We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a paradise!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Ah-MAZING! This place far exceeded our expectations for a family vacation! The staff here are always cleaning and to say they are super friendly and ALWAYS willing to serve and make your stay comfortable. Sure you will see neg reviews below but not everyone can appreciate good accommodations when they see it. Ya can't make some people happy no matter what. The Veranda restaurant staff were super nice and the food was always great. They have diff themes for every night / or buffet. The spa is easy to find if u just ask questions. It's a top notch spa with many possibilities to relax. The pools were fantastic and the beach is so close and clean! The rooms are spacious and versatile with pull out beds if u need. The local buses pick up right in front ($1pp) or there are shuttles if u reserve ahead of time. Room svc is what you'd expect for a large 300+ unit resort (20-30 mins). Otherwise, restaurants are only steps away. This week stay was the best vaca we've had in a long time - for int'l travel. Very family friendly resort- look no further.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,707
    941
    336
    129
    82
See reviews for
1,870
1,295
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I'm staying for two weeks and just finished my first week. The service is wonderful from maids to activity providers. If it rains they provide fun inside games and entertainment. Beautiful view of ocean from every room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanMarieGrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want a stay with people who welcome you at every turn, this is the place....the service is outstanding, the villas are wonderfully complete and cleanliness is the rule - not the exception. I swear they trim the grass with manicuring scissors! Love this place! Right on the bus line, no need to take a taxi either!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed there for a week and had a great time, all the staff were friendly and very professional, from check in to check out. Our concierge Heidi was very helpful with all our planning, and Miguel at the pool bar was great, I could go on and on, don't believe any of the bad reviews that some of the other people have written, they must have been some rowdy young kids. Looking for a nice relaxing, quiet vacation, this is the place to go, Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smytty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the royal sands for 2 weeks in May. We had theist amazing holiday travelling with my parents and 3yr old daughter. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful, the staff are simply amazing and it is just worth every single penny. We used the shuttle bus to visit Royal Cancun resort, the beach is amazing for children, and the food at the resturant at the royal islander is exceptional. We loved the char hut too for lunch. You really cannot fault this resort in anyway! The staff work so hard and will do anything for you. We did the all inclusive package and we really felt we were treated like royalty for the whole 2 weeks. Thank you so much Royal Sands for the most amazing holiday. We will be back. You do an amazing job and your staff really are a credit to you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 275Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

To start off, this is our first time at this resort and in Cancun in general.

We were there from 5/25 to 6/1 2014

To the first timer, I strongly suggest exchanging some money at the airport for pesos… Those will be an invaluable way not to get screwed on things you buy.. If you’re a smoker… buy your cigs in the US…. You will not get what you expect and the packaging is just jacked up they taste nothing like their US counterparts.

Before our trip we did our homework, reading the reviews here and on other sites. We checked, discussed, and rechecked the Royal Sands website. We made sure we had a good understanding of what we were in for. What we got was a bit less than advertised.

The room was simple with marble floors and wicker furniture and is sparsely decorated. English channels on the TV are on the higher numbers. The view from the balcony was excellent, overlooking the pool and out onto the Sea. We had a bit of an issue getting our minibar restocked but one I left the housekeeping a note in Spanish my requests were taken care of. Be specific if you go this route with number of exactly what you want.

We did some reading over the materials that were included in our night stand, the Royal Sands informational booklet. There are charges for all sorts of things so keep track of your keys and bracelets if you are on the all-inclusive package. A lost bracelet that doesn’t get turned in will be a $150.00 USD charge. We were also shocked to discover that if there was a problem, and I quote “A sincere apology from the front desk staff should be sufficient.”

In the restaurants and at the bars you will run into several items marked or listed as a surcharge. We found this to be a bit excessive as there were just so many things that were
surcharged.

The concierge, Joseph we only saw twice. He wanted to take us to the timeshare proposal. Once we let him know we had no interest in purchasing a timeshare at this time he had no interest in us. We literally did not see the man until we were checking out and he still had no interest in us..

There was another concierge that was interested in us even though we had no interest in the timeshare proposal. His name was Zeus. He always had a smile on his face and asked how our trip was going or if we needed anything…

The Sidelines sports bar was the only form of entertainment offered at this resort. The listed materials clearly show it closing at midnight but it closes at 11 or earlier every night. If you ask the front desk employees they can only tell you that it is closed but not why it is closed before the posted time. The only real entertainment there was a karaoke night; no other shows or comedy events were held there in our week. Other than this early closing bar there was absolutely no other form of entertainment, period.

There is only one restaurant at this resort called La Veranda .It is buffet style with a single cook to order grill. For breakfast there is the same thing every day on the buffet. The eggs are watery because they add milk while they are sitting there on the line… it took me all week to figure out if they were safe or not.. Lunch buffet is also roughly the same every day. They have theme nights for dinner… Just be careful what you eat.

The pool Bar is the star attraction in my opinion. Patricio the bartender is the most excellent person you will ever meet. Look for him. He is fast and always courteous. He really goes out of his way to make your time special. I really couldn’t say enough about Patricio, but anyone who goes to the Royal Sands Pool bar should look for or ask for him by name… Patricio His English is fluent and he has the best personality! Pool Bar closes at 7 pm.

The pool closes at 10 pm which I found to be a bit early. The pool should be open all evening or at least until midnight. It was not too crowded during our stay. There were a lot of children in the fitness pool for the most part so that was a bit of a downer. You really have to get your spot early if you want to get a shady place by the pool.

The transportation from this location to other locations is a bit confusing. Taxis are readily available but the price is crazy inflated if paying with dollars. Use pesos whenever you can. Busses are also plentiful. There is a shuttle that stops only at Royal Resort locations but you have to get on the list at the bell boy’s station in advance to utilize this shuttle. The other busses cost 9.50 in pesos or a dollar in USD. Use pesos on the busses to save your money and to avoid getting the wrong change back. The couple we were with experienced this on the R-2 busses a couple of times.

The room key: Think of this as just like your debit or credit card. It seemed a bit odd to us that it was needed for so much at first until we thought of it like this. If you are splitting the villa with another couple then using your proper room key really helps track expenses. The gift shop and market on premises require the room key to make purchases. You can only pay with cash or credit if you have already checked out of your room.

Room service was really convenient when you didn't want to get dressed up or have to go out for a meal. The menu is sparse and changes at certain hours to include only selected items. The drinks from room service are only glasses-so if you want coke or beer and you have none in your refrigerator, you cannot order cans from here. They only serve cups of drinks and beer in cups but they do have bottles of water. Often, by the time you got your food, the ice in the drink was melted and watered down. I ordered ice 5 times before I ever got it. The only time I ever actually got ice was when I called and ordered that and nothing else. Room service usually ran about 30-45 minutes and the employees seemed rushed and apologetic for the wait. Aurellio (sp?) was always awesome and would have conversation with you. He really liked my boyfriend’s flashlight and they had a conversation about the different features of it! Room service could be better, but sometimes it was the best food you could find around here.

The spa is located next to the resort in an unattached building. The spa that you see from the lobby is only the fish spa. That appears to only occasionally be open. We didn't find out until the last day there the spa actually is. If you head out of the front door of phase 1 the main entrance of the resort then turn towards Backstage it will be on your right. It will say Spa on it but we did not know it was part of the resort.

The last issue I’d like to cover is that tips are supposedly included in the all-inclusive package but there seems to be no way to distribute them. We were led to understand that with the all-inclusive package that a certain dollar amount was included as tips. On every slip that you sign there is a line for tips and total. At restaurants it is plainly stated that tip is not included with your all inclusive meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator. at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about our resort.

We know that the Trip Advisor community will appreciate your insights. However, we would like to comment on the following points:

The exchange rate at Royal Resorts is maintained within a competitive margin with banks and is often better than the rate posted in bureau de change outside the resorts.

With regard to the charge for lost bracelets, this is a policy to discourage abuse of the all-inclusive concept. The bracelet must be worn at all times and is non-transferable. Since the REFINE All-Inclusive Package was introduced almost two years ago we have only had one case of a lost bracelet and therefore have only had to charge one guest the aforementioned bracelet fee.

Our restaurants are all certified as “Distintivo H” establishments. The Mexican Ministry of Tourism and Mexican Ministry of Health award this prestigious certification to restaurants that fulfill the rigorous standards of food storage and preparation established by Mexican code NMX-F605 NORMEX 2004. The aforementioned code complies with the highest quality and health standards in the world.

You mentioned the lunch buffet, we would like to point out that in addition to the buffet, an a la carte menu is always available and this is also the case for dinner at La Veranda.

The All-Inclusive package also includes dining at Hacienda Sisal Restaurant, which is right next door to the resort, and the two restaurants at sister resort The Royal Cancun. Additionally, All-Inclusive guests can enjoy meals at Captain’s Cove, El Conquistador and Pancho & Willy’s Bar, in the Hotel Zone. Finally, the restaurants, bars and the use of other all-inclusive amenities at The Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen are also included for a day in the Riviera Maya (additional fee for transport to The Royal Haciendas).

A percentage of the all-inclusive rate you paid is designated for tips for the staff who looked after you during your stay. We have received several comments from customers who stated that service was outstanding and deserved an additional tip. Giving an extra tip is not and never will be mandatory but we know the staff do appreciate it.

Your feedback has already been sent to the departments in question so that they can take steps to improve in the areas that you mention. We always strive to provide the highest levels of service for our guests and we regret that we did not achieve this during your stay.

We hope to be able to host you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our first trip to Cancun and The Royal Sands. We exchanged through RCI into a spacious two bedroom, two bath, full kitchen Villa with the all-inclusive Refine package. The resort is immaculate inside and out and has a beautiful, clean, swimmable beach. We arrived around 3 pm and our room was ready. We stayed in Phase 1, Building D, Room 5511 (the second number of the unit is the floor, so we were on the 5th floor). All rooms have an ocean view and spacious balcony. The all-inclusive includes all meals, drinks, room service, and mini bar (beer, water, soft drinks). Yes, there is a surcharge on some higher priced menu items and drinks, but there is a large selection to choose from without a surcharge. There is a buffet available for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as al a carte menus, pool service, room service, and off site restaurants. There is a theme night at La Veranda each night which includes a night with lobster and a night with prime rib with no surcharges. If you’re dining off property you need to make a reservation. Captain’s Cove is on the Lagoon, has delicious food, and is beautiful at sunset. There is a free shuttle bus to other Royal resorts and restaurants. The schedule is posted outside. Seating is limited to 37, so put your name on the list outside at the bellhop stand up to a half hour ahead of departure to guarantee a spot. The public bus is accessible right outside the resort for 9.5 pesos or $1 US each way. La Isla Mall is about 1 mile north, there are sidewalks so you can walk, or take the public bus. There are golf specials each day that include golf, clubs, food, drinks and transportation (some require 2 golfers in order to include transportation). They offer discounted spa packages and the service was top notch. There are daily activities scheduled, a kids program, teen activities, and a spot for painting ceramics. They do not have evening entertainment at the resort other than karaoke in the bar a couple nights during the week. Once the sun goes down the resort is very quiet. All purchases are charged to your room during your stay and your room key acts as a credit card. You get an itemized receipt with all charges the day before you check-out and can settle your bill at that time up until check out which is 11 am. At the beginning of a meal or pool service, the waiter asks for your room card and gives it back when you're ready to leave and you sign your receipt. The service was very attentive so there was not a problem having to wait for our card once we asked for our receipt. The staff is there to meet your every need, and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.Tipping is not required with the all-inclusive – we always tipped because the service was so exceptional, but we observed the same service for people that weren’t tipping. You can give tips in cash or add it to your bill. There is a market onsite with reasonable prices. Paper towels and dish soap are not provided so we did pick some up at the market. Shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion are provided if you don’t want to bring your own. Beach towels are provided and can be exchanged as often as you like. There is a charge if you don’t return them at the end of your stay. People do save chairs at the pools and beach palapas, so if you want a prime spot you need to stake out a spot by mid-morning. They have noodles for the pool at the sports desk, but they do not provide pool floats (they are allowed if you bring your own) and the pools are heated. WI-FI is free but service is inconsistent. We used Thomas More Travel located at the resort for our round trip shuttle to and from the airport. You need to confirm your return trip with them 48 hrs. ahead at their desk near the lobby. You are assigned a personal concierge who will assist you throughout your stay if you need him, but will not bother you if you don’t. We were not pressured at all to attend a timeshare presentation. We were asked once if we were interested and politely refused. We enjoyed our stay at The Royal Sands and have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teacup328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
0.9 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#16 of 175 in Cancun
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing