff friendly and quick to offer services as needed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun!

Our main goal id our guest satisfaction and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit us again!

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a wonderful trip to Cancun. The Westin is beautiful and well maintained with great beaches and pools. It's away from the "Spring Break" atmosphere of downtown, yet minutes away but the bus that stops right in front of the hotel. There are so many adventures nearby including swimming with dolphins, ferries to Isla Mujeres, parasailing and the fun bars.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAT07444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun, we appreciate your comments regarding your stay!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in Westin Cancun!

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We traveled to Cancun this past week and as you would expect from a Westin, it was consistent as they usually are and the service was very good. Everyone was friendly and I would recommend it to my friends if they should want to travel to Cancun. The only thing I would say is since they have the new Westin half way up the hotel zone, they try very hard to get the guests to take a tour. It started with 4 calls the first day welcoming us to the hotel and asking if we had gotten our welcome gift which happened to be a $100 credit if we went on the 1.5 hour tour of the new Westin... The first call was nice but the 3 following were excessive. They proceeded to call and if we weren't in the room, they would leave messages the days following...that was a little annoying. SO, avoid guest services - just go to the concierge! I didn't know they were salespeople - I just wanted directions!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tripwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Westin Cancun!

We are glad that you enjoy your stay!

Also we thank you for your feedback regarding our Concierge department, we sent your comments to our Concierge Manager and he is taking actions to avoid the occurrence.

Be well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
5.1 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
7.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.4 mi away
Emporio Cancun
Emporio Cancun
#46 of 176 in Cancun
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
2.5 mi away
Omni Cancun Resort & Villas
7 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun

Address: Boulevlard Kukulcan KM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#47 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#51 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £106 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. Our our glorious resort in Cancun, Mexico features private beaches and four outdoor pools. We offer a luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™ as well as opportunities to enjoy many water sports. Tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips are all available to you at The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing