We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First all inclusive resort”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cancun
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First all inclusive resort”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first all inclusive resort. Rooms were ok, but incredible service and very hard working staff. Lots of things to do in the resort itself. We were concerned that because it is all inclusive resort, we won't we won't be served well, but we were wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback, we are really happy to hear you had a fantastic vacation with us and that we were able to make your stay memorable.

We look forward to seeing you soon, it would be an honor to host you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,816
    1,108
    386
    100
    71
See reviews for
1,791
1,489
109
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have just come back from the most amazing week at the Iberostar Cancun! The resort is absolutely stunning and from the moment you arrive, all of the staff do their utmost to ensure you have the best holiday experience! We paid extra for a room with a balcony - it was huge! We were lucky enough to have a room at the end meaning we had a wrap-around balcony which was incredible! Amazing sea view!

The food and drink was exceptional too. Thank you so much to Miguel who took great care of us when we were dining at the buffet restaurant. Having mimosas for breakfast on our final day was a great end to the holiday.

The rooms were kept spotless by the maids who did such a great job. All the staff were so friendly, so helpful and they really do make your holiday!

You didn't have to get up early to get a sunbed on the beach or at the pool, it didn't feel crowded at all which was great! Having a bar in the main pool was a great way to finish a day of sunbathing with a few cocktails!

We booked a luxury boat snorkeling trip through the hotel - which I would 100% recommend. The snorkeling was amazing and the boat really was luxurious and you were handed drinks whilst sailing across the sea, it was fantastic!

I cannot fault this place at all, this is definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at - and I will definitely be booking for next year....maybe for 2 weeks this time instead of one!

Thank you to everyone at Iberostar Cancun for a 5* holiday!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a balcony room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff at IBEROSTAR Cancun, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us the experience.

We are honored to hear that you had a great vacation. We are thrilled to know that you have felt like a star at Iberostar. We will share your words with all the hotel staff that have been part of your fabulous vacation.

We hope to welcome you back very soon here at your second home in Mexico!!

Best wishes,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This really was the best holiday ever . the staff make this place .Josie our waiter Luiz in the sports bar and Joaquin in the beach bar .we had great room overlooking sea and pool .everything was spotless .never see one insect in two weeks .great beach great pool. Great entertainment .dropped my I phone in sea and they got my tablet up and running with free with wi fi .so many great memories of a great place .only one thing wrong .no baked beans at breakfast or english style bacon .but who cares the food here is amazing .will take a lot to bea

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post and share your vacation experience and your impressions on IBEROSTAR Cancun.

It is for us a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities and the services during your stay.

We hope see you again very soon to enjoy another special holiday.

Sunny Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my hubby stayed here in May 2013 for our honeymoon and it was so much more than we ever hoped for. It is beautiful in everyway. Stunning views and big rooms that are immaculate and very modern. Cannot complain about a thing. 5* quality in all aspects, loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCox83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are honored that you chose IBEROSTAR Cancun for this special occasion. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time in our resort and that we contributed to making your stay a memorable one.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with us and we look forward to seeing you again on you next vacation!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been to a few Iberostars and once again, I was NOT disappointed. Here are a few points for each department of the resort and hopefully this will help.

Grounds: beautifully kept. everyday they had employees cleaning, renovating, repairing, mowing, etc. This particular location was not that big, and everything was easy to get to (restaurants, pool, beach, bar, etc) and in walking distance. They had many ramps (for those who need wheelchairs) and if they didn't, I saw employees help the guest.

Front Desk/ Bell Service
Everyone was polite, answered questions, spoke both English, Spanish and some Portugeese. Very help and courteous.

Housekeeping/Rooms
We had an ocean balcony room. Housekeeping cleaned everyday perfectly. Sheets cleaned all of the time, floors swept as if we never had sand on our bodies/feet prior to the cleaning. Fresh clean towels every day and she even organized our shoes/ cosmetics, etc. The beds were comfortable. and the bathroom was a bit small but it was like that before Iberostar took over. and the bathroom is for shower and pottie time, so do you really need it big? lol

Restaurants/ Bars/ Chefs/ Bartenders
This is probably the ONLY complaint about this resort chain. You have to make reservations and they only allowed me two with a five night stay, and if i wanted more reservations, i'd have to come the day of.to make a reservation. This was so annoying considering that when you are on vacation, the last thing you want to do is pay attention to the time and rush to dinner. It's also annoying because many people don't even show up for their reservation so the restaurants end up having a few seats open anyway but they still won't let you in. The food was good not great but you are in a different country, what do you expect. They are not going to cook EVERYTHING good or the way you are used to it where you are from.If you want great Italian food, go to Italy or New York. So I think people should be a little leniant considering and not be harsh on the criticism when it comes to food in other countries. The employees at the restaurant, however, make up for it in the sense that they will get you ANYTHING that you want! They bend over backwards to make sure that their guests are satisfy, which to me, is the most important. Most people did not give tips and they treated them the exact same way they treated me and my girls, and I tipped EVERYONE. Javier in the Mexican restaurant, AWESOME!

Entertainment staff:
My favorite part of Iberostar and the reason I continue to vacation at their locations. If you are like me, who likes to have a good time on vacation and meet people, Iberostar's entertainment team will bring that to you. Besides the fact that they are extremely talented, kind, courteous and funny, they are extremely warm and engaging. Throughout the day, they have different activities ( although I think they can diversify their games and activities). The team goes around and recruits people to participate, which I like as well, but they are not pushy. at night, they have live music before the shows and their shows are fantastic. Not broadway like here in New York, but very entertaining and like i said before, very talented. They made the stay for my daughters and myself very entertaining and very pleasurable. Carlos, Juan Carlos, Francisco, Leidy, Oscar, Karen, Arturo, Jesus, Enrique, AMAZING people.

Overall the trip was amazing. every single staff member that I came across, really understands hospitality. They really love working for Iberostar and it shows. When you go away, you want to be relaxed, have fun, eat good food and drink good drinks. YOu want your family to be entertained and treated like royalty. The Iberostar family does just that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ladymia1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your posting a review of our resort.

We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday. We will make sure to share your comments with all the team, including the "Star Friends" team.

We hope this experience is just one of the many you will have. We look forward to having you and your family soon.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Cancun for 2 weeks and It exceeding all of our expectations. The staff were all so friendly except from Joel from the pool bar but you will always get one.. The entertainment staff especially Enrique, Jesus and Carlos were fantastic and worked so hard. In fact all the staff worked hard. The food and drinks were great, hotel was spotless, the swimming pools and entertainment were also fantastic. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Cancun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hutchison120676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend your latest vacation, and for taking the time to post your impressions of IBEROSTAR Cancun.

It is for us a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities and the services during your stay.

We hope see you again on your next vacation to spend another fabulous time.

Sunny Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is amazing! Before we travelled we heard alot of things about Cancun being unsafe at night, however, there are busses 24/7 taking you to and from the town centre keeping you safe.
The hotel was recently converted into an Iberostar after being a part of the Hilton chain. All i can say is WOW. The hotel is about 10 mins on the bus to all the busy bars (Senor Frogs being one you cannot miss), this therefore meaning that you are close enough if you want a night out on the town and further enough away to not hear any of the nightlife from your hotel.
Upon arival we were given complimentary cocktails which was a nice touch, as well as having our bags taken off us by the bell boy. (They expect tips from the word go). However, considering the incredible service at the hotel, i feel like i wanted to tip the staff because they deserved it for all their hard work, keeping everyone happy.
Our rep (from Thomas Cook) was friendly and wasnt too pushy about the trips he had on offer, however, as everybody is fully aware, thomas cook trips are hugly over priced, so please just go into the town and buy the trip, they are so much cheaper and saved us a lot of money.
There is a good thing about going in September in that the locals sell their stock for sometimes half or 3/4 of the intial asking price due to being the end of the season and wanting to make as much money as possible, a 'bad' thing about this time of year, the weather! it probably stormed once a day towards the end of the evening sometimes throughout the night and once during the day, it was blazing hot most days but it would get quite cloudly at times, so maybe going in July/August would be a little better for weather, (of course september is cheaper though). The food was amazing, so so so many things to choose from, and due to being very popular with the Americans, there were alot of americal novilities to choose from!
The hotel is right on a beautiful white sand beach which was amazing, and lovely at night time too. during our stay we saw a mother turtle letting her babies free into the sea, what an experience!!!
There are 5 restaurants within the hote, steak house, nice, gormet however, TO DIE FOR! the steak in this place was out of this world, and we probably went 4 times during our 10 night stay!!! (men do have to wear long pants in here)
The room was a tiny bit disappointing, slightly dated and more like a 3/4 * room, however, good size TV, excellent bed and a lovely bathroom... the mini fridge was filled daily with soft drinks and water too as part of the all inclusive!!!
the animation staff worked so hard to get people involed in their activities and keep everyone entertained, couldnt have asked for better people!!! they worked such long shift yet still had so much engery! they dont mither you either if you say no!
the all inclusive drinks were very good, as most all inclusive drinks are watered down, a huge choice of cocktails and spirits, perfect!
the locals around the markets are quite pushy but not like youd get in tunisia or egypt they are friendly and even give you a free shot of tequila and a beer on your way around the market!
make sure you go to coco bongos too! amazing club if youre up for a big night out! thomas cook do a trip their, but again a lot cheap to buy tickets in the shopping complex close to the club.
also be aware of people selling fake tickets on the street! one person also asked if we wanted any drugs.

all in all an amazing holiday, relaxing but always something to do if you want some fun!
ideal for couples as well as children and families, would recommend to anyone!
will certainly we returning to cancun and this hotel very soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahkatex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guest,

IBEROSTAR Cancun Resort and Spa thanks you for taking the time to share with us your detailed review.

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.

It is a pleasure to have contributed to your wonderful vacation. Once again thank you for your comments and preference.

We look forward to seeing you again at any of our IBEROSTAR Hotels.

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 175 in Cancun
9,385 reviews
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 175 in Cancun
5,966 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing