We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not IHG Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #14 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not IHG Friendly”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

If your a high point getter in IHG or an ambassador this hotel is not for you. It's nice, pretty, and has a quiet good beach, but the noise level in the rooms and the customer service of management is horrible. I had an incident the first day of a 10 day stay and the manager Nathalie was nothing but rude and unprofessional to me and I am a long time IHG member, and have stayed in my share of inter-continental's around the world. My advice is do not stay here, but if you do, you can get good deals on trips if you talk to Octavio or Raul. They are sales men for a timeshare type thing in this hotel, but they will be straight up with you and give you good local advice. Very Friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sad to hear that you perceived the noise level of our rooms too high. Regarding your incident, I understand that you do not agree with our hotel’s policies but these are not unique for any global hotel chain and are shared to our guests.

Once again, I am truly sad that we did not meet your expectations because we always strive to please our guests during their stay.

Sincerely yours,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    649
    199
    89
    63
See reviews for
634
961
99
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Well run efficient hotel. The rooms are very modern. Internet is slightly patchy but works even by the pool. There is even a charging point for your laptops by the pool, which is very handy if you are out by the pool all day.

The beach is fantastic. Clear blue water etc and not as much waves. Jet ski available for hire but a little pricey.

A couple of shops and cheap cafés across the road. Plenty of buses into town. Airport transfer 300 pesos. No cash machine at the hotel

Overall a very pleasant two night stay at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cancun.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had the chance to enjoy this hotel last September and we were very happy with the service.
Location: When you travel to Cancun you must be aware about the weather from August to November. However, during the rest of the year you might get some windy days. This hotel has a fantastic position avoiding all problems with the weather. No waves and a wonderfull blue ocean with white sand in front of you.
Service: We were upgraded to Club Lounge and we were amazed with the kindness of all hotel team. Every day they were aware about my Gluten Allergy and always they had something prepared for me. 10 out of 10! The only negative is the service at the beach, with few waiters walking around. Still I will keep maximum score for the hotel.
Price: The rate is always changing but the food and drinks price is a bit high. But since you are on vacations in Cancun, that’s the price on the majority of Resort’s around.
Facilities: Beach is wonderfull. Pool with the jacuzzi’s are phenomenal. Restaurant’s a bit dated but with a great service. Parking for free, including valet. Lounge is not so big but has nice hors d’oeuvres and breakfast.
Room: Good size with an integrated bathroom. No Jacuzzi, just shower. Nice amenities and a big bed with great comfort. Sorry, but we didn’t check the channels.
Special thanks to Victorio for the kind attention during our stay! We definitely expect to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EduardoStruve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you sincerely for commending our service team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Presidente InterContinental Cancun in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed one night at the Presidente but overall it was a nice and pleasant experience. The hotel staff was very friendly. The bell men, in particular was wonderful. He gets a gold star for his knowledge and positive attitude for live. Unfortunately our room did not come with a wifi connection. Make sure to verify that your rate and room come with wifi. The hotel shop was nice for convenience. The beach is supposedly one of the best beaches in Cancun. With clean powder white sand, and a very large beach front it's hard to argue. This quite business friendly hotel was perfect for us. The rooms are clean and have a contemporary feel. The mini bar was locked and is calibrated on weight. So don't plan on storing anything in there, because you will be charged! They offer a $20-$25 breakfast buffet that was very good and I would recommend. If your looking for a party crowd this is the wrong hotel for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of at Presidente InterContinental Cancun.

I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've stayed at intercontinental properties before and have always been very happy with my stay. This would not be a property I would return to again.

We booked a one night stop over for three of us. We got a great price on the internet for the property. We weren't expecting the penthouse but felt we got a room down in the basement with lighting to match (horrible). We had asked for an extra bed to be brought in which wasn't done and we didn't have enough towels for the three of us. For the average hotel, this might be acceptable but a property such as an intercontinental?? Disappointing. The room was just average with an odd frosted bathroom door, not a fan.

The property overall, the grounds, are very nice. The beach area is also very lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepblueinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Deepblueinfl,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with your room accommodation. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just came back from a 5 day vacation. Had a great time. The beach is absolutely fantastic perhaps the best I have ever been to. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing vacation. I would recommend having breakfast included in your stay as the buffet and restaurant are a wonderful way to start your day. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The hotel will try to entice you to listen to their timeshare sales pitch, in exchange for a discounted excursion coupon. The discount might be worth it for you if you don't mind giving up 90 minutes of your vacation, but not to me.

If you are looking for a great alternative to an all inclusive, give the Intercontinental a try, I think you will enjoy your stay like we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RSmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I’m pleased to learn we provided a flawless experience through the duration of your stay at Presidente InteContinental Cancun.

I’m glad about your kind recommendation of our hotel and truly appreciate the high praise of the service and accommodations.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cancun

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Where can I begin? We had a fabulous time at the Intercontinental Presidente Cancun! The beach is amazing and the beach-side service was wonderful! Eleazor (hope I'm spelling his name right) was a great bartender! We all got the breakfast buffet and were so pleased with the selections each and every morning of our stay! We thought the rooms were great and have absolutely no complaints. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us some handy tips for local travel. OH! and I had read on here about "Paul", who walks the beach and offers sailboat rides. Only because I read it here first, we booked a trip from him. Had a fun time and he was just a nice guy to chat with too. We plan on coming back for a return trip. We got married on this trip.... so maybe for an anniversary we can celebrate here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, Gerente at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your praise. I am humbled to hear that we provided you with an excellent service thus exceeded your expectation.

Until your next visit, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#7 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Property: Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travelbag, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing