We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not kid friendly”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The resort is beautiful. There is a lot to like about this place. It is clean. The food is good. The building is also nice and new. But they literally let my 4 year old wander from kids club. She was wandering the resort by the pool unattended. We also had a baby sitter booked to go out on my birthday at the resort. They blew it and totally forgot. We booked it, confirmed it and they just forgot. Their answer is they could get somebody over at 11 pm, which is a lot late. The resort is beautiful. The food is good. But they botched it with our kids very badly. Seriously. If you have kids, and are relying on kids camp and a baby sitter service, you can likely find better options.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments and we sincerely regret to read thast you did not fully enjoy your vacation with us.

We would like to mention that our staff in charge of the kids club are highly trained and we have security by all the hotel areas to avoid any kind of incidents, as is our primary interest the safety and wellbeing of each of our clients. Please be sure that we have already shared you report with the person in charge in order to give the appropriate follow-up.

With regard to the Baby sitter, we would like to clarify that this is an additional service that the hotel provides, these requests must be confirmed 24 hours before the service is required, additional to this the guest needs to fill out a form to arrange and authorize the service. This is not an excuse but an explanation in how our babysitter service works. However we will look carefully into every issue you have mentioned to look for improvements as we constantly aim to meet and exceed our guests’ satisfaction.

We appreciate your comments, and we really hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,736
    1,072
    372
    97
    66
See reviews for
1,715
1,455
106
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The beach is perfection. The pools, drinks and staff make this place exceptional. The food is good, but does get boring after a week. Erik, from the entertainment staff went above and beyond everyday to make my sons time amazing!!! Thank you to him for that!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dyanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacations at IBEROSTAR Cancun.

Thank you for the special mention to Erik, we will congratulate him for his amazing service.

We look forward to having you back very soon!

Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Iberstar for a 4 day weekend and it was, without a doubt , one of the nicest All-Inclusives that we have had the pleasure of staying.

From our arrival to departure the staff were friendly, courteous and always helpful.

The rooms were immaculate and the beds just like those at home.

We didn;t have an opportunity to try any of the a la carte restaurants due to our short stay but the food at the buffet was plentiful and varied with several choices. it was always hot and tasteful.

I would highly recommned this resort to anyone looking to spend a week away in Cancun. It is definitely worth the money we paid andIi will defintely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent vacations.

We are delighted to hear that you have had a great vacation with us. It motivates us to continue improving to hear that we have contributed to your happiness.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The property is amazing. Pools are gorgeous. Service is prompt & staff is wonderful. The food at every restaurant is terrible. There is no flavor, meats & veggies are of poor quality. Sauces & drinks are all watered down.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the 4th floor or higher. All rooms are ocean view; however, there is a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chjeff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Cancun Resort, we appreciate the time you took to write your review.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the food and beverage quality. We have already shared your comments with the departments involved in order to look for improvements and enhance the quality. However we would like to mention that our Executive Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants. The food variation in our buffets are part of our quality standards and under no circumstances will our Chef and our Health and Security department place the same food from previous services at any of our restaurants.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in a near future to demonstrate our improvements and provide you with a better stay.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Cancun's beaches and water are beautiful! Sadly, Iberostar will not be on our list to return on our next visit. The staff lacked a truly welcoming spirit while also failed to attend to issues when asked to be addressed (AC broke in our room, claiming restaurants were fully booked when not even 1/4 of the way full when we showed up any way to see if anything was available). The food is extremely below par and lacked any local flavor. After informing the attendants of someone leaving their personal feces in the pool, the pool was never thoroughly cleaned out. So much potential at this resort, but no desire from anyone to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank travelmuch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Cancun as your holiday destination.

We regret any dissatisfaction incurred during your stay at our hotel, we will look into every mentioned issue and you can be certain we will review them with the responsible Managers in order to look for solutions and enhance our guests´ experience.

With regard to our dinner service at the “a la carte” restaurants, we would like to mention that the availability of the restaurants depends on the amount of clients we have at the hotel at the time. We do not fill our restaurants at 100% to ensure our guests have the best experience and they are not rushed for the following guests to enter, and at the same time new seatings do not get delayed. However we try to be really flexible with this, as we know how important it is for our guests to enjoy all of our specialty restaurants and even get to repeat their visits to certain ones. At times we get no shows, however we need to give a 15-20 minutes before we can give their table away. Please rest assured that whenever guests that did not make reservations ask to come into any of our restaurant they are allowed in as long as there is availability.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations concerning our food. We have shared your comments with the departments involved in order to keep looking for improvement. It is our main interest that all our guests have a pleasant stay, and that we meet our guest expectations.

Regarding the incident in the pool, it is very important to clarify that our maintenance department is constantly verifying that our pool water is clean, with the right balance of chemicals, and safe for our guests. Daily water treatment and cleaning of the pools is undertaken and tests made. Your feedback has been shared with the involved departments in order to give the appropriate follow-up to this issue. It is our main interest that all our guests have a pleasant stay.

We appreciate your comments, and we truly hope you will give us an opportunity to host you in the future and change your perception.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburg area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here last year and enjoyed it so much we went back this year and it did not disappoint. The resort was clean and we'll maintained inside and out, starting with the maid that kept our room clean. We also took note of the young lady that cleaned up in the speciality restaurants and in the lobby bar area in the evenings I can't remember her name but she wore glasses. A special thank you to Jorge the bartender in the lobby who made my wife's margarita just the way she likes them and seemed to remember us from last year. And to Bartolo in the buffet restaurant who was friendly and very attentive. And to Javier Castro who seemed to be in every restaurant when we were and always had a warm and friendly greeting. And to the Star Friends who mingled well with every one. A special thank you to Jesus,Paula,Stephanie and Elexus. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations one more time.

We are delighted to know that you were truly pleased with your stay with us. It motivates us to continue improving and providing the great service our beloved guests deserve.

We will share your compliments with Jorge, Bartolo, Javier Castro, Jesus, Paula, Stephanie, Elexus and all Star Friends for having contributed to your happiness during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first trip to Cancun. We have been to the Riviera Maya several times. We really enjoyed the hotel and the beaches of Cancun. Unlike most properties down the Mayan coast, these properties are condensed and have perfect beaches. This means that everything was very close….washrooms, beach, pools, restaurants, bars all within a short stroll. Going back to your room to grab something is not a 30-40 minute mission. The beach had no sea weed, rocks, sand bags, or lagoons. There is some fun surf for boogie boards and surf boards. Not really great for swimming but definitely lovely to get in the water and have the waves roll in over you.
The hotel (9 floors) was beautiful and clean with extraordinary views from most of the rooms….some with balconies. The villas have less view but are more private. Although the Mayan resorts have some amazing grounds on most of the properties, this resort is all about pool and beach, although they do keep the grounds tidy and immaculate. The pools are lovely and the infinity pool is only a few meters from the beach. The kids’ pool was a work of imagination and well situated. This resort has more umbrellas on their beach than most of the resorts along the strip and there are lots of chairs without if you are into sun worship. The umbrellas at the beach and pools are taken quickly, but we went down at 8 a.m., before breakfast, and always found a spot. People do come and go so keeping an eye out in the afternoon can yield the odd opening.
The buffet was decent. The a la carte restaurants were very good to excellent. All of the staff were courteous and pleasant. The only complaint I would make is that the activity staff are very busy all day/every day trying to keep the guests busy so they talk almost all day on the overhead system….bingo, aquacise, water polo, games of various sorts. The beach volleyball is off the system and finally some quiet.
We intended on exploring Cancun (the bus that takes you up the strip was right outside our resort) but got very relaxed and comfortable and never managed to get that far. Next time. There are plenty of things to do along the beach for excursions if that is what you like….para sailing, jet ski, snorkeling, diving, shopping, clubs, Mayan sights…you name it.

Room Tip: We had second floor (257) with no balcony, but it had patio doors and enough room to stand out and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

IBEROSTAR Cancun Resort and Spa thanks you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review.

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.

It is a pleasure to have contributed on your vacation and we sincerely appreciate your comments and preference.

We look forward to seeing you again at any of our IBEROSTAR Hotels.

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 180 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 180 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,777 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing