We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$465
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$440
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$470
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$720
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$351
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moon Palace Cancun(Cancun)
US$700
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$620
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$536
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,574)
Filter reviews
6,574 results
Traveller rating
4,812
1,243
361
101
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,812
1,243
361
101
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge leveloriental loungesteakel alamopablo winklerla trattoitalian restaurantlobby baralamo restaurantroom serviceconcierge dinnerour honeymoonchef's dinnerresort creditactivity poolfire showdinner on the beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,688 - 2,693 of 6,574 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We absolutely loved visiting the sun palace. We will definitely come back as well as refer others to visit. I loved the in-room Chi products - they smelled amazing. I also thoroughly enjoyed the spa. I had a body scrub and massage and felt so amazingly relaxed afterward. Our favorite restaurant was La Trattoria. The food and service was exceptional. We ate there 4 nights and always had something new and delicious, and stuck to our favorites as well - filet, gelato and tomato and mozzarella. The beach concierge service was outstanding. Silvio was quick to bring us our drinks and made sure we were always filled up, our lips never getting dry! The beach was amazing and we spent every day there. We liked it much better than the pool, as it was more relaxing and just beautiful. Never crowded and never had a problem getting chairs in the morning. We also got room service a few times and they were always courteous and on time, and the food was good as well. The rooms are also amazing. Very modern and simple but that's what makes them so great! We had a junior suite and it had plenty of room and the balcony was a little bigger too. We love the sun palace! The only small suggestion I have is to put another shower head in the shower. It's a large, great size and a second shower head would only add to the greatness!

Room Tip: Room 319 had perfect view of the beach. Amazing views!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

You know, you got me thinking. Those who are not familiar with Sun Palace do not realize that indeed most of our rooms have very good ocean views. You call a perfect example: 319, a junior suite. While not the highest floor by any means, it affords a very pleasant view. And the room size is very nice.

Your double shower-head will have to wait a couple of years. It is a major undertaking because the building itself is masonry and concrete.

It is always grandiose to receive such good comments. We are so happy when our guests have a good time!

Thank you for your kind feedback. See you soon.

Best wishes,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I've never been pampered in my life at a hotel but their customer service was awesome and the food was even better! It was nice and quiet and they tailored to our every need we had no mater what the need was. The $1500 credits was very easy to use and we went on one thing every day we were there (7 days stay) and still had $85 left over.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the ocean the views are amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

"Pampered" is a word I read a lot about.
But what should be understood by this?

Guests mention service, well that is what you go to a hotel for. Right?
Smiles:We smile readily in Mexico. But then, everywhere there are people who have reasons to smile. Otherwise it would really be a sad world.
Maybe you come from a big city. Big city dwellers do not smile as much.
Probably stress is the main reason we have to go on vacation. Changing your daily environment. Does that feel like pampering?

It seems a feeling that is unique to each one of us.

If so, then by feeling pampered we should understand we read your expectations correctly.

What do you think?

Cordially,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sun Palace 7/30/14-8/6/14. This was our 3rd stay at this Palace resort. As expected, everything was great. Our room was always neat and clean, the staff courteous as usual. The food was great. Love the breakfast buffet. The Italian was our favorite restaurant and we ate there 3 times. The salmon was amazing! The one "miss" on the food was the steak. I tried the filet at the Steakhouse and Italian, but is was not good either time. The cut was very fatty which a filet should not be. My husbands steak was sub par too. No biggie though as there are plenty of other wonderful choices. By far the staff person who excelled the most was Mario Sandoval who prepared fabulous lunches all week by the pool. And thank you Mario for the recipe for your Grandma's salsa! It is the best. We have been going to Palace resorts since 2001 and will keep going because it is a quality experience we can count on every time. Just please get an adult only resort within walking distance of 5 th Ave in Playa del Carmen soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hmmm...Haven't changed meat purveyors. Let me see what is up with the fillet.

But thank you for your steadfast support. Multiple time visitors are undoubtedly our favorites. They signify that we have and are still doing a good job.

If it weren't for you, we'd be out of business. There is no other way to gauge your true quality but by how many of your patrons come back.

See you next time!

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This review is long overdue. My wife and I stayed at the Sun Palace to celebrate our 10 anniversary at the end of July. It was the best vacation of our lives and I am happy we decided on this resort. From the minute we checked in, it was perfect. The staff was the friendliest we have ever experienced. I want to give special thanks to Daniel, Mario Alberto, Javier, Carlos, Ismael, Jose, Ignacio and Javier Enedino. These gentlemen were over the top with their excellent service and made us feel special. From the beach, to the pools, to the drinks and food, to the great rooms, we were overwhelmed! We thought of visiting Jamaica in the spring, but decided we are going back to the Sun Palace! See you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Ah...vacations must be a bit utopic. They are not necessarily the real world.
But one cannot but wish they were and one had the capacity to enjoy it all year long.

Even that can get a little jaded.

I very much enjoyed knowing you preferred us over Jamaica, although two completely different destinations.

Will be looking for you next Summer.

Warm regards,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Mi Casa ,La Familia,
Our 20 years at sun Palace. The Most Beautiful and Friendly in Cancun.
THE BEACH--- Best Ever and well groomed.Energetic staff setting up chairs and serving the quests.
THE POOL---Crystal Blue water,maintained each day with a swim up bar and most Vigorous staff.
THE RESTAURANTS-- The Steak,outdoor,Fabulous
ITALIAN--Excellent,We Loved our special last night Dinner. Alamo,always the best Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner. Asian--The Sushi is a great appetizer to start off meal. Excellent Dinners.
"Chefs dinner,Wonderful, a Great Experience and very Entertaining.
Salon and Spa,Great.
This was more than another Vaccation. Spending time and sharing Memories with our Friends and Sun Palace Family is Priceless!!!!
Once again, as we have said this over again,Mr. Pablo Winkler, You have an Amazing,Hard working,Tiredless Staff.And those who were not present will always be remembered.
SPECIAL THANKS to;
Front desk Managers ,Pamela and Martin. Bar/Restaurant Manager Manuella, and Trainee ( Marisol). Edgar Poot Exec, Chef,Guilermo and all the Chefs .Bell service,Santos and Staff.Hospitality,Karla. Guest Service and Concierge. Life Guard, Raul.
Activies Director,Aaron and staff. Security staff (always present).Housekeeping Staff.
Also----Efram,Jesus,Victor Hugo,Jorge,Arturo,Norberto, Consuella,Elfeda,Karina,Leslie,Maria,Marisol,Jose,Armondo,Enrique,Louis Angel,Jose Ignacio,Miriam,Jose Daniel,Pedro,Pablo, and ALL the Staff we did not Mention.
We Appreciate ALL of your Hard work and EXCELLENT Customer Service. It was our Pleasure,Thank-You..
Can Hardley Wait till next July. GREAT JOB,Mr. PABLO WINKLER!
Many Blessings, TE AMO, KENN and Kathy Krug

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Ladies and gentlemen,

This is the epitome of what one can expect to garner on the job. Friends for life!

These guests have won over the whole resort from years of staunch preference of our product and they really have a casa and a familia in Cancún.

They are soft spoken, courteous, warm people whose appearance in our hotel is always a reason to be happy and feel good.

You are so loved!

pwinkler@palacersorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews