We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more pleased!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years. We come at least twice a year. Why? The staff makes this a "great" hotel. We have just gone through hurricane Rina and what a great job the staff did to keep us safe. At the threat of evacuation, the general manager sought out the guest to tell us she had made arrangements for us to move inland to Merida to the ICH there. The staff made the travel arrangements for us, then checked on us several times until we could return safely to Cancun. That's why this hotel, its staff and General Manager, Natilie Urban, get our highest praise. We've never been in any other hotel, and we travel a lot and travel around the world, that takes such good care of its guests.

In addition the beach is the best in Cancun, food is good and fairly priced, and the atmosphere is just what one looks for in a tropical resort. Even without the hurricane the staff and management really care...and fellow travelers...isn't that what we really want when away from home?

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

We thank you for taking your time to post your comments and for your kind words which we will share at our employee meeting. Service and safety are our priorities in our daily operation as we want our guests to relax and feel “at home”. We look forward to having you back soon to enjoy the best the beach in Cancun!

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 2,529 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Lovely hotel.. lovely service.. lovely beach, lovely pools and good food.. wihin walking distance to central Cancun and bus links to downtown.. but with that lovely beach do U really want to go anywhere else?

Room Tip: I recommend a club room... you get continental breakfast and evening canapés and the use of the love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_SATTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you very much for choosing our property for your vacations in Cancun and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a great time in our beautiful beach. Let us know when you plan to come back!

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Very nice hotel. Excellent pools - there are two of them! Nice white sand beach though the sea was rough when we stayed there. Extensive breakfast buffet with wide choices ranging from Mexican to Standard American. Very nice room though the bathroom was a bit awkward and there could have been a balcony to enjoy the sea breeze.

Room Tip: Take a sea facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debubhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you for your sharing your comments regarding your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our delicious buffet breakfast as well as our pools and beautiful beach! We kindly suggest you to book a Club Level room with balcony the next time you come to Cancun so you can enjoy the amazing view of the Caribbean sea from your own balcony! We hope to see you back!

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was an excellent hotel in an excellent location. Very easy walking distance to the shops and parties/bars. Bus stops immediately in front of hotel.

The hotel and the rooms are very clean and modern. Beach and pools were exceptionally clean and well kept.

The beach in this area is very calm and shallow compared to the other beaches.

Staff was very helpful.

Definitely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHelyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Cancún Resort!
We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your comments; your feedback is really appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our new deluxe rooms and excellent location, as well as our beautiful beach. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!"

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel in 2010 when there are only half of the rooms renovated. I have no clue if they still have any un-renovated rooms, but you have to make sure you don't get any of them.

If you do get a renovated room, you are set to enjoy the vacation without any hustle. The
lobby is modern, the pool is comfortable, and the beach is by far the longest and best beach in the area.

Hotel isn’t offering too much catering (only 1 restaurant), so we ate the breakfast buffet for 1 morning but were able to discover Cancun with our own cars. There are many good restaurants in downtown Cancun, and it is safe with lots of tourists, so we had no problem hanging around the restaurants on major streets. There was one night that we ‘kinda’ got lost in a turn but found a little community night market which was interesting to find little things to buy(bargain). Therefore, if you are not afraid of driving in your own city’s downtown, it will be a good idea to rent a car to fully explore the area.

There isn’t really much about the hotel except to watch out of the un-renovated rooms. Other than that, Enjoy the great Caribbean Sea at the best beach resort in Cancun.

Room Tip: Make sure your get a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DXJCSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Thank you for your time to post your comments. We have completed the refurbishment of all our 184 deluxe rooms in April 2010 and we are happy to read that you have enjoyed our new deluxe rooms as well as our beautiful beach. Our facilities include two restaurants - El Caribeño and Caña Brava – as well as the Deck Bar located right on the beach and the Tequila Bar Collection and El Café in the lobby area. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in Cancun’s best beach!

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel ticks all the boxes of resort chain comfort - but there were some problems with this hotel.

Firstly, it is annoying that it appears to only cater to American guests. For eg, only selling stamps for postcards to the US, only listing prices of calls to the US, etc. The staff assume you are American if you speak English, and for all non-Americans, this is a little alientating...

The rooms were nice, but the design of the bathroom means a frosted glass door separates the toilet from the washbasin area, and there was a considerable gap, which means you can see/hear someone on the toilet if you go in use the basin or access the closet/safe. Might be a concern for some people.

The food was overpriced, in keeping with the whole of Cancun, with small serving sizes.

The beach was lovely, and it is worth having an ocean view room if you can afford the upgrade, because the rooms are designed to take advantage of it - you can see the beach from the shower if you want. Note that the glass windows to the outside are not tinted for privacy, so people outside can see in (no strutting around nude).

Personally, I was not impressed with this place. It had nothing particular about it to make it special, and I would recommend going to the Westin instead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Any IHG hotel that is going to charge PC Platinum members $20+ dollars to use the wireless internet after not displaying that information through the PC booking page is never going to get full marks. I would have stayed longer at this property however the manager wouldnt provide the internet access so i checked out. Great business decision.

Ditto with previous comments about the lack of privacy in the bathroom/room.
Also concur about oceanview room looking over the top of an outside covered area. There are no beach views as such.

Friend went to use business center only to find it over run with young kids (u12's) and then the internet not working in there.

Major disappointment. Luckily there are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozdunkeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie_Urban, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Thank you for your time to post your comments. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your recent stay at the hotel. Our deluxe rooms have been completely refurbished in April 2010 introducing an innovative concept on incorporating the bathroom into the bedroom and the option to use of a wooden sliding door when privacy is required. As you may know, wireless Internet is not a free benefit for Priority Club Platinum members. However, complimentary Internet is available 24/7 at the business center and WIFI is available at an additional fee for all our customers who prefer to use their equipment in the comfort of their rooms or public areas. This information on Internet and WIFI is available at the hotel’s website www.intercontinental.com/cancun. Please should you visit again Cancun and consider redeeming your points at the Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, please do not hesitate to contact us prior arrival.

Nathalie Urban
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 177 in Cancun
4,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,947 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#31 Business Hotel in Cancun
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £123 - £1,042 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing