We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Ranked #68 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it !!!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed the last 2 nights of my trip in this hotel and it was by far the worst one of all. If you need internet in the room, you need to pay for it... Breakfast is not included... They have no activities or things (fins, masks, kayak, etc) to "borrow" as other hotels have... The room was a bit dirty when I arrived....anyway, if you are looking for the resort experience, stay away from this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasBFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear LucasBFR

Our main goal is our guest satisfaction and we apologize that it was not your case.

Thank you for provide us with your feedback and we share your comments with our department heads.

We hope you will give us another opportunity and our guest service manager will be very gladly to assist you

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    1,121
    504
    240
    158
See reviews for
748
1,226
143
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in The Westin Resort & Spa with my boyfriend in the last 2 days of our 2 weeks trip in the Riviera Maya. And this hotel did not leave the best impression for the reasons to follow. First of all people at the front desk were cold and not much helpful when we had questions. When I asked them to check my name as a Starwood Preferred Guest member, which I am, they said they couldn't find my membership which then didn't allow me to enjoy the SPG members advantage that they advertise so much in the hotel. Secondly, as some one else mentioned in her review, the first time I went take a shower in my suite, I found hair in the wall that wasn't mine... Kind of disgusting and leave you wondering about the cleaning of other things in your room. Towels didn't smell good neither. They had a strong chlorine smell. On top of all that, the only thing that is complimentary in your stay is the towels to take to the beach, since you had to pay for internet in your room, pay for breakfast, and pay for any other leisure activity you might want to do, and all of that was way expensive. In my view, a resort should offer you a minimum number of complimentary things to be called so. If that all isn't enough, The Westin is quite far from restaurants and convenience stores in case you are hungry and don't want to spend a lot in a meal.
However, the ocean front view room has a very beautiful view of the beach, the room has a mini fridge which is convenient and the kingsize bed is very comfortable.
But in summary, the other resort we stayed in Cancun wasn't as stuck-up and expensive as The Westin but definitely offered more enjoyable stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank laurapr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Laura R.

We would like to apologize regarding the inconveniences during your stay at Westin Cancun.

Our SPG members are very important for us because their loyalty and We apologize that the front desk didn't assist you regarding this matter and you was not able to enjoy the benefits, our Front Desk Manager received your feedback and he is taking action.

For the cleaning in the room our housekeeping Manager made an action plan to avoid the occurrence.

We are glad you was able to sleep well in our Heavenly Bed and you enjoy the ocean view.

We really hope you will give us again the opportunity and our Guest Service department will be very happy to assist you anytime.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Cancun isn't my cup of tea but the room had a nice view and was clean. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

The food at the restaurant wasn't great, but we enjoyed the pool bar for appetizers and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLB005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear HLB005

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at westin Cancun!

We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay and our pool bar and We are sorry that you do not like our food in our restaurants.

We hope you will visit us soon!

Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband booked this for my birthday because it was a cheap last minute vacation. I can see why it was cheap. The building and rooms and old, dirty, and dated. The walls and doors had dirty, possibly bloody fingerprints on them, the sheets had brown stains on them, there is no refrigerator in the rooms, and the bathrooms are tiny, and not clean or pretty. They have absolutely no entertainment, yet its called a resort. There is absolutely nothing to do but eat and drink in the heat. The pool is not kept cool at all, so in 90 plus degrees, you hop into hot water! YUCK. If you don't buy their food and drink package, they charge ridiculous prices for individual meals and drinks. I was very disappointed in this resort. The only plus was a nice lobby bar called "The Place" where the nice bartender Freddy was very pleasant and they outdoor seating there was very nice. Would NEVER go back to this resort ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Cathy H

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay, our main goal is our guest satisfaction and we are sorry that it is not your case.

I share your feedback to our Housekeeping, Maintenance and Food and Beverages departments and they made an action plan to avoid the occurrence.

We hope you give us again the opportunity and our Guest Service Manager will be very gladly to assist you.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is a good place to stay for the price you pay for it. Is very clean and in great shape. Rooms need an urgent remodeling work, but beds are fabulous. The beach and sand is the best in Cancun, and beside the hotel is the Club med in wich the sea gets even better. You can swim in the ocean like if it was a pool. The ocean's color is beautiful.
A las habitaciones les urge una remodelación, sobretodo en el baño y los pisos en general, daban asco. Fuera de eso, esta bastante aceptable.

Room Tip: A las habitaciones les urge una remodelación, sobretodo en el baño y los pisos en general, daban asc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANANOGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Google Translation
Estimado CananoGM

Quisieramos agradecerle por su comentario en referencia a su estadía con nosotros!

Estamos muy contentos que haya disfrutado de su estancia en Westin Cancun, que haya podido dormir bien en nuestra cama celestial y haya podido refrescarse en nuestras playas paradisiacas.

Le agradecemos también su retroalimentación la cual es muy importante para nosotros en referencia a los pisos de los baños, ya he enviado su comentario a los departamentos involucrados quienes tomaran acciones.

Este bien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I spent 5 nights in this hotel and i could appriciate the nice beach, the good service all the employers was very very friendly if i come back to cancun i think to come back in this hotel good in quality and price

Room Tip: ask for the room at 1 level because are with garden and are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissi76bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Sissi76bg,

We would like to thank you for your preference at Westin Cancun!

We are glad that you enjoy your stay and our friendly staff assisted you during your stay.

We look forward your next visit to Westin Cancun!

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

After studying and traveling throughout central Mexico for about 3 weeks, I decided to visit the famed beaches of Cancun, especially due to my proximity. As with many other hotel chains, there is more than one Westin Resort hotel along the Cancun Hotel Zone- the other one being the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun. I have heard great things about this other hotel, which was why I was a bit disappointed, at first, when they had no availability. So, I went with this Westin and I must say that the entire staff- as well as the property and room furnishings- absolutely exceeded my expectations.

Since I was only staying for 4 nights and the price difference was not too bad at all, I decided to book a room at the resort's "Royal Beach Club". This is basically a hotel within a hotel (i.e. you have your own, dedicated concierge service, check-in, pool, not to mention a very delicious, complementary breakfast spread each morning and free cocktails for a time frame in the early evening). After breakfast, when it was time to hit the beach and/or pool (complete with swim-up bar, of course), the walking distance from the Royal Beach Club's building to the "main" part of the hotel and beach area was not very far at all. Therefore, if one needed to make fairly often trips back and forth for whatever reason, they designed the premises to be quite accessible.

As far as the staff and service goes, I give them 5/5 stars. Check-in and check-out was quick, easy, and with zero discrepancies with my bill. The food at the Resort's restaurants was absolutely superb and the waitstaff very accommodating. Furthermore, at the Resort's pool with the swim-up bar, the bar-tenders were attentive to their customers' desires and made some very good cocktails!

My room on the 5th floor of the Royal Beach Club was perfect for what I wanted. The furnished balcony looked out over the Caribbean Sea, the Westin beds were- indeed- Heavenly. The bathroom's shower with its "rainfall" shower-head was also quite nice. Finally, the room was clean and most certainly spacious; and this would hold true even if I was traveling with 1, 2, or even 3 other people (staying in the same room).

Final remarks: For the price, closeness to Cancun Int'l Airport (CUN), and high-quality of service, this Westin definitely lives up to the brand's high quality. Put succinctly: high-quality food and rooms, close to the airport, for the most reasonable price I could find anywhere along Cancun's Hotel Zone. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and also certainly consider staying at their again when I return to Cancun.

Room Tip: Higher floors within the "Royal Beach Club" are certainly better as far as the view goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin-Cancun, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Russell

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Westin Resort and Spa Cancun!

Our guest satisfaction is our main goal and we are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay in our Royal Beach Club.

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
8.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.3 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.7 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
1.1 mi away
GR Solaris Cancun
GR Solaris Cancun
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#47 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#52 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lounge endlessly at our glorious private beaches and four outdoor pools. Pamper yourself at the luxurious Heavenly Spa by Westin™. Or pick up the pace with countless water sports, plus tennis, golf, a top-notch gym, and fascinating local tours and day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing