We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place in Cancun... But, still Cancun”
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
Ranked #18 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
219 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Cancun... But, still Cancun”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very good staff... The all inclusive is better than average. Wonderful pools, grounds and beach. The rooms are large and clean.

The only downfall is this is still Cancun. There is a rip-off the Gringo attitude that is prevalent. Everything is done based on tips. If you tip well you get better views at the restaurants, or a full shot of alcohol in your drinks. This is ok as long as you know you need to spend $25-30 a day to get the service you would think was part of all inclusive. After many trips I went to Jamaica instead of Cancun and felt the staff was genuinely interested in us having a great stay. I think I am going to bypass Mexico for awhile.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank oldbarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post and share your vacation experience and your impressions of IBEROSTAR Cancun.

We are very sorry about the impression you got of our staff. Your all-inclusive package includes tips,so these should be completely voluntary. Please do not hesitate to contact our Managers if you feel uncomfortable in any situation, as our aim is that you feel pampered and completely satisfied.

We look forward to welcome you again to our resort!!

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,743
    1,077
    374
    97
    66
See reviews for
1,719
1,461
106
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The rooms are showing ages but still pleasant. The public areas are gorgeous though. But what make this resort is its staffs. The people are amazing, friendly and genuinely helpful.
Plenty of planned activities everyday, for the whole family. Susana with Kids Club, bravo. Arturo, Leonardo, Francisco, Omar and all Star Friends are energetically entertaining till 9:30 nightly. Santo, Fernando and the rest of the waiting staffs in the buffet restaurant, tirelessly attend to our needs. The resort has four restaurants, Japanese, Steak, Gourmet and Mexican. They are mediocre at best. Again, even the selections are not changing much daily, The buffet is our favorite, better than many Vegas variety (Paris, Bellagio, Monte Carlo, ...) and the staffs, the difference. The waiting staffs do not expect tips, but please do. It's the least the patrons can reciprocate for such attentiveness.

Room Tip: Second floor, ocean view, no balcony was good for me. My friends on the higher floor complained tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tranmq1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My family and I have just come back from a two week visit and the only way to describe the hotel and staff is WOW. The hotel and surroundings are amazing and went way beyond expectations. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always willing to go that extra mile to make your stay memorable. Room service was a great experience and as it was free with all inclusive, well worth taking advantage of. This was an amazing holiday and an experience we will never forget. I have recommended this hotel to all my family and friends as it will not disappoint anyone. Cannot wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for making this a dream holiday.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room which was ample for us, a family of two adults and two children. The children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your vacation experience, It is a great pleasure to read we were able to make your stay an ejonyable experience, there is nothing that make us happier that learn that our guests had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to your return on your next vacations in Mexico!!

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Iberostar from 2nd Aug to the 16th Aug 2014.
We couldn't of asked for more!
From when we arrived to the day we left the staff went out of there way to help in anyway they could. Luiz in the sports bar, Jesus & Enrique from the star friends all made the holiday memorable. Star friends also take you out to the clubs around 11:30pm if you don't want to make your own way.
Food in the buffet exceeded our expectations, lots of variety & all freshly prepared. We had no problems whatsoever booking into the speciality restaurants. We ate in the steak house twice, Gourmet, Mexican and Japanese. All 4 were excellent & would highly recommend.
Drinks are local brands but they also have a large variety of international brands (Smirnoff/Jack Daniels etc), just ask at the bars when you order. Nothing is ever a problem.
Rooms are good, always cleaned with fresh towels and mini bar restocked daily.
Lots of space around the many pools at the resort, sun loungers aren't squashed together. Only down side during our stay was people tended to put towels on loungers that had shade then not return until late afternoon. This was never a problem on the beach, again sun loungers not squashed together & beach was cleaned daily. Sea was slightly rough but fun for everyone!
We found it was easy to get around out of the resort, we used the buses that takes you to shopping mall or right into the night life for $1pp and it doesn't matter how far you want to go!

Overall absolutely amazing holiday, met some fantastic people and would recommend this resort to everyone. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff at IBEROSTAR Cancun, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

We are delighted to read your comments and learn that you enjoyed both the food and the service at our restaurants. Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experience to each of our guests, and we are happy to know we achieved it this time.

Once again thank you for your preference and we will waiting for your next vacation in this your second home in Cancun.

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Picked this hotel following reviews as one of best for family resorts at Cancun shore. It would have been better without that many teenagers around although I couldn't observe any disturbance caused by them. All you can eat buffet becomes, for the lack of a better word, boring after a few days. Tried Mexican a la carte restaurante (must make reservations) and was disappointed. Room is what expected, fairly acceptable. Staff is friendly however they run short of it at all you can eat restaurant. We had to keep flagging waiters to assist. In summary, pool and beach area are the top while food is the bottom of this family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your preference in IBEROSTAR Cancun and for taking the time to write your review

Your opinion and your comments about the food are very important to us. However we would like to clarify that our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants. The food variation in our buffets is part of our quality standards. Please be sure that we will share your feedback with our Management.

We will be glad to have you back as it is a pleasure to attend you!!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We traveled with our 19 year old daughter and spent 6 days in paradise!!! We love all-inclusive resorts and the Iberostar Cancun is one of the best!!! Loved our entire experience. Pool area and beach are fantastic! Food was delicious - in buffet and in restaurants! Comfortable beds in nice rooms! Friendly, happy staff throughout! Fun poolside entertainment with Watersports team during the day and enjoyable live shows at night! Great place for families and also for couples! This was our third trip to Cancun and definitely the best so far!!! Was somewhat surprised that a resort of this size did not feel overcrowded and provided great food and service!!! We will definitely go back to this resort!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff at IBEROSTAR Cancun, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are honored to hear that you and your family had a wonderful vacation.

Our mail goal is offer the best experience for each of our guests, and we love know that during your stay you were all were very pleased.

Once again thank you for your preference and we will waiting for your next vacation in this your second home in Cancun.

Sunny regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We travelled as a party of nine with an infant (3 yr old daughter), 3 young girls and five adults including my in laws. Loved this holiday from the moment we stepped through reception. The non alcoholic cocktail was most welcome. The check in was slow but doesn't really matter.
Our room was quite sizeable but we had to swap to get a bigger bed and the spare bed wasn't made up for the little one. The room maid left our room spotless each day and the air conditioning was a godsend. The minibar was all free and fully stocked every day which was a bonus with the bottled water.(don't drink the tap water)
The restaurants where great which was backed up with my 10lb weight gain! Plenty of choice at the buffet restaurant. If you miss your home comforts at breakfast, with the exception of the American bacon strips, you can your own full English breakfast. Filamena made the best omelettes ever!
Lunch and tea were all varied from Italian, Mexican, English and American dishes.
The draught beer was ok but got u bloated after a while. Eventually switched to shorts and found jack Daniels, baileys etc all included which puts the iberostars ahead of others.
The speciality restaurants were great. The steakhouse being the pick of the bunch. Unbelievable. You need to book in advance though. We ate 5 times in the special restaurants and they where never full. We later found out that people book them then never turn up which is unfair to others.
During the day there was plenty to do to pass time. Plenty of pool games, polo volleyball etc and a daily fun game which the whole hotel seemed to enjoy for comedy. You could also take part in other activities such as football, archery, rifle shooting, table tennis etc
The pools were very clean and the main pool was so big it was never overcrowded. Only set back is all our swimwear which had white on went green with the chemicals. Even the bottom of Islas hair went greenish although she was in the pool 8 hours a day.
The entertainment team made the holiday so much fun. Leonardo, Omar, Jesus, Arturo etc were all fun and worked hard to make your day as fun as possible. We never spoke much to suzie but the kids entertainment seemed great and she worked very hard.
Ever night they had a different show in the theatre which was good. We only saw two repeats in the fortnight. We took our three year old daughter who absolutely loved the shoes especially the Hollywood show, despite being so tired. The theatre was open sided though which usually made it quite stuffy.
Me and the father in law took our golf clubs and played the 18 hole golf course and it was amazing. Once you got to know where you were going it was a tricky yet scorable course (12 hcap) I was excited to see a few crocodiles but only saw a few in the water and a 10ft croc sunbathing under a bush. They don't bother you. The nests are well signposted so if we hit near we retrieved our ball with caution and played from safest point. Tbh you have to be an idiot if you get attacked by one, like the four scousers on the last day who thought it was funny to prod one with the putter then seemed surprised when it went for them. The all inclusive buggy comes round every four holes and fills your ice filled cooler box with beers and water. Tip him well and you will see him every 3/4 holes. We left our clubs at the course all holiday and they cleaned our shoes and clubs at the end of every round. We played at 7.30 to 8 every day, found it very pleasant temperature wise and took around 3 hours per round with the buggy. The cost was £79 dollars for an iberostar guest.
Due to how good the hotel was we only went out twice. Sunday night we went to señor frogs glo party. We paid $60 pp and that got us transport to, entrance in the club and free beer all night. Vodka, beer, tequila etc. was good fun but wear old clothes.
The other was when we paid $96 dollars per adult and took the two youngest (3 and 12) to the Captain Hook pirate ship. This is a must for families. They take you to sea, give you a lovely meal, steak or chicken and the beer is free. Corona as well. We somehow managed to get upstairs in the VIP area so got drinks very regularly.
We only really spent our money on tips. 1/2 dollars when they brought you service. $1 ever other when we went to bar. Usually we left $5 dollars at meals and $10 in the speciality restaurants
The shops outside are cheap, got a Lacoste polo shirt in sale for $70 dollars (£40) and saved £100 on a new watch
This is an amazing friendly place to come. Hardly anything to complain about. Love chatting with so many different people, only setback is Americans do not know about waiting their turn and just barge in. Amazing place, definitely for families and couples who gave a tolerance for children and don't mind the non stop entertainment team
Don't often say it but I would definitely go back
Chris, 37
Manchester England

Room Tip: Get a pool view with balcony and a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,922 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.4 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Property: Iberostar Cancun
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing