We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a descent not "all-inclusive" hotel. The staff is incredibly helpful and nice. White-sand beach and turquoise ocean. Both are clean.

Relatively cheap prices. They can serve your breakfast at the beach, which was definitely a nice thing to have. They also have a breakfast buffet, which was ok. I prefered to have my breakfast at the beach though.

This hotel is perfect if you are staying with the kids, there are no waves; the ocean is extremely calm and shallow, which is ideal for the small ones.

We took a local bus (which is very very convenient) and rode to one of the public beaches (next to Iberostar), there are huge waves, lifeguard, showers, WC, etc. It is also clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    664
    201
    93
    65
See reviews for
650
990
104
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While the hotel is well located, the overall look and feel of the hotel was a little jaded and needs an upgrade to come upto the InterContinental standard. The hotel was conveniently located near shopping complex, which included travel agents for booking the tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeevmadhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in rajeevmadhu,

I thank you for taking your time to let us know your views from your stay.

Our resort opened in 1976 as the third resort in Cancun. Being one of the firsts gave us the opportunity to have our superb location with its amazing beach. We concluded the full refurbishment of our deluxe rooms in 2010 and we will soon have great news to share!

I thank you for your visit and your loyalty to our brand. Please let me know on nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com when you have plans to visit Cancun again.

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the second time we enjoyed staying at the InterContinental Presidente in Cancun. The staff, the beach, the location, all make this hotel an excellent choice. We particularly love the long stretch of pristine beach, and the many opportunities to exchange pleasantries with staff while ordering excellent tequila and eating some of the best ceviche in town! We will be back next year, same time, same place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in Lori S,

Greetings from “tu casa” en Cancun!

We are honored that you have made our resort to your home in Cancun and we cannot wait to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. We will look after your spot on the beach, make sure that we have plenty of ceviche in house and hopefully some nice surprises as well!

Once again, I thank you for your loyalty to both the brand and us. Please let me know on nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com when you have the dates for your 2015 vacation.

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of white sand and waveless ocean. The water greets you with a smile as does the staff at reception. I throughly enjoyed my stay here.

The property is far enough away from the hussle and bussle of the ridiculous night life that Cancun is famous for (a big bonus for us). The rooms were a generous size and the chocolate provided during the turn down service is delicious, PS, the shower is HEAVEN!

The staff were always happy to help. There is a couple of local eateries if you turn right as you leave the hotel, there is also a supermarket. If you are a member of the IHG club, then you get free wifi which makes life a little easier when trying to research POI.

Truly, the perfect welcome to Cancun, You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in RPKE,

I thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at our resort! I am pleased to read that you had a relaxing and quiet stay at our superb beach. We take a great pride of being a non all-inclusive resort where our guests still have the possibility to find a place to disconnect.

Our deluxe rooms were renovated in 2010 and I am glad you enjoyed your room. I totally agree with your comment of the shower experience. A lot of our guests use our resort as a base to discover the Yucatan peninsula and I always recommend them to have a chat with our concierge Adolfo. He really knows a lot of POI that will take you behind the touristic scenes.

The whole staff and I thank you for your visit and loyalty to our brand. Please drop me a note on nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com when we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back!

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The beach is very clean. Hotel is comfy and our room was on 3 d floor facing the gardens pools and the water. New bathroom and marble shower. Restaurants were not as good and service was not friendly. Use the gym and go for a breakfast

Room Tip: stay on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalsora68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in dalsora68,

I appreciate your time to drop us a comment from your stay. I am sad to read that you had a negative experience from our restaurants. This is not the experience that we aspire to offer our guests and I would be very thankful if you could send me a mail to nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com with more details of where we failed in our service.

I thank you for your visit and please let me know when we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back again!

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Most hotels in Cancun have either a great beach and a so-so pool or a great pool and so-so beach. This one definately has the best of both. Very neat and clean and offers impeccable service. if you visit here, I highly recommend that you ask for Alen and or Eleazar for drink and food service at the beach or pool. Both are extremely friendly and professional. They would have our table at the beach ready and waiting with our drinks for us everyday. Housekeeping and room service were also excellent. If you need a driver, insist on Jorge at the valet. I highly advise the Lobster Thermidore for dinner. The best EVER!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in Peter W,

Sunny greetings from Cancun!

Thanks for sharing your views from your stay at our resort.

I liked the way you described our beach and pools compared to all the other resorts that are available to choose in Cancun. Our location is a real plus. When it comes to the quality of the beach, sand and calm waters, it is only our resort and our neighbor, which in 1976 was one property, which offer this experience. We are fortune to have a large plot of land, where we have the luxury of two separate pools (one adult pool and one family pool) and henceforth more space for our guests to enjoy the sun. There are plenty of newer resorts with modern acclimatized infinity pools but most of them have shadows from their own hotel and neighboring hotels. There are very few like us that offer sun from first rays to sunset. So I believe you really expressed the uniqueness of our location.

I am pleased to read that the service was to your liking and specially that you took the time to mention Alan, Eleazar and Jorge by their names. On behalf of the whole team, I thank you for their recognition. I will also let our Chef & B, Ruben Sesma, know that you approved his Lobster Thermidore recipe!

I thank you for your visit and please let me know on nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com when we have the pleasure to welcome you back to our resort.

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely a fantastic hotel. Its in a prime location in the hotel zone. Its not an all inclusive hotel, which is what we wanted, to be away from the trashy resorts that have drunken college
Students everywhere with terrible music pumping day and night. The beach is perfect, much more beautiful thany anywhere else along the strip, the pool and bar are also great. The restaurants have good food at very reasonable prices.We only booked a standard room but they upgraded us to a lagoon view when we arrived. The hotel service was excellent, they sent complimentary wine and strawberries to our room. Unless you pay top dollar for the club ocean rooms, all the rest dont have balconies.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAmyReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie U, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ki’imak-k’in SarahAmyReid,

I appreciate your time to share your review of your stay.

As you rightly mentioned, our resort is non all-inclusive and we are proud to still offer a quiet and relaxing atmosphere in Cancun for people to disconnect during their vacations. The beach is famous for its soft white sand, calm waters, large amount of palm trees, plenty of thatched sun umbrellas and sunbeds and most important sun from morning to sunset.

I am glad to know that you found your room, facilities and service to your total satisfaction. Do not hesitate to contact me at nathalie_urban@grupopresidente.com when you plan your next visit.

Thank you for your visit and recommendation!

Best regards & Tu heel k’iin,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.6 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
7.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Property: Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing