We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still a great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have to start with the fact that we are members, so we had the option to opt out of the all inclusive packages that they have. That being said, it has been 7 years since the last time we were down there. We were shocked that the resort was still in such great shape. They have done a great job on the upkeep, and the staff was remarkable. We always loved the added convenience of the full kitchen and the grocery store on site. The prices have come down, and are very comparable to what you pay at home. You could always jump the buses and go all the way to Walmart and save a few dollars if you really wanted to.

This resort sits on the perfect part of beach where it is still quiet and enjoyable , without the party scene...though you can certainly get to that party scene with a $10 cab ride. Beach is well manicured and clean. Easy to get a good spot as long as you get there before noon. The staff around the pool was always really quick to get another drink.

The front desk was friendly and extremely helpful, though we didn't need to use them very often. The rooms were clean and the beds are comfortable. In fact the only issue that we came across was the pool towel staff. Our towels were stolen by someone when we were in the pool. They suggested that we go steal someone else's in order to avoid room charges for the towel. Couldn't believe what I was hearing. Neither could the other people in line. Everyone spoke up loud enough to force him to change his mind.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on one of the upper floors...the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonK1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,666
    919
    328
    128
    78
See reviews for
1,813
1,284
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been members for close to ten years . When they introduced the all inclusive outsiders , we as prime villa holders felt their value would go down . And it would become another spring break location for rowdy alcoholics . Thankfully that has not happened . Even though marketing has moved on to the Grand Residences, the original staff are still true to their ethics and work ! Our drinks are awesome not watered down . The service is great at the sports bar right now as we watch the World Cup ! Reading the previous tripadvisor reviews which gave one star made me feel good that alcohol seeking all inclusive cheapos will hopefully go elsewhere leaving our beloved Sands for us who consider it their family . Definitely not for single adults .Hats off to the staff especially Gustavo at the Sidelines sports bar ! Now on to El Conqustador for dinner thankfully now that it has relocated to the Royal Islander!

Room Tip: We have a double villa in phase 2 the newer more updated version on the beach ! The view is breathta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weekendertravel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Royal Sands is an outstanding resort as we have been going there for the past 10 years. They, however, have made some changes. Their prices in their store are 3 to 400% higher than if you left the resort and went to a regular store, other than that it is excellent.

Room Tip: ALL THE ROOMS ARE THE SAME.AND WELL FURNISHED. there are good views on all of the floors. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RENEA1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were back at the Royal Sands for the week of 6/21-28. We've been owners since 2006 and even though we also own a Marriott week we choose to come here every year.

The Good:
The resort is beautiful and is always keep immaculate. Pools are beautiful the staff is always amazing. We especially love the activities staff Pepe (Jose) Victor, Sebastian and Rebecca. They always go out of their way to make our day fun and special. All the staff at the resort are extremely friendly and accommodating, they do make you feel like your at home. As always the rooms were beautiful the furniture is getting older but, everything is very clean and in good shape. The rooms all have flat screen TV's now. The food at all of the restaurants was excellent including the takeout which we did 3 times. Great fried chicken, roasted chicken and even the pizza wasn't bad, not what we get back home but better than others. We ate out at Paco's Taco's and Hacienda Sisal, both meals were excellent. We had an ocean front villa so the view waking up every morning was amazing.

The Not Great:
WIFI never worked in our villa. We called multiple times but it was never resolved. We were able to connect at the pool on all our devices. Prices at the Royal Market have gotten very high. We recommend going across the street to the OXXO store and pay about half of what the cost is at the Market. Another annoying things is people putting towels and lounge chairs early in the morning and not coming back till much later, even though a signs says that's not allowed and the towels will be removed. And with no lifeguards there needs to be some supervision. People playing around in the lap pool, kids diving when they shouldn't be. There used to be a Sunday morning meeting to meet the staff here updates on the resort and the tour options. No when you go you just meet you personal concierge. The problem was we got there at the start at 9am but he was with another person. Well 35 minutes later he was still with him so we left not wanting to sit inside on a beautiful day waiting.

The Bad:
The sales meeting. We've been to the sales meeting before and we would have passed but we had heard that the resort was moving to RCI and also an inhouse point system. Well even though we explained we weren't in a position to buy more weeks or upgrade they still tried to sell us. I didn't mind that really, what bugged me was when the sales manager came over and said the inhouse program cost $2599 and if we didn't decide right there we couldn't do it. When we said we wouldn't make a decision like that on the spot he seemed insulted like we said something to offend him. Then he quickly gave us a form to show we declined and said thanks and goodbye, not good business dealing with people who own there. I later complained about the experience to a manager who did seem to take it seriously.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean views but it is nice having beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We've been coming to the Royal Sands for 14 years. Every time we sit on our balcony and see the beautiful ocean we feel like we're in Paradise. The view is always beautiful. There's activities for all. Kids can do crafts, young adults gliding through the air off of a boat, water aerobics, etc. or you can just sit at the swim up bar and have drinks with friends. The staff is super friendly. By the time you're ready to go to your room the maid will have been there. A grocery store in lobby with a Star Bucks. Great restaurants all around you. Ours is the Hacienda. We just love the atmosphere.

Room Tip: We're on 7th floor and hear nothing below. Some friends of ours are on the first floor and said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been coming here for 14 years. We think it is perfect! We do a lot of travelling and this resort can't be beat. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The entire resort is spotless! The maid service is impeccable. The El Conquistador at the Royal Islander is one of the best restaurants in Cancun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpeg46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Upon entering the resort, I was impressed. The "infinity-like" pool was beautiful and lead to the amazingly beautiful beach. The resort looked amazing, but let me share with you what I did not like about the resort:

Activities- there were very few things to do at the hotel, they make it seem like there are tons, but Royal Sands offered nothing compared to resorts in Playa Del Carmen

Room- The rooms were nice, but our vacation was Wednesday-Tuesday and they made us change rooms on Saturday. They said there is no way around that.... Very inconvenient.

Bar- Compared to other resorts, there are very places to get a drink and the hours are terrible. One pool bar is supposed to close at 6, but they would have last call around 5:20 pm. The other pool bar at 7, last call around 6:20. If you enjoy drinking, this is NOT the place to visit.

Are you single? Do not visit here. This resort is more of a retirement escape or family escape. It is beautiful, but very few activities and the pool is dead after 6. Places I have stayed at in PLaya Del Carmen have stuff going on till 10-12 in the pools and a disco in the resort open till 2.

Please do not take this as a negative review, but the resort was beautiful. It would be a great escape for a younger family. The food was good, room service was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful... The area offers all types of awesome tours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmaxeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your feedback an for sure TripAdvisor's community will find it useful. We have a serious commitment with the importance of the family-friendly ambiance at our resorts; it has been one of our hallmarks since the opening of our first resort in 1978 and will remain so. We are aware that some visitors may be looking for another kind of ambiance where alcoholic beverages run freely and very rowdy behavior may be acceptable, however The Royal Sands is not such a resort. We want all our guests to enjoy themselves, but in moderation and without putting themselves at risk or affecting the vacation pleasure of their fellow guests. We stand by our principles and we have learned this is a feature that our guest value and take pride on as much as we do.

We hope you have enjoyed the rest of your visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,775 reviews
8.5 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Property: The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77504, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing