We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have done several AIs in the past, but this was our first time at an Iberostar...it won't be the last!

We traveled the last week in October and in spite of the weather forecast showing anywhere from 70 to 90 percent change or rain most days, we did not have much rain at all. It rained an hour or so late afternoon on our first three days, and a few times overnight. The weather was very hot and sunny most of the time!

We traveled with Westjet and were very happy with their service, as well as the service of their rep at the hotel (Rey), and the transportation provided by Best Day.

We had booked a balcony room and ended up with a corner room on the 9th floor (top floor). Our room had a massive outdoor terrace that was as big as our room, and the view was amazing! I had read some reviews that the rooms were dated, but I loved our room. It was comfortable, and modern, and lots of storage space. Our maid kept our room very clean and our mini bar well stocked. We enjoyed having an afternoon drink on our terrace.

The pools are amazing! I really loved the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. I also enjoyed the water aerobics. The star friends work really hard to make sure guests enjoy themselves.

The beach is breathtaking! It was red flags most days but we did get to go in briefly on a yellow flag day however the current was still too strong to feel safe going very far. No matter we enjoyed laying on our loungers and admiring the view, and had a few nice walks along the beach. We were also lucky enough to find a few baby turtles and released them into the ocean.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Drink service by the pool and the beach is excellent...you never go dry :)

The grounds and the hotel are extremely well cared for. Everything is very clean, and they are constantly working to keep it that way.

The food for the most part was very good. My favourites were breakfast, the desserts, and the Japanese a la carte. We found the steakhouse and the gourmet a bit hit and miss. For example, I had the lobster salad as an app at the gourmet and it was delicious. However my main course of shrimp and risotto was lackluster. Shrimp was quite rubbery and not much flavour. I actually had better shrimp dishes in the buffet. The chicken dish at the steakhouse was swimming in a very sweet bbq sauce that covered everything on the plate. However the salmon dish at the steakhouse was very good. The house wine was very drinkable - both the red and white which was a nice surprise. At a lot of AIs the house wine is awful.

We did one excursion to Isla Mujeres which we arranged through our rep Rey, and really enjoyed it. We took the bus to Playa Tortugas to take part in the excursion (bus is a great way to see the Cancun strip and is roughly a dollar per person). The excursion took us by boat to Garaffon Park on the Island and there we snorkeled, swam, did a walking tour, enjoyed a buffet lunch and drinks. We had the option to go to downtown Isla as part of the excursion but we opted to stay at the Park and relax. It is a beautiful place!

We have been to the Mayan Riviera a few times but this was our first time in Cancun. I really enjoyed Cancun, it was nice to be so close (15 mins) from the airport, and there is lots to see in do in the area. Our hotel seemed to have a much larger beachfront than some of the others so we never felt crowded. We would definitely return to Cancun and highly recommend the Iberostar!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VacationFunintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and feedback.

We are very glad to know we were able to make your work trip a pleasurable stay. Your comments on your experience with us are very valuable, it helps us give a better service to guests and keep striving for excellence.

Please come back soon to visit us it will be a pleasure to make your vacation another great memory to remember.

Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,692
    1,057
    366
    95
    66
See reviews for
1,691
1,437
104
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent vacation this is one of the best hotel in Cancun with a beautiful room and a premium liquors. The buffet is excellent and the restaurants amazing. The staff is always ready for help you in anything and pamper you in all your wishes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lanena79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar to spend your vacations, we are so happy to know that you had a nice experience and enjoyed the restaurants as well as the service and attentions of our staff.

Hopefully we have you back soon, we will love to pamper you again on your next vacation.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our 12th stay in Mexico. Because last year we enjoyed our vacation in Iberostar Cancun so much, we decided to return this year for a period of 3 weeks. Also this year we had an excellent vacation!

Below find our impressions:

Arrival:
When you arrive a bellboy escorts you to the lobby. The lobby is very impressive with lots of marble. Check in went smoothly and efficient. Big plus: this year they have free WiFi throughout the whole hotel. You will get login codes and passwords upon arrival (1 per person).

Rooms:
There are different categories rooms but they all have breathtaking views of the ocean. We had a Junior Suite with a huge balcony with Jacuzzi with on one side view of the ocean and on the other side view of the golf course and lagune, really spectacular. The rooms are well maintained. The bed is very comfortable as well as the pillows! They assign a specific housekeeper to a room. They really do an excellent job! As we stayed for a period of 3 weeks they even replaced my bathrobe. We would also like to comment that we were very much impressed about the turn down service.

Grounds:
The grounds are stunning and kept immaculate. You always see gardeners and maintenance people working and they are doing a very good job! They have several pools including a beautiful infinity pool with a very nice view on the ocean. They are constantly cleaning the pools early in the morning as well as in the evening. There are plenty of chairs as well as palapas (for shade) available. On any given moment of every day there were lot of chairs available at the pool side as well as on the ocean side. They provide you with towel cards upon arrival. Always plenty of clean towels available at the towel hut.
It is very easy to travel with the bus, you can get a bus in front of the hotel, costs pesos 9 per person. The busses go almost every minute and are a very safe and cheap option to travel.

Beach:
The beach is stunning, in fact the most beautiful beach we have seen so far. The water is crystal clear and the sand is white and powdery. It is very easy to get in the ocean, no rocks, so no need for water shoes. The beach is very wide and long. More than enough chairs and palapas and not piled on top of each other. On the one side of the property is the public beach area (quite a distance away) and on the other hand hotels (also a quite distance away). You can walk easily on the beach and we noticed that Iberostar definitely has the biggest beach property. There is a bar located on the beach area, also they have beach waiters which will ask you regularly if you would like something to drink.

Pools:
They have several pools (and 2 Jacuzzi’s) including an infinity pool with a swim up bar. At one side of the pool the Star Friends had many activities.

Restaurants:
For breakfast and lunch they have 2 buffet restaurants. If the weather is very bad the buffet at the beach is closed. For lunch they also have a snack bar. The quality of the buffets was very good with lots of choices. At the buffet there are always cooks who prepare several types of meats, fish as well as pasta (cooked to your order). The waiters are always very friendly and give excellent service. The tables have very nice linen and always look nice. We were shocked to see that some people would sit with wet swimwear on the chairs, leaving these totally wet for next guests. Outside on the terrace are also tables with wooden chairs, we think the hotel should enforce with wet clothes to take a seat out there. No means the fault of the hotel but is seems some people have no manners.
For the evenings there is a choice between buffet or the à la carte restaurants. For the à la carte restaurants you have to make a reservation at Guest Services.
With regard to the evening restaurants we were shocked to see that some guests had no respect for the dress code whatsoever. We even saw guests entering the French restaurants wearing flip flops, shorts and caps. This takes away from the atmosphere. We don't understand why people can't respect the dress code. If you don't like to dress up you can always go the buffet.

Japanese: we never ate here, because we aren’t a fan of the Japanese kitchen. But we heard from other guests that they liked the food.

Gourmet: we ate here several times. This restaurant has the most classy ambiance. My husband loved the lobster salad and the lambs rack. All the food (but this applies to all the restaurants) is very good.

Mexican: unfortunately this restaurant was closed quite a few evenings during our stay because we love to eat here. The appetizers as well as dessert are buffet. Restaurant has very nice atmosphere and is in fact located on the beach. They have an open kitchen where you can see the cook prepare the food. We loved the tortilla soup! Javier is the Manager here and he made sure that we had a very nice dinner on our wedding anniversary. Thanks again Javier as well as Josue.

Steak house: we ate here several times. Inside the restaurants lots of wood and nice decorations. The appetizers as well as dessert are buffet. The food here was also very good (as in all restaurants).

In all the restaurants you can enjoy a variety of drinks with your meal. The house wines are very good, you can also make a choice from the wine list with wines you have to pay for.
In all the restaurants the staff were extremely friendly and gave great service. We would like to thank everyone but in special.
Capitanes: Javier, Aroldo, Gabriel and Rosanna.
Waiters: Josua, Jose, Marlon, Jorge, Eduardo, Roman, Javier, Rafael, Israel, Jesus, Daniel and Alberto.
Lobby Bar: Maria, Blanca and Mariana.
Cook: Isaac.
Star Friends: Sunday, Jesus and Arturo.
Front Desk: Isis.

Lobby bar:
The lobby bar is placed at the end of the lobby and is very big. You can sit at the bar or at tables or big chairs. Lots of options to choose from and great service. Waitresses were always very friendly!

Entertainment:
The Star Friends are responsible for the entertainment. During the days they organize lot of activities as for example beach volleyball, archery, rifle shooting, bingo, crazy games etc. During the evening they have shows in the big outside theater in which the Star Friends also participate. They are doing a great job and make very long days!

Spa:
We were here on our last day (just before departure). My husband had a back massage and I had a leg massage. We both very much enjoyed the treatments as well as the atmosphere!Loved it!

Service:
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We noticed that not a lot of guests are tipping. We did because the wages are not high and they can really use this. So please bring dollars and tip! The level of service is excellent .

Mario, we would like to thank you again for making our stay extra special.
Once again we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dundee0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing and detailed review about your recent stay at Iberostar Cancun.
We are thrilled to know you are a repetitive guest and know that you noticed the changes we have done like the free WiFi, we work every day to have the best for our guests.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed the hotel and what it offers as well as every activity you love doing. We will congratulate everyone that you kindly mentioned, they will be so happy to know that you remember their names.

We hope to have the chance once more to receive you as a guest.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just returned from a two week family holiday and can say that we didn't want to come home.This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in and we have stayed in a few!!
ROOM: We booked a garden villa (only slightly dearer than a hotel room with balcony) and we where surprisingly upgraded on arrival for a beach front villa. These are situated away from the main hotel and i can say they are amazing rooms right on the beach the view is stunning we couldn't believe our luck! especially as my party consisted of seven people over three rooms and we where all upgraded. I totally recommend these rooms. The mini bar is stocked up daily with water, beer and soft drinks and there is never a problem if you require any more. Daily maid service also for clean bedding and towels.
FOOD: Buffet restaurant is great caters for everyone loads of different choice i didn't find it repetitive at all. Fresh fruit salads pasta fish and meat every day. Even roast turkey beef and pork with roast potatoes!! we tried all the specialty restaurants twice and really enjoyed them all the steak house and Japanese especially food really good and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Amazing margaritas at the Mexican too! We used room service a few times also which arrived within 30 mins and was hot and fresh.
POOLS: lovely clean pools staff always cleaning them loads of loungers around them never struggled to get one.
KIDS CLUB: my son 8 years old used this a few times Victor who runs the club is great and tries to get the kids involved in everything. It was Halloween whilst we where there and the effort the staff put in to make this enjoyable for the kids was unbelievable.
BARS: Pool bar is great Adolpho Is amazing and really made our stay drinks were ready and waiting by the bar as soon as he could see us swim up you never go thirsty when hes about.
Lobby bar is well staffed and girls are always quick to wait on lots of choice of drinks and cocktails branded alcohol is available at all the bars. We spent quite a lot of time in the sports bar too which never gets busy there is a pool table in there and they have large TV'S which cover all sports events. Staff happy to open up bar for any early English football which they did for us to allow us to watch the Liverpool game whilst we where away. Even sending up a bar man to wait on!!!
STAFF: I can honestly say that i have never stayed in a hotel where i have felt so welcome. All the staff have been really helpful and happy. From the bar staff to maid to waiters they couldnt have done any more for us. Exceptional staff!!!.
We really did have a great time and would definitely return to this hotel or use IBEROSTAR again. Just a few mentions Adolpho great bar man, Daniel and Fransico in the buffet restaurant who always had our table ready. The star staff are all great but in particular Omar (who was in his first week and English was better than mine) and Jesus all made for an enjoyable stay. Iberostar please give your staff the praise they deserve as to me they work tirelessly and always seem happy in what they are doing. Hopefully back soon

Room Tip: If you can pay extra for garden or beach villa you wont regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 11SUZIE1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for taking the time to write so many lovely comments about your stay at our resort.

We love to know you had a fantastic vacation with us!!! It makes us happy to know that you and your family enjoyed our services and facilities and that our staff were able to make your vacation memorable.

We will indeed give praise to our wonderful staff; they are a very important asset for us. We will also send them your comments!

We hope to have you again very soon on your next vacation in Cancun, Mexico.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We returned to Cancun to meet up with the friends we had made the previous year. We stayed a a different hotel this year., The Iberostar Cancun. Nice hotel, fun and friendly staff, beautiful grounds and rooms. This is an eco-friendly resort and it was impressive. Loved the pools, the grounds, and the food was awesome. We would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't spend for the "balcony" all the rooms have some sort of sliding glass doors tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soykas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to have the opportunity to welcome you back one more time to Iberostar Cancun.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and others guests. It makes us happy to know you had a memorable time with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon here at your second home in Mexico.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was at Iberostar Cancun one week with my boyfriend we traveled from Canada, our first time and was GREAt,all the staff speaks English very well and they're so kinda and helpfully!!
Check in very quick, Dario was so helpfully and friendly,he explain us all the activities in the resort.
The pool is clean everyday, the waiters service on the pool are good,
Star friend staff has a good team and show, you never get bored with them.thanks Paola, sunday and arthuro.
The drinks and restaurants so good, the best it was the lobby bar. Don't forget booked for some restaurants when you arrive!
Spa facilities are free, is a good idea cause in another resorts has an extra charge , prices a little expensive but worth It, Edder from the spa reception was so friendly and helpfully He showed all the facilites thanks.
the only thing bad is the wifi but eventually we come on holiday not to use the internet

We would to come back the next year!! Thank you IBEROSTAR

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback, we are really happy to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us and that we were able to make your stay memorable.

We will make sure to share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back very soon here at your second home in Mexico!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The transfer was only approx 15 minutes which was great after a 10 hour flight. Checking in was pretty quick and straight forward. The staff on check in desk very efficient and friendly. The initial first impressions of the hotel was "wow". The rooms were lovely and the view we had from our balcony was amazing. We were on the third floor and overlooked the beach. It was a beautiful view. However in my opinion the rooms could benefit a little refresh. Especially the bathroom. But the beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and tidy.
The hotel bars are great and all of the staff in all areas be it bar, waiting on staff, dining room staff area all very nice and cannot do enough for you. The girls and guys who work in the entertainment area (the star friends) were fab! Especially Jesus and Rebecca. They are all good fun and great with both adults and kids.
A lot of time and effort went into the nightly shows in the show bar and they were all excellent. The magician they had did a very good show and in all the shows there's audiences participation. It's great fun.
The food was very good and of a high standard but in the buffet it could have done to be a little hotter but that did not spoil the enjoyment of the food. A very good variety each day at breakfast and lunch and also dinner. The speciality Japanese and steak restaurants were very very good. The Mexican restaurant was nice but the portion sizes were a little on the small side and the choice wasnt as varied as in other restaurants.
Overall my husband and I and our group of friends had a fabulous holiday. It was the best holiday my husband and I have had and didn't want to go home.
Can't wait to go back in 2014 ......fingers crossed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Jodurkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your vacation experience with us. We are thrilled to know you have a wonderful vacation.

There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves feeling they just spent an amazing time away from home.

We take note of your constructive criticism and will pass it on to the Department Heads.

We thank you again and we look forward to your return!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
8,738 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
5,681 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing