We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make dinner reservations in advance!”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great service and offered a lot of activities. Star Friends is the name of the interactive staff, and they are truly amazing! They were very helpful with all of our questions. Only complaint is the buffet. I recommend contacting Iberostar in advance and placing reservations at all of the specialty restaurants for the duration of your trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review.

We are glad to know that your stay was enjoyable. Indeed, we are very proud of our staff as they make a great job at exceeding our guests’ expectations. They are the ones who make every vacation an unforgettable one.

Please be informed that we will pass your comments on to the Executive Chef to take into consideration.

We hope to welcome you once more to share another amazing vacation with you.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 4,631 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is an outdated want to be 5 star hotel. Service is very slow. You feel nickle and dimed for everything eventhough you are at an "All inclusive 5 Star resort." Supposedly there is 24 hour room service but they won't bring you breakfeast as "their is a breakfeast buffet," I;m surprised they didn't say that about the other meals.

The positives. good for the kids and the beach is great but this can't be priced nor compared to real 5 star hotels in Cancun.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AngVoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear our hotel did not exceed you expectations in terms of food and service. We really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Regarding the room service we would like to mention that this service is available 24 hours. There is a menu in the rooms with the different meals that our guests can order; this includes some options for breakfast. We also have a buffet open from 6:30 to 7.00 continental breakfast and from 7:00 until 10:00 am buffet breakfast.

However we will pass your comments on to the involved areas in order to improve our services as they are our most reliable source to locate areas we have to work on, in order to meet our guests’ expectations.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host you in the future and change your perception.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel before that I have actually felt sad about leaving. Everything about this hotel was brilliant, the staff in particular were amazing and the level of service was something to be commended. You were never left wanting and I got the feeling that every member of staff was more than happy to give you 110% every time.

The facilities were great, there was a wide range of food available throughout the day and several great little bars to choose from. If you like to relax by the pool, on the beach or even in a hammock among coconut trees, then the surroundings were beautiful. And for the more active there were lots of activities provided every day by the very friendly and outgoing STAR FRIENDS staff.

I can't wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SNNS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments about your experience at Iberostar Cancun.

We are glad that your stay with us covered your expectations, this is why we hope to welcome you soon again and make your stay even more memorable!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Arrived late afternoon and checked in straightaway, from start to finish we were taken care of, all drinks were amazing and not just local spirits! Adolfo at the pool bar amazing and makes the best mojhito you will ever have, the food was outststandin from morning until night!!! Buffet choice fantastic and the japenese and steak house were exceptional! Room cleaned everday always with a special touch of towel art and fresh flowers on the bed, whst really made my stay was the star friends, honestly the nicest bunch of people I have ever met, omar, soraya, paula, jesus enrique and aturro work so hard to make your holiday memorable! To soraya and omar thsnkyou guys you are amazing and came back to the uk with new friends and great memories! roger in the sports bar was fab to, if your going to mexico book this hotel as you will not be dissppointed, once again thanks to the star friends and keep up the good work

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rosey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are thrilled to know you had a great time and enjoyed all the hotel facilities and specially the service provided by our staff; comments like these make all of our efforts worthwhile.

We will make sure to share your comments with our staff, we hope to welcome you back very soon!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We are a couple - 23 and 24 years old from the UK, we stayed at the Iberostar Cancun in September.

As soon as you walk into the hotel you're greeted with an impressive lobby / reception area where you're given a nice cold drink, everything is taken care of, bags are taken to your room. Check in was fast.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, any request we made (albeit nothing too demanding!) was met with no issues at all. People mention tipping in Mexico but we never felt pressured or uncomfortable with the waiters or bar staff. We still tipped as they were all great! Our room was always clean, bedding made, towels collected, we also had towel animals made which my girlfriend loved. It was also her birthday during the stay, they made a towel birthday cake and put some balloons up which was brilliant. One small thing, the bath robes were taken and not replaced, but not a big thing.

The food at the iberostar cancun was absolutely fantastic. I could not get over the variety, quality, and quantity of the food on offer for all meals. Even the fussiest of eaters would struggle to not find something they like. We loved the food and always left feeling very full! Drinks are also all inclusive, wine, beer, champagne and cocktails during all meals too!

One thing that really stood out about the holiday was the conservation project run with the hotel where baby sea turtles are hatched off site from eggs collected from the beach, and brought to the hotel to be released at night. You got to hold a tiny turtle and release it into the sea!

The beach was always pristine in the morning and swept before you got down there, sun loungers, beds and palm umbrellas are all there to make use of. You could have any drink made at one of the poolside bars and take it to the beach. Or stay by the pool, or in the pool at the pool bar. Didn't spend much time in the pools but they were always very clean and with ample space for all the the hotel. never did it feel overcrowded.

Cancun in general is great and i would definitely recommend it to anyone. If you want nightlife you can take a bus for a couple of pesos (50p!) down the strip to the many bars and clubs or restaurants. There's also tonnes to do in cancun, we drove a speedboat and went snorkelling, I went on a deep sea fishing trip and we also went to Chichen Itzsa.

Overall, the Iberostar Cancun was the best hotel I have ever stayed at, and the best holiday I've ever been on. I would definitely recommend. Reading any of the slightly negative reviews are people who are being hypercritical. Many thanks to the staff for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrstphrjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time during your vacation at Iberostar Cancun, there is nothing that make us happier than a guest feeling they had an amazing time away from home.

Regarding turtles, we are happy you were able to live this experience. This is a marine turtle protection and conservation program Iberostar is part of and aims to increase environmental awareness & social participation and to make our beaches a safe place for the marine turtle.

Once again thank you for your preference and we will waiting for your next vacation!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I would not recommend staying at this property - rooms are run down, food quality is sketchy and the front desk staff is rude. They made the mistake of assuming because I have blonde hair that I don't speak Spanish.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank ksabourin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us, we are sorry to hear the level service you received during your vacation did not exceed your expectations. Please know that all our staff must follow Iberostar values which are completely respectful towards guests and other members of the organization. However, your comment will be reviewed with management.

Again we are truly sorry if your vacations were not as expected, we will be more than happy to have you back at Iberostar and show you a proper Mexican Vacation.

Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we stayed at iberostar april 17th to the 27th,celebrating a milestone birthday,had a awesome time with 24 friends joining us for a long weekend.The grounds are great and so is the staff.the buffets for breakfast and lunch are fantastic,we went out for dinner each night.Our room was oceanfront villa and was clean and quiet with a great view.Highly recommend this resort,we will be back.

Room Tip: if you can swing it get an ocean front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback, we are really happy to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us and that we were able to make your stay memorable.

We will make sure to share your comments with all the team. We hope to welcome you back very soon here at your second home in Mexico!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 177 in Cancun
9,489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
9,896 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,944 reviews
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#17 of 177 in Cancun
6,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: £182 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing