We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Club Med Cancun was a good family vacation. The location of the club is great; the Mini Club staff is amazing but we were very disappointed in the front desk and the food. We were not happy with the buffet, compared to other club meds we went to, and wanted to try the Mexican restaurant; we were told at the front desk that reservations for the week start on Thursday at noon. We went to make a reservation on Thursday at noon as they requested and the restaurant was already booked. We were told that the restaurant opened up the reservations earlier that morning by mistake. No one was able to do anything for us (we informed Ugo of the issue since Aziz was on vacation). When we were leaving, I pointed to Amira, the reception manager, that there was not enough space for the 3 of us in the van (myself, my wife and my son); she briefly discussed the issue with the person handling the airport transfers who said that he did not have our son listed. Amira just smiled and said that my wife can sit next to the driver and my son can sit on my lap in the back.

We happen to be at the club in a week where the village chief and the executive chef were out on vacation. Some of management issues we noticed probably had to do w/ the fact that Aziz was out.

Room Tip: They do not have a price list at the photo shop; the price is different based on who you talk to. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hicham_C_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,146
    1,289
    408
    157
    90
See reviews for
3,054
937
201
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I spent my birthday there with a group of friends and had more fun than we ever guessed. Wakeboarding every morning, windsurfing or playing other sports all afternoon - it was heaven since all the activities are included and unlimited - best deal I've ever seen for a resort in a gorgeous location. Food was excellent throughout the property and all-inclusive means no extra fees like on cruise ships. This place is a bargain... we are going back next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the lagoon facing rooms closer to the wakeboarding & water skiing area - it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

It was my third visit to Club Med Cancun and I enjoyed it very much. Excellent cuisine, magnificent location, beautiful rooms, great shows, friendly and capable staff, all mamaged by a grest general manager, Aziz.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My partner and I just spent a week and a day at Club Med Cancun Yucatan and it could not have been better. From the moment we arrived at the resort we were greeted by name and were instantly in vacation mode. We stayed in the Jade area in a suite - this is definitely the way to go. Jonathan and Alana and the other G.O.s really know how to treat you. That's not to say the rest of the resort is not amazing as well, because it is. Everything is just so darn convenient. You want to snorkel or kayak for 10 minutes or 2 hours? Go ahead. Do a few backflips on the trapeze (don't worry...you're harnessed in) and then try some waterskiing before grabbing lunch and a poolside cocktail. We don't have kids, but the ones we saw were all smiling and having a great time…the parents too. They offer excursions (at a reasonable extra cost) to the local sites. We did the full day EcoCoba excursion which brought us to some Mayan temples and swimming in an underground cenote river. We were told by other guests that if we only did one excursion that this was the one to do. I don't disagree at all. I could go on and on. I look very much forward to our next trip there…I only wish it were soon.

Room Tip: Jade is the way to go if you can. The rooms are great and there is a private, beautiful, ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epacmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We just came back from a three night stay and had a fabulous time. The rooms and service were both excellent. The Club Med has the best spot on the beach with both a great swimming beach and a snorkeling and sailing beach. Club Med's food was excellent. We were there in May and had the run of the place. We would definitely go back there and perhaps take our kids with us next time! Note that it was a great value during the low season but prices can be quite expensive during Christmas week and other school holidays.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Topacio building which is right on the good swimming beach at the end of the Cancun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationlover342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The best spot in cancun s beach area! Snorkeling area, lagoon area, awesome beach! The staff is amazing! The food is very good! I would say the food is delicious! Many activities canoing, snorkeling, water gym! Awesome! The room are really average I was at the lagoon view, very far from the beach and from everything! I would suggest to spend more and take a sea view! if they had decorated the room the place would have been excellent. Anyway room are clean, so overall I would say go to this resort!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave19764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my first Club Med experience, and it certainly won't be the last. For those who are not familiar with Club Med, it's not exactly your typical all-inclusive experience. Most all-inclusives offer the same types of activities that Club Med does: water aerobics, sailing, etc. but no one does it with the same spirit that Club Med does. The G.O. team was really something....I cannot remember the last time I was around a group of such genuinely positive, happy, energetic people. It was wonderful to be around so much positive energy.

Much has been said about the location of this resort, so I won't belabor it....but it really is the best, most unique location in Cancun. Instead of being sandwiched in a high-rise resort on the busy main strip, you are tucked away on an idyllic peninsula so that you are truly getting away from it all. The resort itself, while beautiful and offering many amenities, is older. If you are looking for a flashy mega resort with multiple pools, lazy rivers, etc. you won't find it here.

We stayed in Jade, and the resort was very quiet during our week: I would say it was less than half full. So, my review is from that perspective.

1) Jade: was spectacular! It truly felt as though we were staying in a private villa of sorts, with a beautiful pool and oceanfront "back yard" just outside our door. The bar was lovely, as were the cabanas and seating areas. The rooms in Jade are the same as the deluxe rooms in other areas of the resort (unless you get a suite, which is quite a bit more money). The rooms are older, but clean and somewhat updated. Comfortable beds, good towels. Keep in mind that as nice as Jade is, this is still a moderately priced all-inclusive resort, so adjust expectations accordingly. We had nothing but wonderful, warm service from start to finish. I cannot say enough about the Jade pool staff...the bartenders, the servers, all were wonderful. We tipped well at the end of the week, but obviously would have received the same service even had we not tipped at our departure. We loved the room service menu, which they will serve to you poolside. Although the menu consists of salads, sandwiches, and a few desserts, all were delicious and well-prepared. We loved the nightly champagne aperitif. You can also have coffee and breakfast delivered to your room. The cocktails were well above those served in the rest of the resort (which were fine, but produced on a much larger scale so not quite as good). For the "resort within a resort" feeling, food, drinks, and personal service, Jade was worth every penny. Wifi was also included, which was nice.

2) Beach: beautiful. The main part of the resort (away from Jade) has the wide, sandy beaches. Not much new to say here that hasn't been said already.

3) Main pool: didn't use it. It is not the largest pool I've seen at an all-inclusive, so if you are "pool people" you may be disappointed.

4) Food: best I've had out of 4 all-inclusives I've stayed at. Don't miss the "gala" theme night at the buffet. Foie gras, duck, fresh fish, beef wellington, French cheeses. The steak house was pretty good....again, at an all-inclusive, adjust your expectations. The Mexican restaurant was my favorite. It is on the other side of the resort, so I think a lot of people don't know about it. It is in a big thatched-roof space right on the water. Don't miss the late lunch buffet from 1 to 4 p.m., the best views, outdoor seating, and tons of freshly prepared salads and Mexican specialties. At night, the menu is more "upscale" Mexican, including lobster.

5) Entertainment: I've always found the entertainment at all-inclusives to be pretty campy, and Club Med is no exception. It's amateur entertainment, but the G.O. team makes it special and thus more entertaining than your usual shows at other resorts.

6) Activities: tons of them. See other reviews. If you want, there is something to do from morning to night. The tennis program is especially good, with morning lessons for beginners, intermediate, and advanced each day. Aqua Gym with Karim in the ocean is a lot of fun, don't miss it!

We enjoyed ourselves so much that we didn't even think about leaving the resort once all week! That is the mark of a great resort, and great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunLvr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
7.7 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
5.9 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 175 in Cancun
5,959 reviews
0.1 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#2 of 175 in Cancun
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
3.7 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#8 of 175 in Cancun
6,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Property: Club Med Cancun Yucatan
Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#19 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing