We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stop Believing -My Journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Stop Believing -My Journey”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a friendly smile by the bell boy...Roxx at the front desk was very helpful and made us feel at home. Maribel at the concierge was very helpful and knowledgable of all the areas of the hotel and always providing information with a smile. Definitely we'll be back and can't wait for that! Thank you for an amazing experience, you all rock!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Elisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi Elisa A,

And we can’t wait to welcome you again! Thanks for the short & sweet review!! We love to hear you had a Rock Star vacation; I will pass on your great comments to our staff, they will appreciate them.
Please come back soon and we will rock your world! ROCK ON!

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,820
    1,606
    571
    216
    171
See reviews for
3,504
3,129
116
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We are legendary members and Palace premier members. This was our first visit to Hard Rock Cancun. We bought our membership when we visited Hard Rock Punta Cana. It's just difficult not to compare this destination with the other Hard Rock and Moon Palace.

We really had no complaints.

The things we liked:

No waiting at the vacation planners! This was the biggest benefit of all!

Check in was smooth. We got a room facing the ocean easily.

Small site and easy access to everything. The elevators were efficient. Restaurants and Spa and ocean all right there.

You can sit at the pool and see the ocean!

No problems with getting seats, but we are early risers.

No waiting for restaurants. They were often empty.

Staff was very kind.

Renting a cabana (a bed) on the beach was a highlight. Cost us $30.

The beach was beautiful, nicer than Moon Palace. Even with a red flag, many were in the water enjoying it, and life guards were very very observant and good.

What we missed at this site:

Food is better and there are more choices at Moon Palace and HR Punta Cana.

Spa is much larger and nicer at MP and HRPC. Here, there are no extras. At Moon Palace, you go an hour before and use the steam room, sauna, hot tub, etc.

Staff at Moon Palace-better. We made more connections with staff there. They knew our names,and we looked forward to seeing them. At HR Cancun, all very nice, but not as memorable.

Moon Palace and HR Punta Cana-it's easier because of their size, to find quiet pool areas.

We love the lobbies of Moon Palace with popcorn and snacks offered.

At HR Cancun no separate bar area for folks who like to party. Lobby is only area.

Dolphins are on site at Moon Palace. $40 cab ride from HR Cancun.

It was a wonderful week and we enjoyed it. We have no complaints, but we do love Moon Palace and are biased with that resort. I do want to check out the HR Rivera Maya. The spa there is supposedly wonderful.

Room Tip: We were right by the elevator. If you are a light sleeper, you may hear too much as people come on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MNfamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Appreciated MNfamilytravelers,

Thank you so much for your review, by receiving feedback from our guest is how we manage to get better,

I will review your concerns with our operations manager, I appreciate that you shared your opinion. Thanks again for your comments and hope welcoming you back to the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.

ROCK ON!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent this past Thursday to Monday in Cancun which was purchased through a JetBlue Getaway package. Great idea for anybody looking to head here as it saves a couple hundred bucks (I tried doing them separate). I also purchased the travel to and from the airport through JetBlue, another great thing. The Cancun airport is pretty hectic, so would save some hassle.

It was my girlfriend and I traveling, and we had a really good experience. We were lucky to get some great weather (windy) and a very good crowd at the hotel. We caught the tail end of spring bring, so a big blend of families, children and college kids.

Room:
I am starting with room as there is a recommendation I wanted to make to those traveling. We first ended up in a room facing the bay, but were too low and ended up facing a concrete wall. If you face the bay side, I would recommend 6th Floor and above. We immediately upgraded to an ocean view and got put right off the elevator smack dab in the middle of the resort. We had an amazing view, and great room but the issue was that it was incredibly loud. There is a terrible seal on the doors so you hear everything outside your room (people, elevators and all the housekeepers...and their carts). My advice would be to fight to be further down the halls away from elevators and high traffic areas. It ruined our ability to sleep.

Food:
For an all inclusive, we were extremely impressed. We ended up at Zen for dinner once, 3 breakfasts and 2 lunches (out of 4 days). 24 hour room service helps you late night. They are very quick to serve at dinner which I appreciated.

Drinks:
They have virtually everything you want. If you don't see it on the shelf, chances are they have it, but you must ask. (They keep Don Julio below the bar and out of sight)

Service:
Service was excellent, almost to a fault. They clean the rooms WAY too early. Every morning by 9am they would knock on the door. We didn't have a "do not disturb" for our room and kept forgetting to get one (our fault). They walked in while we were taking an afternoon nap and we told them we were sleeping. Within 45 minutes I got a call from the from desk asking when we wanted our room clean. I was not happy as you can imagine....but at least they keep the place clean.

All and all, we had an excellent trip and would definitely go back. If you like clubs/dancing, definitely pay the money to go to Coco Bongo.

Hope it helps!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello Matthew B,

Thank you so much for the detailed review, by receiving feedback from our guest is how we
manage to get better, we appreciate your kind comments about our resort. We hope you come back soon to make of your next visit a rock n´ roll fantasy vacation!

KEEP THE GOOD TIME ROLLING!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This resort is average at best. You won't get to sit at the pool unless you get up BEFORE the pool opens and place stuff in the seats. You have to get your own food and drinks all day. The beds are super hard/firm. For $3500, the service should be up to par. Save your money and stay somewhere else.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Maria C,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to my attention. Receiving feedback from our guest is how we continue to get better. I would like to get some more detailed info from you if you would not mind. I will have a customer care agent contact you to properly address your concerns and rest assured that I will be personally on top of this to ensure you have a wonderful stay and turn into our raving fan.

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I vacationed in Punta Cana last year with 10 friends, we secured a two bedroom Villa which was quite costly. This year my girlfriend and & wanted to try Hard Rock Cancun. I joined the VIP club which was basically a waste of money. There were no perks, etc. I tried to get a room upgrade to an Ocean view but was told there were none available. The next day I went back to be advised there was one available but it was in the vicinity of the work being done and due the noise the room was not recommended. I'm still in awe of the high pressure sales tactics used to attempt to have you purchase a long term vacation package. We found out that others had purchased these at a fraction of the price we were quoted. The outdoor womens restrooms did not have running water as well as the outdoor showers. On Saturday we were graced with the presence of a large group of high school spring breakers. The pool was laden with drunk kids, one was removed from the restaurant Zen because he was too drunk. He didnt seem to mind too much since he went right to the center bar to continue his drinking. In general the staff does make you feel very welcomed and treated you well. DONT stay anywere near the elevators - the late night revelers will easily disrupt your sleep. The food at Zen, was excellent as well as the presentation. We didn't care for the italian food @ Ciao. I doubt we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
2 Thank Brett L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Brett L G,

Thank you for your time and candor in bring your traveling experience to my attention. I would like to apologize for such unusual experience with your accommodations, we usually meet and exceed our dear member’s room expectation and clearly we missed our mark this time. Thanks for your report I have been informed that the water is restored in the common areas.
Again please accept my apology and should you return please reach out to me directly by a private message to give you the VIP treatment our members are accustomed to at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hard Rock Hotel is very easy to find as it is near to Cancun Airport, about 30 minutes drive. When we arrived at the hotel we was greeted by damp scented towels and flowers by the hotel staff, which was a great start!

The receptionist was very helpful and explained how things worked in the hotel, restaurant times, housekeeping ect. The only thing we regret not asking about was the 'Resort Credits', we don't normally speak to reps in hotels but we should have this time, we found out about the credits on the last day of our holiday and found we was entitled to 1800 dollars which is about 1000 English pounds in credits, you can only use the credits in selected shops around the hotel, for some trips and in the Rock Spa. When buying something you have to pay 20% tax and use the credits to pay for the rest of the bill, it worked out great and there was no catch, we was disappointed we didn't find out about them before our last day as we thought you could only have them if you are from the US, but any visitor staying at the Hard Rock is entitled so id highly advise you to check if your staying at this hotel.

We cant really complain about the hotel overall as it is beautiful, truly a place for relaxation. The hotel has security guards on the front gate and monitors who goes in and who goes out which made us feel very safe. We had a lagoon room, which had 2 double beds an LCD tv and a jacuzzi tub a fridge full of free drinks included in the all-inclusive deal, it was the best hotel room we had stayed in and the view of the Gulf of Mexico from the room was amazing. No complaints about cleanliness, as the rooms was cleaned twice a day. Also the room service was a massive bonus, you can order anything off the menu free of charge and its delivered 24 hours a day within 20 minutes.

There are 4 restaurants in the resort, we visited the Italian, Asian and The Market which is a buffet help yourself type of restaurant, which was our favourite as it was quick and easy and open for the majority of the day, they even offered a snack box to take food up to your room. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend the Italian restaurant as the food and the staff let it down, it took us around an hour to even get our food, then they'd brought us the wrong meals. Outside around the pool area there is a stone fire which serves pizza during the day which was very nice and handy, there is a buffet style table full of different foods, so there is plenty to choose from. As well as this there are two wet bars, a DJ and a beautiful beach which offers jet skiing and various other water sports in the resort. We cant fault the staff around the pool area's and the bar, they was very friendly and was very good at their jobs, they keep the pool area very clean and will try and help you with anything you need. The major problem this hotel has is the night entertainment, there simply is none, there are 2 pool tables and 2 shuffle boards in the lobby but that's it, we found ourselves travelling to nearby shopping centers for the night times, there was no problem getting taxi's as there was 6 seater vehicles waiting outside the hotel, I would recommend 'La Isla Mall' its beautiful and has 100's of designer shops.

We would definitely go back to this hotel again, in fact we are hoping to visit again this summer, amazing family holiday! -G

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lagoon are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMad038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Hello TripMad038,

Wow! What an amazing review, it is so encouraging to hear your comments regarding your experience at our resort. Nothing rocks our world more than hearing that you enjoyed every moment of your vacation and will return in a heartbeat.

We can’t wait to welcome you again and roll the red carpet for you and your family and provide you with the stupendous service that you already know. Keep the good memories!!!

LET'S ROCK TOGETHER!
Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Activities for all ages if you would like to participate. Good location. Nice resort, music in lobby put you in an energetic mood. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great food options with several restaurants. Only negative - noisy doors and hallway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank John D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan R, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi John!

Thank you for your short but fantastic review, we are so happy that all the family had a wonderful time at our resort . Thank you for the feedback you share with us, your comments in this regards were shared with our management for further review.
We really hope to see you soon in your next holidays to rock even more!.

LOVE ALL, SERVE ALL

Juan Rivera
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
0.4 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 175 in Cancun
5,959 reviews
7.9 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
21,506 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Cancun Palace Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun- Where Stage Front meets Beach Front At our unique Cancun beach resort, we've created the ultimate beachfront celebrity playground and transformed the typical All Inclusive vacation into a rock star paradise, which reflects our Mexican setting and cosmopolitan flair. Located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room hydro spa tub, fine dining at, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists. There are no limits at our All Inclusive Cancun resort. Go on a world tour with the internationally inspired restaurants of the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. Give meetings the rock star treatment. Plan the ultimate celebrity-style wedding. Rock out at the beach or the luxurious pool area with swim up bars. Indulge in a glorious spa day. The Hard Rock Hotel Cancun truly has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing