We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We consider the Royal Sands our "Home Away from Home" and as members of the Royal Resorts we continue to be pleased with the service and quality. The staff here go way beyond any expectations. Anyone who is not pleased with this resort must not be able to be pleased!

Room Tip: All villas have a wonderful ocean view. There are some villas that are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine4970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,554
    872
    312
    118
    74
See reviews for
1,729
1,216
47
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed at this Resort before and things have definitely gone down hill. With a new all-inclusive option there were room service trays and open food in the hallways, due to over serving the guests were loud and drunk morning til night, one even spent the afternoon by the pool in a chaise lounge vomiting - couldn't even walk to her room. Babies everywhere in the pool, on Memorial Day the main pool at 2:00 pm was closed due to diaper/baby issue. There are 2 kiddie pools, toddlers should NOT be allowed in the main pool. Resort listed as non smoking yet everyone does even cigars were not banned on the beach or pool areas. Seems that whatever rules they have had in place that made this resort one of my favorites are no longer being enforced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My son and I stayed at the Royal Sands in March. We had never been in Cancun and were very impressed with the accommodations at the Royal Sands. Room was great, food options were plentiful and the pools and beach are magnificent. Definitely recommend. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gottaloveitaly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Ah-MAZING! This place far exceeded our expectations for a family vacation! The staff here are always cleaning and to say they are super friendly and ALWAYS willing to serve and make your stay comfortable. Sure you will see neg reviews below but not everyone can appreciate good accommodations when they see it. Ya can't make some people happy no matter what. The Veranda restaurant staff were super nice and the food was always great. They have diff themes for every night / or buffet. The spa is easy to find if u just ask questions. It's a top notch spa with many possibilities to relax. The pools were fantastic and the beach is so close and clean! The rooms are spacious and versatile with pull out beds if u need. The local buses pick up right in front ($1pp) or there are shuttles if u reserve ahead of time. Room svc is what you'd expect for a large 300+ unit resort (20-30 mins). Otherwise, restaurants are only steps away. This week stay was the best vaca we've had in a long time - for int'l travel. Very family friendly resort- look no further.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I'm staying for two weeks and just finished my first week. The service is wonderful from maids to activity providers. If it rains they provide fun inside games and entertainment. Beautiful view of ocean from every room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanMarieGrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want a stay with people who welcome you at every turn, this is the place....the service is outstanding, the villas are wonderfully complete and cleanliness is the rule - not the exception. I swear they trim the grass with manicuring scissors! Love this place! Right on the bus line, no need to take a taxi either!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed there for a week and had a great time, all the staff were friendly and very professional, from check in to check out. Our concierge Heidi was very helpful with all our planning, and Miguel at the pool bar was great, I could go on and on, don't believe any of the bad reviews that some of the other people have written, they must have been some rowdy young kids. Looking for a nice relaxing, quiet vacation, this is the place to go, Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smytty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing